We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place totally lives up to the reviews. We stayed in Casa Mirador (lower) for two days...Tulemar was very booked up the week we went so we stayed the two available days and I'm so glad we did. The villa itself was very nice. Plenty big for 4 people (it was just my husband and my daughter with us). Diego met us at the gate. Got us checked in and gave us a tour. We immediately saw a sloth at the beach during the tour! The family pool was directly across from our villa. Amazing infinity pool with the best views and a shallow pool perfect for our two year old. The beach is great. Tons on shady trees, or they will set up chairs and umbrellas wherever you want. Plus they have everything you could need at their beach (boogie boards, sand toys, towels, showers, a bar and food). We saw howler monkeys and iguanas. You could easily spend your entire time at the resort...but i sugest hitting up the rest of manuel antonio :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMA7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi JMA7979.....thanks for a great review on your time in Casa Mirador in Tulemar......we're so glad you decided to stay with us.....yes......sometimes we are almost full and don't have room for your entire stay.....but do have some of our best accommodations open for 2-3 days.....I'm glad you took advantage.....(and we also work with 3 partner properties nearby to book the balance of your trip!)......thanks for your comments on our Tulemar Beach......a wonderful, tropical oasis.......sandy beach.....shady palms.....warm, tropical waters......free lounge chairs and umbrellas......boogie boards......kayaks.....towel service.....and food/beverages from our beach bar and grill that you just sign to your room......thanks for the kind words on Diego, your personal concierge too.....we appreciate you booking with us directly at tulemar.com and hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 2,516 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I can't say enough about this fantastic resort! We stayed in a bungalow and it was perfect for two adults and two teenagers. The grounds are spectacular and the service is unbeatable! We had Chris Madrigal as our Concierge, he is AMAZING! He handled all of our transportation, reservations, excursions and anything and everything we could need including leaving us yummy chocolate and warm baked brownies in our room at night! We have traveled all over the world and have never had such personal service! The beach is so beautiful and tropical, loved kayaking, paddleboarding and having lunch while monkeys swung through the trees! Great restaurants walking distance from the hotel! We enjoyed "Barba Roja", "Cafe Milagro" and the wood oven pizza place! Really enjoyed Quepos Canyoneering & Ziplining! We were on the cusp of the rainy season, but it mostly rained at night and was fine during the day, a bit humid but warm! We took Sansa air to Quepos instead of a taxi or driving, it was quick and easy! If traveling to Costa Rica Manuel Antonio is a must!

Room Tip: the resort is on a hill, there are shuttles to take you up and down or you can walk. We stayed near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jellybeanlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi jellybeanlucy.....wow....what a great review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....and Chris....your personal concierge......thank you so much......Chris really is a Star at Tulemar......he makes sure all of his guests have a great stay....whether it's active (and he can guide you to the best tours/activities)....or passive......(maybe a massage in the Bungalow or a private chef to prepare dinner)......Chris can make it happen for you......thanks for all the suggestions on restaurants around Tulemar as well......(I also love having lunch at the Tulemar Beach.....sitting under the palms.....feet in the sand.....a cold drink.....just perfect!).....thank you so much for booking with us at tulemar.com and we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wow what an amazing week we had. We stayed in Casa Mirador lower and it was fantastic. We were two adults and two children. It was a one bedroom with a pull out sofa and a full kitchen minus the oven and grill. From the moment you enter Tulemars gates you are surrounded by beauty and the nicest people you could meet. We we're meet by Al who was fantastic. He was our concierge for the week and we were truly blessed. No matter how many times we called on him especially to unlock the safe he never said no. He made our week all that much better.
The grounds are set up on a hill so yes there is a lot of steep walking. If you go slow it's not so bad and you can take in all the beauty around you. Don't forget to look up in the trees as there were howler monkeys, sloths, squirrel monkeys and so much more to see.
The service to the beach or the front gate is awesome. You call and they are there within injures to take you were you want to go.
The beach is beautiful,, it's like having your own private beach. The waves where a bit rough a few days but we enjoyed every minute. David at the beach is great. Always smiling, always a good morning.
We mostly stayed at the family pool by our villa and we loved it. It was quiet and most days it was empty except for us. The guy at the pool was also great..always a smile and and a hello and made sure we had towels.
I can't say there is one thing I could complain about. The staff was friendly, they offered to help you with whatever you need. I would not hesitate Thor a second to recommend Diego & Al..
We loved our trip and if you have any questions please ask away..would love to help make your vacation dreams come true...

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank giolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi giolo.....thanks for your wonderful review on Casa Mirador and Tulemar......so glad you enjoyed your stay......Casa Mirador was a great choice for your family.......the large balcony and amazing ocean views.....the personal concierge service of Diego and Al.....and all of the amenities of Tulemar.....even though we were full during your stay......with 4 pools and the Tulemar Beach.....you're sure to find a quiet place to relax and enjoy the sunshine and nature.......and speaking of nature.....thanks for your comment about walking down to the beach.....I always suggest that too....if you want to see wildlife.....one of the best ways is to simply walk thru the property and look around (and up!)......monkeys, sloths and exotic birds and reptiles all around.....thanks for the review and for booking with us at tulemar.com.....hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and I was a bit uneasy. I live in the States and went out on a limb booking everything online after reading reviews from others. My family stayed in a Tulemar Bungalow in June and it was such a memorable experience! Tulemar is such a beautiful place and it was so enjoyable. The ocean views are just gorgeous. Tulemar is walking distance from restaurants and little shops, which made it convenient to go out for dinner. The staff is great and very accommodating. Chris was our concierge and he was always available for any requests or questions that I had. Daniela the bartender at the pool was just great! She made an awesome caipirina drink! This place is just an awesome place to stay at and I can't say enough about all of the staff, who made our vacation - one of the best vacations we've ever had!!! I can't wait to go back to Tulemar :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

HI Nancy F.....thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows....so happy to hear that your family enjoyed their time with us......and thanks for the comment about our location.....even though Tulemar is over 33 acres.....from the hilltop down to the Tulemar Beach.....jungle and lots of wildlife......just within a two block radius of our front gates you'll find over 10 restaurants......2 ATM's.....and a grocery store......so convenient......thanks for the comments on our staff.....Chris, your personal concierge and Daniella at the bar.......they are both Tulemar stars.....thanks for booking with us and we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Tulemar Bungalows and had our wedding/honeymoon here. It was wonderful. We fell in love with this place. The service was great all around from our concierge Ashley to the restaurant, beach, cleaning and spa staff. There was plenty to do and the staff was so accommodating and helpful to us. I felt like we were in great hands and not dissapointed with anything. The private beach was perfect for our intimate elopment. Im 6 months pregnant so limited on the excursions I could take and still was super relaxed and yet never bored. We will definitely visit again when iur children are a bit older to enjoy it with us.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Rachel D.....thanks for the great review......we loved helping you make your wedding/honeymoon special......and how romantic......on the Tulemar Beach at sunset.....so glad Ashley (your personal concierge) was able to make this stay exactly what you wanted it to be.....thanks for the comments on all of our staff too....and thanks for booking with us at tulemar.com and we look forward to your return trip!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for a week at Casa del Mar (409) in Tulemar and could not be happier!! My kids and wife said we were staying in paradise! Beautiful grounds, amazing foliage, fantastic views of coast and hillside, monkeys in the trees nearly everyday (and one day on our deck and in our hot tub, which the kids really loved). We are a family of five, boys 14 and 16, girl 20, and my wife and I (50s). This was the best place we have ever stayed. Could not ask for more. The staff took fantastic care of us. Ashley and Mauricio were our main concierge contacts and they exceeded every excpectation. They would call at just the right time with advice, dinner suggestion or special treat. Ashley handled our arrangements before arrival and everything was perfect. Mauricio helped after we arrived. He handled last minute changes very well, found us one of the most senior guides for the park (we didn't ask) and sent us warm, homemade brownies one rainy day when our outing got postponed. The pools(4) and grounds are immaculately cared for and beautiful. The beach is gorgeous, private and has its own staff who take care of you with drinks, food or gear (kayaks, paddles, boogie boards, all included at no extra charge). Shuttle rides anytime you needed them, just call. Easy walking access to small grocery and several good restaurants or they will get you a taxi right to your door. The villa was outstanding, super high-quality, exotic decorations, fresh flowers, art and scuptures. You can find cheaper, but you can't go wrong staying here if you want a personal, high-quality, family experience. We are so glad we spent the money to stay at Tulemar!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend Casa del Mar #409. Great location right on the road, quiet, easy access, no walks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennedy3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi kennedy3223......thank you so much for the excellent review on Casa del Mar in Tulemar.....one of our very popular 2 bedroom villas......every property in Tulemar is privately owned......and the owner of Casa del Mar loves to shop and decorate.......(as you mentioned)......from artwork.....to furnishings.....to the kitchen.....special and unique touches throughout......plus the personal concierge services of Ashley (and Mauricio while Ashley was on vacation).......and all of the amenities of Tulemar.....thank you so much for the review.....Casa del Mar can only be booked with us at tulemar.com.

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We are here right now, staying in the upper villa motmot. It is heaven. The property is beautiful. The staff is super friendly. Our concierge Al, has been so helpful. Always there to give us a dinner reco, a ride to the supermarket or just there to ensure our excursions are on track. The pools, beach and restaurants have been great for us. 3 kids ages 6,8,10...love it here. Monkeys on our deck and by the pools and beach. We did the quepos canyoning tour, surf lessons and are going ww rafting tomorrow. Loving Costa Rica!! Mot mot is perfect for us.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Luvstotravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi....we were just talking at the Tulemar restaurant last night.....and now a great review on Villa Mot Mot.....wow....thank you so much.....I appreciated hearing these things in person....and I love seeing them on Trip Advisor......as I've mentioned before......Villa Mot Mot is one of our most popular small villas.....for the reasons that you posted.....plus you get all the amenities of Tulemar...and the personal concierge services of Al and Diego.....so glad that your family are enjoying themselves.....and a nice surprise that everyone around the pool was invited to a wedding on the beach today......(I think the bride was a little nervous that her invited guests would be choosing to watch the BIG GAME today instead!)......thanks again for booking with us at tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
1.3 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Altos Resort
Los Altos Resort
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £107 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing