We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family vacation in Tulemar”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing family vacation in Tulemar”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Christmas vacation in Tulemar for my sister's family & mine at the Nido de Gansos Villa (9 of us) plus my dad and his wife in one of the bungalows. We had a fantastic time. My sister & I had been at Casa Frutas 2 years previously and had to come back to Tulemar with our families. It didn't disappoint -as soon as the kids (all teens) saw the villa they were thrilled. Loved the rooms & the infinity pool. The service at Tulemar is amazing and they will organize any of the activities for you... our group did ziplining, whitewater rafting, surfing, park tour +++ ... The private beach is a plus. We definitely hope to go back -already dreaming of it! (Armstrongs & Marshalls)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank julie3356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hi Armstrong and Marshall Family......we loved having you back with us at Nido de Gansos in Tulemar.....one of our premier, private villas.......so glad you all had a fun time......Nido de Gansos has plenty of room to spread out......three bedrooms / 3.5 baths and three social areas......a large living room......a large TV room......and a den (with 2 sofa beds)......everyone loves the fact that the main living areas and pool are all on the 3rd floor in order to get the best ocean and treetop jungle views......Diego provides the personal concierge service...to make sure everything goes smoothly......thanks for bringing me the gifts too.....(Eskimo boots- sure to keep my feet warm on those COLD Costa Rican nights and maple candy from Canada!)....we'll be ready for your return trip......Nido de Gansos or Casa de Frutas or maybe you'll try another of our private villas.......hasta luego!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,120
705
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My friend and I spent a week in gorgeous Casa de Frutas on 12/7/13-12/14/13 is was heaven on earth I can't say enough great things about Tulemar from the breath taking views,to the pristine beaches. To wake up each morning to beautiful wildlife like monkeys , sloths and birds on many types right at your window is an experience I'll never forget. David and Mauricio along with the staff make this an experience to remember. I know I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Hi Michelle W.....thanks for the wonderful review on Casa de Frutas......I know this was your first stay with us and we're so pleased that you enjoyed yourself.......you were so active.....almost everyday you had Mauricio arrange a tour or adventure.......and you are right about the wildlife.....with the large open decks.....Casa de Frutas is the perfect spot to watch the monkeys, the slots and all the exotic birds.....all day long.....(and don't forget those amazing panoramic ocean views!).......thanks again for posting a review and we'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd visit to Casa de Frutas! Dave and Mauricio have provided an aesthically exsquite environment, chic bali decor in each suite to complement the lush greenery of your surroundings. The entire back of the house is open to nature. As a result, this grants you the BEST views of the skyline, squirrel monkeys, sloths, toucans etc. that the Tulemar provides. Relax in a serene environment as Mauricio arranges all your excursions, transportation, reservations...your every need is addresded swiftly leaving you to relax and have fun exploring the many activities and culinary delights of the region. I Love this place!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dclare77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Hi Deonne.....what a pleasure.....having you back with us in Casa de Frutas.....thank you for the kind words.....Casa de Frutas is one of our premier, private villas in Tulemar......the design, decor, ambiance, luxury and personal service by Mauricio make this one of our most requested and exclusive villas (check our web site to see which celebrities have stayed here!)......with three suites....the villa comfortably sleeps up to 8 people......but it is often rented for just two.....like you do.....just to enjoy all that Tulemar and nature have to offer.......thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your next trip!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Lovely place, I rented VIlla Cielito, had everything you need in the kitchen, so important to me, as dont like much restaurant plates ...
Panoramic view to ocean!, a beach within the hotel...

Two trails, if you are sporty.. lots of monkeys, and strange wild animals

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nacho3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hi Nacho3001....thanks for the great review.......so many people are discovering (and loving) Villa Cielito in Tulemar......one of our 2 bedroom villas......(each bedroom has 2 queen beds so it can sleep up to 8 guests).......each bedroom has a private bath with indoor/outdoor showers.....plus a living room with a day bed and half bath.......and a full kitchen for those who want to prepare some of their own meals.....and a large balcony....complete with dining table....lounge chairs....and large jacuzzi tub......Villa Cielito has one of the most panoramic ocean views of any of our two bedroom villas......simply amazing.....and the personal concierge service is provided by Chris......(he loved having you with us)......thanks again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was the best vacation I've ever taken. Tulemar is a beautiful gated community built on the side of a green hill teeming with monkeys and sloths. The houses, from small to gigantic, are far apart and provide excellent privacy, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. The private beach, in a beautiful cove, is a walking distance down the hill, about 5 minutes from the house I stayed in. There are shuttles that can pick you up anywhere. When you visit here, you will be renting a room or a house from an owner, but you will be doing so just like you would at a resort. The manager, Diego, was wonderful, as was my concierge, Bill. They arranged all my excursions and will help you get anything you want out of your trip. In the week I spent there, I took surfing lessons, zip lined, drove an ATV through a forest, went rafting on a super fun trip down the Savegre River, jet ski'd, and took a guided tour in the nearby Manuel Antonio National Park. The restaurant is divine - the food and drinks were consistently amazing, and the waiters, Erick and William and bartender Daniela were great. There are many restaurants immediately on the road outside Tulemar, and the friendly small town of Quepos is nearby. You will never want to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms in Casa Marisol both have ocean views - these are Casa de la Luna and Casa del Sol
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupercatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi Supercat Travel....thanks for the review on our Tulemar Mini Suites.....(El Sol and La Luna).....these are new additions to our rentals and you were one of our first guests.....so glad to hear that you enjoyed the mini-suite and Tulemar......even though these mini-suites are the smallest (and least expensive) accommodations in Tulemar.....they still come with all the amenities......personal concierge service from Team Diego......the Tulemar Beach.....4 resort pools.....the Tulemar shuttle....full service restaurant......and our location....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio......thanks for booking with us directly and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were 2 couples staying in a 2 bedroom condo in the Buena Vista area. Our condo was beautifully appointed with a great view of the bay. The unit was spacious with a deck featuring a dining table, hot tub (was too hot, and this was the only flaw), and seating area. Monkeys did in fact visit, so the advice to keep the bathroom doors to the outside showers locked was justified. The concierge staff was outstanding in providing advice or transport. The private beach had plenty of shade and 80 degree (F) water. Free sea kayaks and boogie boards were available. The bar and lunch place at the beach was great. Everyone was pleasant and efficient. A grocery store was very nearby. Our unit had a washer dryer. We will go back as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigChasMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hello to TheBigChasMO.......thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our Buena Vista 2 Bedroom Premium Villas....so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Tulemar.......these 2 bedrooms villas are perfect for 2 couples.....(or a family of up to 8 people).....both bedrooms have those indoor/outdoor showers that everyone loves.......and yes keep your door locked so you don't have a monkey joining you......sorry to hear about the temperature on the hot tub......I really don't know why we have those.....it's almost always too hot outdoors to want to sit in a tub of hot water.....a cool tub.....that's what we need.....anyway....thanks again for posting a review and we'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Beautiful Pacific view from every room, very clean and secure. Peaceful and serene. Full service staff available 24/7, private beach/cove, ocean kayaks, beautiful wildlife, central to to every available activity. Great bucket list destination.

Room Tip: Select a villa at the highest resort elevation available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPPCFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi DPPCFL.....thanks for the great review on your stay with us in Tulemar......we love to hear the word "Perfect"......we also love to hear "peaceful and serene".......with 33 acres.....there is a lot of room to roam in Tulemar.......our beach.....4 resort pools......2 hiking trails.....a full service restaurant.....the Beach Bar and Grill.....or just the balcony or deck on your villa......thanks for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,517 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing