We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had more time here!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we had more time here!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a great place to stay in Costa Rica! We picked this spot because of the private beach. We really enjoyed relaxing there...kayaking, boogie boarding...A perfect spot and not very crowded. We also loved seeing the monkeys on the deck. This is a beautiful location and next time we will stay longer than 2 nights. Our 3 children (ages 12, 10 and 6) had a great time. Diego and Bill were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrykgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi sherrykgood......thanks for the great review on your stay with us in Villa Mot Mot in Tulemar.....and your comments on the Tulemar Beach.....it really is a special place.....a secluded, tropical beach......with the jungle flowing down the hillside to the sandy beach......thick, shady palms.......warm waters......with waves gentle enough for swimming but large enough to play......and free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards and towel service.....plus food/beverages that you just sign to the room......a wonderful place to spend your afternoon.....relaxing or enjoying the waters.......thanks for the comments and for booking with us directly at 4tulemar.com!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,128
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,142
719
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Have never written reviews before but they were so helpful in planning our own recent vacation, I decided to add to the conversation! Our family of 4 (2 adults, and 12 and 9 year old kids) just spent 3 amazing nights at the Villa Mot Mot property at Tulemar Gardens, and our only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer. Villa Mot Mot is absolutely beautiful with everything you need and more. It’s in a great location, higher on the hill - which means a stunning view and easy access to the many restaurants within just a few blocks on the main road (but we really never wanted to leave the property anyhow!). Mot Mot is also between two of the main pools and only a few steps from the main Tulemar restaurant – where the food and service were both terrific. The owner of Mot Mot clearly takes great pride in maintaining the property and sharing its beauty with others. The outdoor deck added a whole other dimension of living space and was visited by families of white-faced monkeys playing on the hammock just as described on the website. My kids were just awe-struck! More wildlife at Tulemar then in Manuel Antonio down the road. We had a number of activities scheduled during our stay and enjoyed them all, but I do wish I had set aside just one full day to really enjoy down time at the Tulemar beach (we will just need to go back to do so!). The beach is a hidden gem that is so lovely that even all the sunset cruises and catamaran tours dock just outside the bay as the location and rock formations are just stunning. The beach has something for everyone. Daniella fires up terrific frosty cocktails while David is always on hand to grab boogie boards or kayaks for the kids (and adventurous adults). There are quiet corners and chaise lounge chairs nestled in the shade of the lush gardens and trees overlooking the beach or David will set you up with chairs and umbrellas right at the waters’ edge. NO getting up at 6 am to go stake your claim on a chair or umbrella like at the resorts of the Bahamas or Jamaica – simple luxury and service here at Tulemar – they take care of everything for you! Aside from the property itself, its the incredibly accommodating staff that sets Tulemar apart. Bill made sure our frig was fully stocked on our arrival (a great service to take advantage of!) and greeted us with a warm reception and orientation while also getting us to the beach within an hour of our check in! He picked up a last minute emergency load of laundry for us and had it back in the same day, and even spent the morning searching for my daughter’s flip-flop that she had lost off the deck! Diego was readily accessible at all times and seemed to be there exactly when we needed him. We no sooner got home from a day’s activities, the phone would ring and Diego would ask if we needed tips or rides for dinner plans. Perhaps most telling, my son and I fell ill with serious ear infections toward the end of our stay. I called Bill and within minutes he had contacted the local medical clinic, made arrangements for us to see the doctor, and then gave all the info to Al, the driver, so he could take us on our way out of town. Al even went into 2 different pharmacies with me, helping translate, until we had all the medicine we needed and were on our way to feeling better. They went above and beyond in terms of customer service, but this just seems to be the standard of excellence for Diego and his team. In terms of excursions and activities, we loved them all. Diego and company helped set them up in advance – we didn’t have to worry about a thing – just told them what we wanted to do! We did a tour of Manuel Antonio, mangrove fishing, and surfing. A tip for mangrove fishing – its one part tour of the mangroves, one part fishing. If the fishing part is what you are after, the guides recommend going very early in the day as soon as the tides allow (6:30 ish). We went at 10:30 and didn’t get a bite until the very end when the guide caught a tiny blowfish - which he laughed at because it was so small, but we thought was very cool as we’d never seen one except in Finding Nemo!. But if you really hope to catch fish, and your kids will get antsy if they don’t, either go early or maybe splurge and go off shore fishing. Personally, we loved it despite the lack of fish. The mangroves are such a unique ecological environment – flora, fauna, and wildlife are so beautiful. Saw lots of cool lizards, birds, crocodiles, crabs, bats, and even a pair of monkeys who were so friendly they came out of the forest and hopped on top of our boat! And Atilla, our guide, was pretty much a mangrove expert – shared fascinating info about the history, culture, and habitat of the environment – and was a really nice guy to boot! Last few tips: Arrange to have a private chef come cook for you at least one night you are at Tulemar. We had Chef Chris come as a special treat for my husband’s birthday and he prepared the most outstanding dinner and served it on our deck with the breathtaking views (and made separate pizzas for the kids). He was personable and lovely to chat with yet never intrusive and he took care of everything – worth every penny. Finally, GO SURFING! This was recommended and set up by Diego and absolutely my favorite activity of the trip. The waves happened to be very large (for beginners) the day we went. We all swim but are not what I would call “swimmers” so I was very nervous. But each of us had a guide (1:1 at all times for safety reasons and they are GREAT teachers), it was easier than I thought, and it was some of the most fun we have ever had. The 9 and 12 year olds loved it too! I’ve wasted hours since we’ve gotten home to CT already looking into a future trip back to Tulemar – hoping to bring family and friends next time and introduce others to this fantastic destination.

Room Tip: Mot Mot was beautiful and perfect for a family of 4. The trundle style twins in main living area com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Janis T.....wow....what an amazing and detailed review.....thank you SO much.....you described perfectly what we try to convey to guests that are searching for a place to stay in Manuel Antonio.....Tulemar is the "whole package"......and our personal concierge service makes it so special and so easy......from groceries to the doctor's office.....we can assist.....when you're ready to come back.....please contact me directly and I'll be happy to help you choose the best villa for the size of your group......or maybe it will be Villa Mot Mot again.....thanks again for the review and for booking with us at 4tulemar.com.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at Tulemar. Diego Morales was very helpful. He spent a lot of time getting us set up in our condo and was VERY helpful the whole time we were there. It was a very positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leileensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi teileensm.....thanks for the kind words on your stay in Tulemar.....and Diego.....your personal concierge......with each rental we book....we assign a personal concierge for your stay.....so you have someone from the very start to help you with your plans.....from transportation to Manuel Antonio from San Jose.....to your tours/activities.....dining suggestions/reservations......or even surf lessons or a massage in your bungalow......our personal concierges will make your trip easy.....and fun.....thanks for the nice review and we hope to have you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I traveled to Tulemar for our honeymoon at the end of March. We had such an amazing stay for 8 long days! Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. Anything we needed was taken care of for us. The Tulemar grounds have several magnificent pools, a beautiful beach and a couple restaurants as well. Right outside the gates, you have plenty of local restaurants to choose from as well. The public beach is right down the street and a must see! We loved the culture and the people in Costa Rica. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Amanda140.....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Tulemar for your Honeymoon.....we loved having you.....Tulemar is a great spot for a Honeymoon and/or couples.....it is so large (33 acres) there is plenty of room to spread out and find your own space.....whether it's at one of our 4 pools......the Tulemar Beach......(with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towel service)......the Beach Bar and Grill or Tulemar Restaurant......our two hiking trails.....or just the privacy of your own bungalow, casa or private villa.....thank you so much for booking with us directly and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Exceptional staff....especially Bill and Diego. Together Bill and Diego catered to our every desire. They booked the most perfect excursions, even selecting times based on tides/ocean roughness for fishing and wave runner excursions. Bill even took us to the local supermarket. He offered advice on certain locally grown products and went over and above the call of duty often. The drivers to and from San Jose airports were amazing and so accommodating. They even took us back to the airport at 2am to catch a 6:40am flight! The staff at the restaurants, bars and shuttle services were so friendly and easy-going!
We stayed in the two lower bedroom apartments of Casa Mirasol. It was clean, perfectly situated midway between the beach and main pool. The beds were comfortable and housekeeping was very thorough each day. There are 4 pools, 3 with bars and one with a fabulous restaurant. The ground were safe and immaculate. I was very comfortable with my 12 and 10 year old children walking in the Tulemar grounds.
Lots of restaurants are within walking distance and having a rental car is totally unnecessary. We did walk around and see other local hotels in the area. Not one of them compared to Tulemar. This is the only place we would even consider staying in the Manuel Antonio area. Everything about Tulemar was exceptional! Thank you for a fabulous vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi JWinMD......we're so glad that we could be a part of your "greatest family vacation".......thanks for taking the time to write the review and provide so much information.......yes "Team Diego".....(Diego, Bll, Al and Vanessa) do an amazing job and really can make your trip special......helping with all the details.....from suggestions on tours/activities.....to arranging transportation to Manuel Antonio......and the small things that can make a big difference.....like a ride to the grocery store or help in "translating"......thank you so much for booking with us at 4tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Costa Rica for the week and had the time of our lives! The entire team: Diego, Vanessa, Al, and Bill was amazing! Everyone is so enthusiastic, helpful, and proud of Costa Rica. It's contagious! The Mot Mot Hideaway was perfect for the two of us. The view is amazing, and the kitchen was perfect. There was so much wildlife in the Tulemar resort, it was awesome!

Tips: (1) bring bug spray and after bite cream...no joke! (2) ride the bus into Quepos and stop at the bar for a fun local experience. People are pretty friendly in town! (3) Go to El Avion- the airplane restaurant and bar for the best view (incredible from the 2nd floor). It's also just a cool place to eat and grab a drink! (4) Order the banana dessert at Ronny's place! Be ready for a show! (5) Go to Barba Roja on Friday for ribs!! So delicious! (6) Bring the best camera you have, you will be sad if you don't! (7) End your trip with a massage on your balcony- we needed it after all of the hiking, kayaking, walking, zip lining, and boogie boarding!!

It's an incredible place, we would definitely go again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Leanne W.....thanks for writing such a wonderful review on your stay in the Mot Mot Hideaway......now you know why it's one of our most popular accommodations.......the ocean views....the wildlife visits......the large deck.......and the services of Team Diego.....your personal concierge staff....to take care of your every need.....make it a great choice.....thanks for all the suggestions and tips too.....that really helps.....and thanks for booking with us at 4tulemar.com.....hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just returned from an amazing trip to Costa Rica. We are a family of 5. Two adults Three kids ages 14,11 and 8. The bungalows exceeded our expectations. Chris Madrigal was our concierge and made sure to it that we had an amazing trip. He was there for all of our needs and did everything with such enthusiasm. A fun little tip is that the white faced monkeys arrive by the lower family pool in the mornings around 9ish. We were lucky enough to be there then and there must have been over 25 of them.Take advantage of the beautiful property and hike around. There is so much to see including sloths.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 111.There is a beautiful view. The kitchen has been updated and has a microwave. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyheartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi gypsyheartt.......thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows........so glad that your family enjoyed their time here......thanks for the suggestions about the monkeys too.....they do roam the property......but they do have favorite stops along the way......and thanks for your comments on Chris.....your personal concierge......as you can see by the other reviews here.....you're not alone.....Chris makes sure everyone gets an amazing trip......thanks for booking with us and we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing