We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Vacation Ever”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The Best Vacation Ever”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our 2 families with kids ranging from 16-22 had the "Best Vacation Ever". The house is amazing. You'll never want to leave. The view, monkeys, Maurcio and all the staff are professional and first class all the way. The chef prepared our last meal.......AMAZING! Our activities included Extreme Adventure (ADR), Dante's Water Sports for surf lessons, White water rafting and the jet ski tour. Kids were thoroughly entertained. Itza Spa came to our home and gave massages. The mother/daughter team was fantastic. You have to have a massage on the deck! We would love to go back every year. Thank you Villa Kiskadee and Mauricio for the "Best Vacation Ever"!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 265julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hi 265julie......so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Villa Kiskadee......one of our premier private villas......Villa Kiskadee with 4 bedrooms / 4.5 baths and a private pool has the space for larger groups like yours.....plus it has one of the top ocean views in all of Tulemar and it gets the most wildlife visits of any of the private villas......its secluded location make it a natural for monkeys, sloths and exotic birds to visit often.....and thanks for the kind words on Mauricio.....your personal concierge.....our guests love him......and he does make your stay special.....thanks for posting a review for us and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,077
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,117
701
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Staying at Tulemar was an absolutely incredible experience. We rented a two bedroom villa. The upstairs had a living room and a great kitchen. There was a day bed with a TV off to the side. There was a deck with a table with 6 chairs, 3-4 comfy chairs and a hot tub. Not to mention an amazing view! There were two bedrooms downstairs and two baths. The toilet and shower were outside on the deck. The shower was huge and had a regular spout and a rainfall spout. It was am awesome experience. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. They pick you up and will drive you to one of the tree pools or the beach. The restaurant was great and also had an incredible view. They have hiking paths down to the beach and I saw monkeys and even an anteater! I cannot recommend this place more!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hi Rachel R......thank you very much for posting a review on your stay in one of our 2 Bedroom Premium Villas.....everyone loves them just as much as you did....especially the outdoor showers.....still private.....put open with a view.......lots of room for 6-8 guests........plus all of the amenities of Tulemar.....the 4 pools.....the Tulemar Beach.....with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards and towel service......our hiking trails......the resort shuttle.....a full service restaurant.....lots of wildlife.....and a location right in the heart of Manuel Antonio......there are over 10 restaurants, 2 ATMS and a grocery store within 2 blocks of our front gates......thanks for taking the time to write a review and we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at Casa Panorama. Stunning 180 degree views of sunset, ocean and jungles. Enjoyed watching the monkeys and toucans from our patio. Highly recommend private chef as a treat to enjoy a delicious meal in your unit. Kids loved pool and the beach

Kimberly is the best concierge I've met in 25 years of travel. She will make your trip special, personal, and easy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytraveler074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi familytraveler074......I loved reading back to back reviews on Casa Panorama......(see below).....one of our most requested villas in Tulemar.......with amazing ocean views.....a large balcony complete with living/dining and BBQ......the services of Kimberly, your personal concierge.....and all of the amenities of Tulemar.....the 4 pools, our beach complete with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards and towel service......full service restaurant....resort shuttle......our hiking trails.....and our location.....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio (walking distance to over 10 restaurants, 2 ATMS and a grocery store).....you can see why Casa Panorama is so popular.....thanks for booking with us at 4tulemar.com and thanks for taking the time to post your review.....please come stay with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our family of 5 (kids are 9, 11 and 13) stayed at Casa Panorama South from 11/23-11/27. Our concierge Kimberly Barron simply couldn't have worked harder - both before and during our stay - to make sure our trip was perfect. We did quite a bit of homework before this trip, and I have to say I was skeptical that virtually every single experience reported by reviewers on this site and others could be as glowing as they were. Our stay was 100% in line with those reviews. Every tour, restaurant and destination Kimberly recommended and booked for us weeks before we left the States was spot-on (most notably Midworld ziplining, ADR whitewater rafting, Mass Surf School and Café Milagro for breakfast and lunch). Our 11-year-old son got an ear infection mid-trip, and Kimberly drove us to the local farmacia at 7am to help us negotiate unfamiliar waters to obtain medical treatment. Any request we had was accommodated immediately. In our experience, you don't find that kind of "drop everything" willingness to make things perfect many places, if anywhere.

The accommodations are surreally beautiful; spacious, comfortable and with just ridiculous views of the water, hillside and mountains in the distance. Beds, TV (complete with several American stations and NFL on Sunday), full kitchen and air conditioning were top of the line and fully functional. The cleaning service every day was great (our family racked up some serious laundry each day), and we had a private chef come in one night and prepare dinner for us. This was excellent, but we'd recommend fish dishes and be careful not to let the price get out of control; you pay for their service and the price of the food you order so get a sense of how much your ordered food will cost first. We'd also highly recommend the reasonably-priced in-suite couples massage we had on our balcony (one of the best we've both had). Several smaller pools, all with food and beverage available, were steps away from our place. The "private" beach was wonderful, with many monkeys and colorful birds playing right above you on the walk down to the beach. We made the short walk to many good and decently-priced restaurants just outside Tulemar's gates.

All in all, a tremendous destination. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Marla S.....thanks for such a thorough and detailed review of your stay in Casa Panorama in Tulemar.......I loved your description of the view....... "just ridiculous views of the water, hillside and mountains"......hence the name...."Casa Panorama"......it really does have one the best views in all of Tulemar........thanks for your comments on Kimberly......your personal concierge.......having someone like Kim can make the trip so special.....and stress free with help on things like the drug store and medical attention......we really appreciate your review and we hope to have you back with us again very soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We all needed some much needed downtime but also like to explore new places and have the opportunity to do more than just sit on the beach. Manuel Antonio and Tulemar, in particular, turned out to be the perfect spot for us. Travel plans went awry due to bad weather in the U.S., baggage was lost for days, it rained a lot (mostly at night), and we had a few other blips. BUT we had Chris Madrigal, our wonderful concierge, to take care of us and the people of Costa Rica welcoming us with their warm smiles and offers to make our visit a terrific experience. The resort is beautiful with outstanding service every step of the way including being booked on the best tours with the best guides. We saw all the monkeys - squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys, white faced monkeys as well as coati, raccoons, toucans, sloths, frogs, anoles, iguanas, butterflys and amazing birds both big and small. We did the ADR, ziplining, tour of the Park, sunset sail and snorkeling, ATV tour and we had a couple of relaxing days at the beach as well. We opted to cook home ourselves at the villa one evening and magically fresh fish and lobster showed up in our refrigerator. Everyone at Tulemar wants you to be happy, enjoy yourself and love the place. And Chris is the absolute best concierge in the whole world! We highly recommend Tulemar!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriscampbell800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
HI chriscampbell800.......things often do go wrong on vacation.....like the weather and travel delays.....the missing bags......etc.....but two things made the difference in your trip.....your family's attitude......(you didn't let these things ruin your trip).....and the services of Chris....your personal concierge.....to handle the issues for you......most people assume our concierges are there to book your tours or make restaurant reservations.....yes....they do that......and so much more......from handling the little problems that can arise......to a quick trip to the grocery store......to advice on just about anything in Costa Rica......our concierge team is one the most valuable assets of Tulemar......as you can see from reading the reviews.....so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Villa Cielito......a great 2 bedroom villa with amazing ocean views........thanks for the wonderful review and for booking with us directly.......and we'd love to have you with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed four nights here on the last leg of our honeymoon. This was my favorite part of Costa Rica after visiting Monteverde, Arenal, and Jaco. The unit we rented was Mot Mot Hideaway. It was the lower half of the condo. It was newly remodeled and was very stylish. It was room enough for the two of us. It had an outdoor kitchen which included a propane gas grill, an electric two burner cooktop, microwave, wine cooler, small fridge that held about 3 ice trays, coffee maker, and blender. We only ate out once during the trip and cooked our own meals, and blended our own drinks on our kitchen/balcony.
The beach at Tulemar was fantastic! Our concierge, Bill, indicated that we could see all the animals at Tulemar that we could at the park...and he was right! We had visits from white face monkeys, coati, and racoons on our balcony. We also saw sloths on multiple occasions driving down to the beach (we had a rental car.) I absolutely loved being able to sit on the private beach, listening to the waves washing in while monkeys were climbing on the trees above, hermit crabs were crawling on the sand, ghost crabs were digging holes, and pelicans were diving for fish. It was magical and amazing. The staff was also very friendly and helpful, which we found to be the case everywhere we went in CR. We have every intention of going back to Tulemar!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natbug101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Natbug101.....thanks for sharing the details of your stay......so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Mot Mot Hideaway.......it's one of our most popular accommodations for 2 persons......with that huge outside deck complete with living area and kitchen......and those amazing ocean views......and lots of wildlife visits......thanks for posting your review and we'd love to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My daughter and I ended our visit to Costa Rica in a Tulemar Bungelow (#116). The round bungalow had fabulous views and was close to the restaurant and pool. We did not use the pool but the restaurant had delicious, well presented food. The beach was fabulous. One of the prettiest settings I have ever seen! The staff at the beach was wonderful. Very eager to please. Lover the Howler monkeys roaming the beach trees. I would book there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCF693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
HI Susan C.....so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.......thanks for your comments on the Bungalows.....the restaurant......and the Tulemar Beach......it really is a tropical paradise.......a sandy cove tucked into the bottom the hillside.....surrounded by jungle and wildlife......with enough waves for swimming and fun.....but safe for kids too......free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towel service and our beach bar and grill......thanks for booking with us and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,510 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing