We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderfull!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wunderfull!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wow!! What a nice place!!! The private beach is wonderfull, the pools are amazing! We saw a lot of animals, moneys, slot, birds...The service was exceptionnal, every was so nice. We had a wonderfull time at Tulemar, wich we had stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Nancy A....thanks for posting the review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....we loved having you with us.....and we wish you could have stayed longer as well.....(maybe next time)......many of our guests include Tulemar/Manuel Antonio as part of their tour of Costa Rica.....2 or 3 different areas.....but we hear the same comments...."next time, we'll be spending more time here"......the Tulemar Beach....the abundant wildlife.....the casual, open air restaurants.....the tours/activities nearby.....the service....all contribute to a great stay.....thank you so much for booking with us directly on this web site and we'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,076
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,116
701
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

What a beautiful place with an amazing staff. If you are looking for a fantastic place in Manual Antonio, look no further. Everything from the room, view, check-in/out, pools, private beach, and personal concierge was just wonderful. The resort also provides you with the best excursions and arranges everything for you (trust me there are some bad excursions/guides if you are not careful). In addition, the place is gated and we felt secure at all times. I never vacation in the same spot twice, but my wife & I agreed we will surely come here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandyDadChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi VandyDadChris......thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Villa Mot Mot in Tulemar.....this villa is perfect for 1-5 guests......separate bedroom with 2 queen beds.....living/dining/full kitchen.....trundle bed in the living area.....full bath.....and a huge balcony with living/dining furnishings......and amazing ocean views......plus the personal concierge services of Team Diego.....thanks for your comments on the tours/activities.....it sounds like you've experienced some problems.....it can happen.....we use only the best local companies and tour guides....qualified and safe.....we want to make sure you have a great excursion.....thanks for booking with us directly on this web site.....we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at mot not hideaway for our honeymoon. We had an amazing time and couldn't have picked a more stunning location to celebrate our new marriage together. Jonathon gabe us such great recommendations an always made sure we were taken care of, as well as Diego and Al. Everyone was so kind and generous and the food in Costa Rica was incredible. The villa has the most stunning views that overlook the Pacific Ocean. We also loved the outdoor kitchen and enjoyed pancakes for breakfast on our balcony every morning. My husband and I highly recommend everything tulemar has to offer!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlydrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Carlydrake......thanks for the review on your stay in Mot Mot Hideaway in Tulemar.....one of our most popular villas for 1-2 guests.....bedroom with king bed.....great bathroom.....and a large outdoor living area complete with full kitchen....living area.....and amazing ocean views.....plus the personal concierge service of Team Diego (Diego, Al and Jonathan).....plus you have all the amenities of Tulemar.....thank you so much for booking with us directly on our web site.....tulemar.com.....the only place to book Mot Mot Hideaway....hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I selected Tulemar based on the reviews I read here; even though I still had my doubts and thought maybe they sounded too good to be true.

What can I say, this place is amazing. I literally just got back yesterday and could not wait to talk about it. The resort is beautiful, immaculately kept, and the service is outstanding. The pictures on the website don't do them justice. You'll pretty much have breathtaking views no matter where you go on the property - your room, the pool, the restaurant, etc. I traveled with my 60-yr old mom and my 15-year old niece, and all 3 generations were thoroughly pleased.

We stayed in one of the bungalows, which have 360 views yet still maintain privacy. They are adorable, really makes you feel like you're in a big tree house, with all the comforts of home. Our bungalow didn't include a stove, which was fine since we ate out every meal, but we still had a fridge for drinks and dishes along with a toaster, microwave, and coffee maker for afternoon & midnight snacking. The maid service is outstanding, kept the place neat, even with a teenager staying there.

The private beach is beautiful! Getting there can be a challenge if you're not into walking hills but the shuttle is always available and the drivers are always so friendly and happy to help. If walking the hill isn't enough for you, the property has 2 hiking trails that provided good exercise and great scenery; one of the trails leads you to a beautiful waterfall, which was a nice surprise.

My concierge was Chris, and he was awesome. The first night he took the time to drive me to the store to get some drinks and snacks for my family. He checked in on me frequently and was very helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat. He helped me with everything from arranging transportation to/from the airport to making dinner reservations for us. He even set up a nice surprise for my family on our last night out. This was truly first-class service. The rest of the property staff is so friendly and attentive, what a great group of people!

I will definitely be going back to Costa Rica in the future. Regardless of which area I visit, I will make sure to include a couple of nights back in Tulemar. They really raised the bar on accommodations and service, so I can only hope that other "luxury" resorts can live up to the high standards that Tulemar sets for its guests. Pura vida, indeed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SrtaLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi SrtaLola.....yes....the reviews are true...lol.....I'm sure many people wonder the same thing.....thank you so much for taking the time to post yours......so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Bungalows.....they really are like staying in a treehouse....with all the comforts of home...a bedroom with 2 queen beds.....living/dining/kitchenette (they do have a 2 burner stove-I hope you did see that?)....glass all the way around with great ocean and jungle views....with a jungle/tropical/rustic feel.......thanks for your comments too on Chris....your personal concierge.....and one of our Tulemar Stars.....he really works hard to make sure all of his guests enjoy their time with us.....we appreciate you booking with us directly on our web site and hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Village, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I can not say enough about this property and the staff. The beach and views are some of the best in Costa Rica. Our house manager Diego's recommendations were all top notch and he never lead us wrong, from surf lessons to restaurants to shopping, who knew where to go and what to avoid.

The environment here is very natural and we enjoyed the monkeys, sloths and variety of birds immensely.

There were never more then about 20 people or so at the private beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Adam A....thanks for the great review on your stay in Nido de Gansos.....one of our premier, private villas.......and a wonderful choice for nature lovers.....the social areas of this villa are on the third floor....at treetop level....and the birds, monkeys and sloths are your neighbors.....and you have ocean views.......plus you have the personal concierge services of Team Diego......to handle all of the details.....thanks for booking with us at tulemar.com.....the only place to book Nido de Gansos.....we'd love to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have NOTHING bad to say about this hotel. It is very unique, beautiful, and family friendly! By the main pool and restraunt/bar area we saw A LOT of sloths! It was super cool! Down by the beach we saw a monkey literally on the beach bar just hanging out. Our concierge was great! We had to miss a tour because one of our travelers was unable to participate and he scheduled the one on the next day, it was great! They are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and include DVD players so you can bring movies and watch them, super cool! This was our best hotel experience probably ever. Next time we will only stay at this hotel, it is just so great and unique we really wish we stayed more nights here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Kelly P.....thanks for the great review on your stay in Tulemar....we loved having you with us.....yes....we do have lots of wildlife......all three types of monkeys.....both types of sloths......exotic birds and reptiles.....often just hanging around.....by the pools....or the beach.....on the hiking trails....along the roads....or around your bungalow/villa......it's just one of the things that make Tulemar so special.....thank you so much for booking with us directly.....and we hope to have you back again.....by the way I'm back in California this week on vacation and heading to Santa Cruz/Monterrey for a few days-I love your area too!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My family (my husband, me and our two sons, ages 14 and 11) ended our week-long vacation in Costa Rica with a 3 night stay at Casa Cielito at Tulemar. As soon as we opened the door to the Villa we were immediately wishing we had booked it for longer! The property is quite possibly the most gorgeous place we have ever stayed. The view is absolutely spectacular from all of the roooms - although we spent most of our time on the balcony (including eating all of our dinners there - because why go out and miss the sunset??). The casa is well furnished - gourmet kitchen, jacuzzi on the balcony, smart TV, luxury bedding, washer/dryer, etc. And the indoor/outdoor showers were fantastic!

Chris, our concierge, was great. He (and Julien) answered all of my zillions of questions with patience as I was planning the trip. Chris set up a couple of activities for us (Canopy Safari ziplines - BIG thumbs up, highlight of our trip - and horseback riding with Brisas del Nara - which was OK, but not great). We did have one small glitch with the planning of the zip line but it wasn't major.

Chris also gave us a tour of the grounds when we arrived, checked in with us daily, and even brought us a plate of warm brownies that were delicious. Chris also set us up with private chef Jose and his assistant Rudy for a gourmet dinner for our last night. That was a big splurge for us but well worth it. The food was delicious and the service was perfect. My only wish is that we had thought to do it on the first night so we could have eaten the leftovers instead of leaving that all behind when we checked out.

The grounds are incredible. We saw more wildlife here than anywhere else on our trip. Sloths, monkeys, lizards, iguanas, birds and butterflies. The landscaping is lush and the flowers are bright and beautiful. We loved the pools and the beach is even nicer than Manuel Antonio - which is saying something! We just wished we had more time to chill there to enjoy the beach.

The location is perfect - between Manuel Antonio beach and Quepos. There are restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance. We loved El Avion restaurant with its beautiful view and surprisingly great food.

If you stay at Tulemar, be sure to plan for enough time to just relax and enjoy. It is a wonderful place to stay, and the service is top notch. We can't wait to go back and visit again!

Reading other reviews for here and other places in Costa Rica, I know that people can be concerned about safety. But I have to say we experienced nothing but wonderful, friendly, warm people and we never felt unsafe. That said, we also were careful - we locked up valuables when we were out of the house, didn't leave anything in plain view in the car, and someone always sat with our stuff at the beach.

We rented a car and drove all over and found the roads to be better than we expected. The road from San Jose to Manuel Antonio is relatively new and well paved. Up near Arenal it's a little more rustic but still decent. Just be prepared for twisty, hilly roads and bring dramamine if you have people who are motion sick. :)

Overall, this was ranked as one of our best family vacations!

Room Tip: highly recommend Cielito. But it seemed that all properties had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlrFromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi TravelrFromMass.....thank you so much for posting the review on your stay in Villa Cielito.....one of our premium 2 bedroom villas.....we loved having you with us.....this 2 bedroom villa is very different from most others.....even though it may look similar at first glance.....this one has one of the most spectacular ocean views of all......and the owner has upgraded all the electronics.....(TV's/music docks)......and placed different artwork and tons of fresh tropical flowers throughout.....and you get the personal concierge services of Chris and Julien......two of our "Tulemar Stars".....to handle all of the details of your stay.....so glad that you had Chris arrange a personal chef for that special dinner (good suggestion having it early in the stay for the leftovers!)......having a personal chef is such a treat.....and dining on the balcony at sunset is magical....thanks for your comments on safety and security too.....good common sense.......thank you so much for booking with us directly.....our website is the only place you'll find Villa Cielito.....we'd love to have you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,509 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing