We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This place is perfect - we stayed in the Villa Mot Mot lower from June 1-9. Secluded in the forest with great ocean views. Private beach with free kayaks, snorkel gear, boogie boards, etc. Great restaurants nearby (although a little pricey). Saw lots of wildlife (lizards, a few snakes, monkeys, sloths, etc.) at the resort. Beautiful scenery. Bill, Diego and Vanessa were great and scheduled great tours.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Hi Ben....thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review on Villa Mot Mot, Tulemar and your personal concierges......they really do make your trip so much easier......Diego has been around so long.....he knows all the best guides.....and he's a local, champion surfer! Thanks, again for booking with us and we hope to have you back again soon. By the way, the owner of Villa Mot Mot is doing a complete renovation of the lower suite in October!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,175
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,171
730
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Booked a recent stay based off ratings on Tripadvisor. The property is a beautiful secluded oasis in the touristy town of Quepos. The best part about this place is the personal concierge service & its private beach (as the public beaches are more crowded with Americans than Daytona Beach!). To elaborate a bit- your concierge will make all your dinner reservations and book tours. The hotel offers a van service so if you are too tired to haul uphill from the beach back up to your villa or need a ride to a nearby restaurant- you don't need a cab. The beach has a small tiki hut joint you can get food & cocktails (drinks starting at ~10/ each). The beach also provides kayaks, boogie boards, & chairs free of cost! Loved having internet in our rooms (fyi though not at the beach).

We rented one of the suites. While it was quaint (with fresh flowers) & had a great view of the beach, it was small & quite plain for $250/ nite. Some minor issues- our AC was leaking water onto the floor and there was not much privacy. Besides the other couple staying just above us (could hear their every move), other guests who hike along the path had to pass by our balcony! I also found it annoying that I couldn't just make a local call myself and book a tour I wanted (that I found on tripadvisor). They would charge me for the phonecall (a way to use only their affiliated companies).

Bottomline, as my husband put it, its a resort trying to be something its not. "Grabbing a bite to eat" is not easy!- you either hike quite far to the only on-site mediocre beachside restaurant OR be forced to eat at an overpriced place in town. Could imagine it would be a great place for large families or group of friends (could rent an entire villa- then enjoy full kitchen- even a private chef!), really fun & safe for kids. But would not recommend for honeymoons/ couples as it lacks luxury/ comfort/ and style. I wanted to write a really objective review because we were quite disappointed after following previous recs. I've been to Costa Rica several times, stayed in rooms priced $15/day to $400/day- and would not return to this place. Oh AND their website has an online concierge who books your reservation & answers questions..was surprised to find on arrival that this was an outside company and not someone who even works at the resort!

Room Tip: For your first time to CR, I would say go to Arenal Volcano area & stay at Observatory Lodge, Na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freqtravelerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
HI freqtraveler.....I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us....we'll certainly check the AC and make sure it's not dripping water......the Buena Vista JR Suites within Tulemar are a popular choice......some have balconies/decks that are completely secluded and private.....yours had a great ocean view.....but was more open.....it's all in the design of the suites....and their location on the hillside........we have so many choices within Tulemar.....from the Bungalows.....to Villa Mot Mot to Casa Panorama and the 1 Bedroom Villas.....all offering great accommodations for couples......and larger ones for families or groups......I'm sure there are options you would enjoy.....we do have so many choices for dining within Tulemar.....our beach bar and grill serves breakfast, lunch, snacks and drinks......our poolside cafe serves lunch, drinks and snacks.....we have two restaurants outside of Tulemar that delivers "room service" right to your suite.....just sign the check.....and our free shuttle will take you to any of 10 restaurants and the grocery store within two blocks of our front gates.....all of our accommodations have kitchens....except for the JR Suites...for those who want to prepare meals themselves......I'm glad you enjoyed our personal concierge service.......it really does make your stay easy......they handle all of the details for you.....but I thnk you were a little confused......Julien.....our on line concierge who assisted with your plans prioir to your arrival......works in our office with us.....he's a member of my staff......he would have loved to meet you during your stay.......but we keep him "on line" and on the phone while one of our other concierges handled your stay on site......all of our accommodations have direct dial phones......and yes there is a small charge for local calls.....thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The beach there was great. The room was clean and comfortable and had a fantastic view. There are enough places nearby to walk around and get food and shop a little bit without having to go to Quepos if you don't want to. The staff was very friendly and our concierge was there nearly 24/7. I don't think Orlando ever went off the clock. The food and drink here was a bit on the pricey side but nothing unexpected at all. $9 for most mixed drinks and $4 for beer. Local places were $2.50-$4 for beer and you get a great beach to enjoy your drink at.

There is a lot of wildlife around the property as well. We saw a sloth, numerous lizards, one snake, and 2 different species of monkeys. Best place we stayed at on our whole trip to Costa Rica.

We also had the private dining once as a gift from family for our wedding and it was great. They set us up right on the beach after sundown, put out tons of candles and had 4 or 5 staff down there just for us to make sure it was a great meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Hi Tim....we were happy to have you with us for your honeymoon......Tulemar is a great for couples too......lots of secluded areas......like our beach and the adults only pool......Orlando, your personal concierge, is wonderful and loved taking care of you during your stay....especially arranging your private dinner on the beach! We hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Love this property. Rooms were really cute, we stayed in a bungalow.
Saw more wildlife than in the rain forest tour. Nice beach with good boogie boarding and kayaking. Great concierge service, we loved Chris. Book with Dave. He is awesome.
There are plenty of good restaurants nearby with free shuttle service.
Definitely eat at Sanchos for mexican food - within 1/2 block, outstanding fish tacos.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Hi Lisa J....we loved having you and your daughter with us.....I'm glad you enjoyed your Bungalows.....the views are amazing.......lots of wildlife in Tulemar as well......and the beach.....and the free shuttle......and Chris.....your personal concierge.....a wonderful person who loves to pamper his guests! Thanks for booking with me at 4tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with a group of 12 people and it is by far the best place I have ever stayed anywhere! Everyone slept comfortably, it was in a great location, and the view was spectacular! But what really set this place apart from others is the hospitality by the staff.

Each villa is assigned a personal concierge to help with anything you need. We were fortunate enough to get Eduardo. Eduardo is AWESOME! He made our stay super enjoyable. He was there whenever we needed to schedule a dinner or activity reservation, he was there to answer any questions we had about the area or where to go to have some fun, and he was there just to have a friendly chat. He was even kind enough to help one of my friends arrange a ride to the airport AFTER we had already left Tulemar.

Tulemar also offers a free shuttle service to get you to the beach, the grocery store, restaurants, or any other spot in Manuel Antonio. The driver's name is Guillermo...SUCH a nice guy. He was always punctual and always made sure the ride was comfortable and fun. After my group left Tulemar, we went to a nearby hotel that did not offer shuttle service, and Guillermo didn't hesitate to offer his services even though we weren't staying at Tulemar.

The guy at the front desk (I unfortunately can't remember his name right now) was also a blast and a half. He helped my other friend contact his airline and extend his stay, he talked to me about some local hot spots for nightlife, and he introduced me to some funky Costa Rican music.

Everyone at Tulemar went above and beyond their call of duty. I HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thanks for you kind remarks on our Buena Vista 3 Bedroom Villas and Eduardo, your personal concierge. All of our staff, from the beach, to the pools and the shuttle drivers work hard to make sure you have a great stay. We're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and would love to have you back again.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Because there were 3 of us, we opted for Casa Panorama, a two story, two-bedroom/two-bath villa at Tulemar Gardens. It was perfect! Our concierge, Kimberly Barron, was totally outgoing and helpful.. one of the kind of people you want to be friends with. The view was spectacular, the beach lovely, and the kayaks and boogyboards and beachchairs are free. You don't have to worry about picking your place, paying for everything and having vendors. It is totally private, with a bar which also makes lunch. The best pina coladas ever.. made with fresh pineapple. It has several pools to choose from, with everything overlooking the ocean. Kimberly arranged a great ziplining tour with Canopy tours. The guides were very professional, so we could relax and have fun. Kimberly also arranged horseback riding on the Savegre Horseback Tours (the ridingadventure.com). And don't let wonderful Diego, our cowboy leader, fool you. He has an economics degree from the U.S. I strongly recommend this company. It was the widest beach I've ever seen (and I grew up on the Gulf Coast). We only saw two fishermen the entire time. Compare this to the others which go on crowded public beaches and pick their way around. You can run with the wind in the waves for as far as you can see on this tour. We rented a car, and once we got out of San Jose', the drive wasn't bad at all on the new highway, maybe 2 1/2 hours. There are plenty of restaurants on the road leading to Manuel Antonio, and some very nice ones. You don't even need to go into town. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hi Betty and thanks for posting a great review on Casa Panorama and Tulemar.......one of the great things about staying with us is that you get a personal concierge to take care of you during your stay.....while many places may offer a concierge service.....rarely do they match what our concierges can provide......time with their guests.....and knowledge of the best tours/activities in the area.....like the horseback tour.....very unique and different from what most hotels offer....thanks for taking the time to post and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Casa Panorama! Please come back and see us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

7 of us recently spent 7 nights at Casa De Frutas in Tulemar and I would definitely recommend it to any group of friends or family. We walked into a beautiful 2 story home in a jungle like setting over looking the pacific ocean. The home was beautifully decorated with live tropical flowers, had all the amenities you would have at home including a large fully equiped kitchen.

The Sloth visit was an awesome experience not to mention the group of small monkeys that made their late afternoon visits. There's a beautiful private beach down the steep road which I recommend anyone to walk at least once to enjoy the scenery and wildlife. There is also transportation to and from the beach within minutes. The beach also has a bar and outdoor restaurant. They have an amazing menu and I must say their fish sandwich was the BEST I've ever had. The beach also provides beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, boogie boards and kayaks. The whole week we were there the beach was quiet and a real enjoyable place to grab an ice cold drink and soak up some sun. We got to experience a thunderstorm on avg once a day late afternoon.

Mauricio and Dave were outstanding hosts, available at anytime to help with recommendations, planning our excursions, dinner plans, and arranging our transportation. I have to say the staff were truly amazing friendly people. It was always nice to come back to the house after a long day of fun to see my laundry clean and folded on the bed. I can't wait to come back and see Mauricio, Dave and the staff smiling faces.


I would definitely come back and recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an enjoyable vacation in the jungle with superior service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Hi Shane....thanks for your great review of Casa de Frutas.....one of our private villas located in Tulemar.....Casa de Frutas is the #1 ranked vacation rental villa on Tripadvisor when sorted by customer reviews.....it really is an amazing villa.....the views....the design....the decor....the ambiance......Mauricio and the staff do pamper you.....and make your stay very special! We hope to see you and your friends back with us again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,020 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
912 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing