We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The attention to detail was incredible. What a great family vacation spot! ...the beach, the monkeys, the activities, the accommodations, the staff, the private chefs... Loved it all! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Hi JJ.....thanks for the comments on your stay in Casa de Frutas in Tulemar.....one of our premier private villas....we loved having your and your family over NY's.......the amazing ocean views, the design, decor and ambiance.......the total luxury...and all of the amenities in Tulemar.....make this one of our most popular (and exclusive) private villas......we'd love to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,120
705
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

We chose Tulemar Bungalows based on location (we love the Manuel Antonio area), positive TripAdvisor reviews, and the fact that the resort has its own beach, which is rare between Quepos and the main MA beach, a 10 minute drive awpay. Tulemar was all we had hoped for. Our 2 BR bungalow was about halfway between the reception and the beach, admittedly a good climb, but the exercise was great! The unit was positively posh, beautifully designed and well equipped for a family holiday with full kitchen, lots of appliances, washer and drier. Each bungalow is surrounded by tropical forest, but high enough to see the ocean. There is abundant wildlife around the units. We saw multiple types of monkeys, beautiful birds (including toucan) and many types of lizards from our balcony. All units seem to be within a short walk of a pool. Though we were very close to family pool, it was not noisy. No loud drunks or music around the pool - such a nice change from the all-inclusive scene! Despite the fact that the resort was 100% full during our stay, nothing was ever crowded. If we went to the beach and found no chairs, David would bring out more and enquire if there was anything else we needed. Within a day, most staff seemed to know us by sight - this is a friendly place. There is so much to see in Costa Rica that it is hard to commit to just one place, but all the same, I am pretty sure we'll be back.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr.Mom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Hi Dr Mom67....thanks for the great review on Tulemar and your stay in one of our Buena Vista 2 Bedroom Premium Villas......we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay.....the two bedroom villas are really great.....two bedrooms/2.5 baths/2 floors.....full kitchen, living and dining room.....large balcony with jacuzzi.....washer/drier.....and those fabulous indoor/outdoor showers in each of the suites....plus all of the amenities of Tulemar.....4 pools.....beach.....shuttle....hiking trails......I'm glad you also enjoyed the peace and quiet around the pools.....no music.....just the sounds of the jungle.....thanks, again, for booking with me and for writing this review.....and we hope to see you back again!
Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We honeymooned in Manuel Antonio in May 2012.

The resort is wonderful! It is incredibly beautiful and secluded. The facilities are fantastic. The staff are amazing. Vanessa and Diego helped me book everything, including all our activities in advance. Our concierge Bill was very attentive and helped with rides to the grocery/atm, getting taxis, dinner reservations etc.

We booked through 4tulemar.com. We stayed in Casa Panorama South. The space was clean and spacious with incredible views. We loved the pool, beach, and monkeys. We did activities every day, which were all great with door to door service. Our favorites were Rafiki white water rafting, ADR adventure park, and surfing lesson. We also had massages in our room :)

If you are going to Manuel Antonio, this is where you should stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Hi Amy.....thanks for the great review on Casa Panorama in Tulemar......so glad you spent your honeymoon with us.....and Casa Panorama is the perfect suite for honeymoons......bedroom with a king bed, bath and living, dining and full kitchen.....along with a great balcony, panoramic ocean views and lots of wildlife too.....plus you get Diego and his team to take care of you......thanks for booking with me at 4tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Absolutely out of this world on every measure. Ideal location for an active family of five looking for adventure but also quality down time. The villa and views were breath taking in every direction. Very friendly staff providing guidance and direction when required. Easy distance to numerous restauarants and activities. We have no reservations about returning for the full experience once again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Hi Oakville5.....we LOVED having your family with us in Tulemar.....at Casa de Frutas.....one of our premier, private villas......so glad you enjoyed your stay......one remark we hear so often.....that our guests want to return, just to spend more time in the villa and private pool.....we'll be ready for you when you choose to return....thanks again for posting the review and staying with us in Tulemar!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

When you arrive at Tulemar and look out to the West at the vast ocean and see the surrounding volcanic rocks and mountains you can't help but think you have seen the most gorgeous place on earth. This place reminded us of Kailua, Hawaii, one of our favorite places to visit. This property is on one of the steepest mountain sides, which all properties are in Manuel Antonio, and walking to and from the beach is very difficult even if you are young and in great shape. Taking a car/taxi/shuttle within Tulemar is crucial to get to the beach for young or old. Our villa was situated perfectly within the natural surroundings so that you feel like you are in a treehouse.It accomodated our family of five (2 adults and three kids, very well). Our villa was old and outdated but it had the most gorgeous view, comfortable beds and good coffee :) We did have an issue with a constant smell of sewer gas and asked many times for it to be repaired. Many times in Costa Rica we had people say "no problem, I will do this for you" only to find out that nothing would be done. I think it is a cultural thing and the people are very nice but let's be clear, the pace of life in Costa Rica is so laid back and it takes a few days to get adjusted to the pace when coming from the USA. Finally after the staff telling us that the smell was from our little daughter's diapers (which she does not wear), they had a crew come out and fix some old pipes and the sewer smell was almost gone. The only other caution is that it says that the villas come with a small kitchen. We tried to cook a few times and the burners are electric and warped and the cooking utensils are poor to non existent. Unless you opt for a more upscale villa inside of Tulemar, cooking anything will be a major challenge. We would definitely return here and recommend staying here but you need to get very specific about what your villa has as far as accomodations. Every other villa we saw seemed to have a large refrigerator and seemed well apointed and updated. Our villa was not. It was early 80's, which we do not care about but would have preferred not to have the sewer issue. My guess is the bathroom needs to be totally torn out and updated with a new plumping, toilet, sink, etc.

The beach is small but gorgeous. It is private so that at any given time you may only have 30 people on the beach. The service at the beach restaurant and towel rental place is excellent and the food is good. Eddie is one of the guys who manages the kayak, boogie board rentals. He is so nice and the staff was tremendous overall! You can get a beach chair and a towel each day.

The forrest comes right to the beach. Every day we saw monkeys, sloth, crabs, birds, butterflies, iguanas and lizards. You can use a kayak or a boogie board. We had great waves and were able to spend hours in the warm water kayaking and boogie boarding. Our children were easily captivated by the waves and the animals all around. The beach setting is fantastic. Just to be prepared, the sand is dark grey to black. This is not the Caribbean. It is dark from all of the gorgeous volcanic rocks.

The staff worked really hard to make our stay a great stay. Bryan the concierage booked surfing lessons for us through Dante's Water Sports which was a highlight of our stay in Manuel Antonio and we highly recommend that if you are up for surfing you do a day lesson. Other staff members were able to recommend great restaurants and were very friendly. It was so much fun speaking Spanish with the staff.

The rooms were very clean and we did not see any bugs, snakes, etc in our rooms except some geckos, which made little noises at us and we enjoyed their presence. The pools are fabulous. They have unbelievable views and are private. The service at the pools is not good and it is hard to get anything to eat or drink. If you want to eat or drink you have to go to the beach restaurant which is in the sand. We love this about the restaurant but just be prepared that it is not fancy and that was exactly what we wanted.

This is one of the only places in Manuel Antonio with a private beach so that alone is reason to stay here. The public beach is a lot like going to San Diego with so many people and dogs that you have no space and it is a scene more than a getaway. You have the be vigilent about your stuff at the public beach. We went to the public beach for the great waves and surfing. It is good to go to the public beach to explore the local scene, which we did and were glad to see.

Finally, Tulemar is conveniently located within Manuel Antonio. We could walk to the store in five minutes as well as to laundry services, which our villa did not have. We paid a lavanderia to do our laundry and picked it up that day and it was easy. The ATM and bank are across the street. We ate at Salsipuedes many times which is located next door and has a very friendly local vibe with fresh sushi and fantastic views. We ate at Milagros Cafe many times. This restaurant has great breakfast and lunch (we did not eat their for dinner but heard it was great). The restaurant is famous because of the coffe that they roast. Two ex-pats own it and operate it and they have fresh baked goods to go. Have to visit Milagros in Manuel Antonio. The other place that is easy to walk to from Tulemar is Victoria's restaurant. The owner and his wife are lovely people and the food and atmosphere are fabulous. We listened many nights to Rafa Mora play his classic guitar music and would highly recommend eating here.

Room Tip: Make sure you get every detail about your villa. We had a very outdated villa, which was fine, but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colorado5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Hi Colorado 5......thanks for staying with us in Tulemar and posting your review......I only wish you would have spoken to me while you were here so that we could have made your stay a little bit better......I love our Bungalows.......(I actually bought one and live in it year round)......they do have "jaw dropping ocean views"......surrounded by the jungle......lots of wildlife too......we have 10 Tulemar Bungalows and they look exactly.....exactly.....in person.......like the photos on the web site....they are all the same......we have many different types of accommodations in Tulemar....from the Bungalows, to the Buena Vista Villas to the premier private villas.......but all of the reviews below that say "Tulemar Bungalows"....stayed in a Bungalow identical to the one you stayed in.......we do have septic tanks in Manuel Antonio.....not a municipal septic system.....so the septic smell does happen on occasion....I'm glad it was handled....I'll certainly check to make sure the burners are functioning properly in the kitchenette.......we're glad that you enjoyed our pools and beach......I encourage all of our guests.....young and old....to walk down to the beach......it's about 5 minutes from most of our villas.....downhill......and you will most likely see either monkeys, sloths, exotic birds or iguanas along the way.......it's an easy walk down.......or you can take the resort shuttle......it's free and will pick you up at your bungalow or at our beach for the return trip up......I'm 60 years old and walk down to the beach often......and take the shuttle back up......thanks for your comments about our beach and the beach services and staff.....and our beach bar and grill.....I also enjoy breakfast under the palms with the ocean waves beside me.......our location in Manuel Antonio is perfect......right in the heart of the area......with 10 restaurants......2 ATM's.....and a grocery store within 2 blocks of the front gates......glad you also enjoyed Brian.....our concierge......who helped to arrange your activities.......thanks again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you back in Tulemar again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We recently returned from an incredible vacation to Costa Rica. We spent the first several days of our trip in Manuel Antonio, staying in one of the Tulemar Bungalows. I truly can not come up with enough positive words to describe our time there. Our concierge, Chris, was incredible. He assisted with the planning of our trip from the beginning, had a taxi waiting for us at the Quepos airport and greeted us with a big smile and beautiful, freshly cut flowers in our Bungalow. The view from our Bungalow was breathtaking. Chris assisted us with great dinner recommendations where the food was fantastic and even brought us to buy groceries. We greatly enjoyed our time at the private beach, again also incredible, and free use of boogie boards, as well as the convenience of the beach-side restaurant. It is definitely a place I would highly recommend and plan on returning to in the future. Amazing! Thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Hi kadmn.......thanks for the wonderful review of your stay in the Tulemar Bungalows and about Chris.....your personal concierge......the Bungalows are great place to stay.......tropical and rustic.....like a tree house with ocean views and air conditioning.......with all of the amenities of Tulemar......our beach.....the hiking trails.....the resort shuttle.....and 10 restaurants within 2 blocks of our front gates......and Chris, your personal concierge, as a guide to make your trip easy.....from the planning and transportation to the activities, restaurant suggestions and even help with groceries.......we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.....thanks, again for the kind words.....and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Gorgeous villas in a wonderful location. Quepos is close as is Manuel Antonio, there is a small grocery close by. Concierge very helpful, and there are a ton of activities close by (we did mangroves, horseback riding, quads). Pool is a bit small, and there is no hot tub. Beach is wonderful, sheltered so small kids would have a great time there and its also easy to kayak from shore to coves which are close by.
The beach, if you are young and fit, is not to hard to get to though the hill is steep. However if you have mobility issues or are carrying tons of kid stuff it can be very tiring. There is a shuttle that takes you back and forth but it wasn't very consistent when we were there. Love the little food place on the beach and the toys for use.
Great place and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwhaugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Hi rwhaugan......thanks for the review on your stay in one of our 2 Bedroom Villas.....we enjoyed having you and your family with us.....I hope you found all four pools while you were here.......you are welcome to use any of them......a variety of sizes and locations......the walk down to the beach is only 5 minutes from most of our villas......and I always recommend walking down.....you usually see some sort of wildlife.....monkeys, sloth or exotic birds......or we do have the resort shuttle for the trip up or down......and you really don't have to take much with you....we provide lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towel service, food/beverages and even sand toys for the kids.....so grab your hat, sunblock and book and come on down......hope to see you on your next trip.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,517 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing