We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We loved everything - I MEAN EVERYTHING - about Tulemar. I do not think I could complain about a single thing.

Our room was very well kept and had an incredible ocean view, which I was not sure we would get since we booked one of the cheapest categories of rooms.

The concierge was so helpful and a pleasure to work with prior to and during our stay.

The beach on the property was super private and was situated on a nice cove with great waves and beautiful, soft sand.

I have absolutely no complaints about Tulemar and when I come back to Manuel Antonio, there is no way I will choose another place to stay. I just could not imagine having a better experience anywhere else.

Thank you so much for a great time in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: We were in room 204, which had a beautiful view of the Pacific and was situated not far from the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi kennethdmarks......thanks for the great review on one of our Standard Rooms.....we're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.....yes the Standard Rooms are one of the most economical accommodations in Tulemar......most have jungle or garden views that can be enjoyed from the balcony or deck......but there are a couple that have a partial ocean view (although those cannot be guaranteed)......plus they all have access to a very quiet and secluded pool.....and are close to the beach......plus you enjoy all of the amenities of Tulemar......our personal concierge service.....the hiking trails.....4 resort pools.....the Tulemar Beach with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, towel service and the beach bar/grill.......plus our full service restaurant.......and our location....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio......there are over 10 restaurants, 2 ATMs and a grocery store within a 2 block radius of our front gates......thank you very much for posting this review and we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,046
    128
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,094
695
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My new husband and I spent 2 nights in a bungalow in Tulemar for our honeymoon and had a blast. Ashley Johnson was our concierge and was helpful from the moment we booked the trip online, to waving us goodbye as we left. She recommended a guided tour of the Manuel Antonio Park, set everything up for us and.....WOW did we have the time of our lives. The grounds are magnificent, the beach is private, and service was excellent!

Speaking of service, on our last night, we decided to grab a few cocktails at the pool bar. Our bartender was fantastic! (I am terrible with names, and I have forgotten the beautiful bartender. Adorable, has a young daughter...ugh, I should have written her name down) The point is, she gave us fun little insights about the property, gave us a free "luna de miel" drink, and when it was closing time, even invited us out to the local club!

Bottomline, this is a great place for families of any size, couples, and pretty much any traveler who enjoys nature, beaches, great food and coffee with all the luxuries of a resort! No regrets from us!

Room Tip: stay more than 2 nights to be able to enjoy all that Manuel Antonio has to offer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Susana G......thank you so much for the wonderful review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......and the service you received from Ashley.....your personal concierge.....and Daniella.....one of our "star" bartenders.......we loved having you with us.....and you are right.....two days is just not enough time in Manuel Antonio......(so many guests tell us the same thing!).....I also appreciated your comment that Tulemar "is a great place for families of any size, couples, and pretty much any traveler who enjoys nature, beaches, great food and coffee with all the luxuries of a resort"......some people wonder if Tulemar is only for families......definitely not......couples and honeymooners love it too.....as well as single travelers......and larger groups of friends.....thanks for booking with us directly at tulemar.com and we hope you'll come back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at Casa Panorama in Tulemar Resort, best view ever. The house is tastily decorated and in the middle of an amazing resort with more wild life than the Manuel Antonio national park.

Best experience ever!

Room Tip: Casa Panorama - 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexMiamifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Alexmiamifl......thanks for the great review on your stay in Casa Panorama in Tulemar......the Lower Suite in Casa Panorama is great for 1-3 guests......a private bedroom with a king bed....bath.....living/dining/full kitchen (with a sofa bed)......and a wonderful balcony with furnishings and an amazing ocean view....plus the services of Kimberly.....your personal concierge.....no wonder this is one of our most popular 1 bedroom accommodations......thanks for taking the time to post the review and for booking with us.....hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Casa De Frutas in Tulemar over the week of June 7th and it was amazing! Everything from being greeted at the door by the wonderful staff (Dave, Mauricio...) to the beauty of the property was absolutely magnificent. We decided to have a chef for the week and I must say that Renzo and his assistant was one of the best choices we made. The meals were outstanding! The house was beautiful. The openness of the living areas was breathtaking. The grounds were wonderfully clean. We could not have asked for a better accommodation, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Scott....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Casa de Frutas.....one of our premier, private villas in Tulemar......for our guests that are looking for top of the line luxury, design, ambiance, service and amazing panoramic ocean views.....this is the villa......so glad you enjoyed your stay......and thanks for the comments on Renzo.....your private chef......(we can arrange a private chef in almost any of our properties for a single dinner to daily breakfast or for the entire week)......it really is a treat to have someone prepare all of your meals and to be able to enjoy them in your own villa with a spectacular ocean view.....we really enjoyed you, your family and friends.....thanks for booking with us (Casa de Frutas can only be booked directly with us at tulemar.com).....and we look forward to your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My partner and I had 4 wonderful nights at Tulemar. We saw more wildlife during our 4 nights here than the rest of our 2 week vacation- lots of sloths, squirrel monkeys and capuchin monkeys, particularly nearer the beach. Some of the apartments are a bit dated but the views and surroundings more than make up for that.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the beach if you want to see wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi LauraJane83....thanks for the excellent review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....so glad you enjoyed all the wildlife in Tulemar.....with 33 acres......your bound to see all three types of monkeys, both types of sloths, exotic birds and reptiles.....it''s like living in a jungle.....(lol).....which is what Tulemar really is......we're also happy that you enjoyed the Bungalows......they were the first properties built in Tulemar......so they really do have the prime locations and amazing ocean views......rustic, jungle decor with a quirky touch......(they look just like they do in the photos).......a fun place to stay.....for 2-4 guests.....thanks again for the comments and for booking with us directly at tulemar.com....hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Tulemar Bungalows & Villas was such a tremendous place to stay while in Costa Rica. Everyone from Danny, our concierge, the restaurant staff, the front desk staff, the cleaning staff, the security (Jason!), the personal drivers at Tulemar, to the garden keepers were simply amazing and were so eager to help in any way necessary. The gardeners enjoyed pointing out monkeys, sloths, and iguanas all throughout the place, all during our stay. Danny provided us with his personal phone number just in case we were lost driving around Costa Rica (which, driving was no problem at all). He made sure we went on the best excursions (which included ziplining and a catamaran tour). And, he was very approachable about any questions or concerns we had.
Each day my sister and I would walk down to the beach. There is a staff member that is assigned to the beach from 9a-4p. He, too, pointed out wildlife, helped us with chairs, kayaks, and any beach item we needed. The beach was as little rocky, but fun for being a private beach.
My future stay will always be with Tulemar!

Room Tip: Buena Vista...seriously had the best views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi Nicole S.......thank you so much for the review on your stay in Tulemar.....we loved having you with us.....and thanks for the kind words on Danny.....your personal concierge......and one of our "stars".......he really wants all of his guests to enjoy their stay and he's willing to do whatever it takes to make sure they enjoy Tulemar, Manuel Antonio and Costa Rica...... thanks for the comments on our other staff members as well......we really appreciate you booking with us at tulemar.com and we look forward to your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We traveled with two grandmas 70s, kids (3yrs, & 1yrs,) and a teenager 18yrs and we all had a great time. We didn't have to go far to see the amazing wildlife. the staff always went out of there way to point out the monkeys or sloths on our way down to beach. I was very happy with the service. They put up netting around the balcony to make it safer for the kids, brought balloons for kids. Our concierge was Chris Madrigal, he went above and beyond what most concierge's would do. He was a wealth of info and seemed to know everyone. The weather was great despite it was rainy season and actually rained everyday. Somehow it's not a big deal because its warm rain and only rains once a day for a few hours at night. The food was so fresh & delicious! I really can't imagine needing a better resort than this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyDiCristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi Family Di Cristo.....thanks for staying with us in Villa Cielito in Tulemar......it has one of the MOST amazing panoramic ocean views.....from every room.....(two bedrooms each with 2 queen beds, 2.5 baths with indoor/outdoor showers, living, dining and full kitchen plus a great balcony complete with jacuzzi).....plus a great location near the top of the hill and close to the front gates.....so easy to walk to restaurants, ATM's or the grocery store......plus you get the personal concierge services of Chris.....one of the best in Tulemar.....thanks for booking with us at tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing