We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read The Fine Prints”
Review of Hotel Verde Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Verde Mar
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 29 January 2008

When you make the reservation, they make you sign and fax a form. READ EVERYTHING ON THE FORM. It says that you may be charged for the entire stay at check in. And the very nasty person that "greeted" me at the desk wanted to charge my credit card for the whole amount right there and then. He did not care that I did not like the room. "Like it or not, it's the only one we got. And since you reserved it for 7 nights, I'll charge your card NOW for those seven nights." Also be aware that the web site photos were taken using wide angle lenses (for those not so familiar with photography, it means everything seams much larger in the pictures than they actually are in real life).
The whole experience was so "not tico like". Most Ticos are very nice and they just don't want to make a fuss. So look elsewhere, I'm sure you'll find much better and friendlier places to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Verde Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2008

Definitely do not stay here!!!
We have just came from Costa Rica.we stayed at Verde Mar hotel for 2 nights and we think that the hotel is very inferior.
the best thing is that it is very close to the Manuel antonio park and close to the beach so you don;t need to drive there .
The staff was very friendly but the rooms were dirty and the towels were filthy. Its expensive and not worth the price .
The beaches at Manuel Antonio National Park are definitely worth the trip, but stay in nicer place a bit up the hill.
The room was ugh! The pictures on the hotel's website showed rooms that looked very bright and clean...but once we went in our room, it stunk like meat or tuna or something and it just looked dirty and old. There was no ventilation and the room was very stale.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank tooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2007

Stayed here with three friends. The location of the hotel is great. It is within walking distance of the beach and the park is also within a convienent distance.

We stayed there in low season so we got a pretty good deal for the room which made it feel totally worth the price. The place has a nice pool where you often will be accompanied by some of the curious monkeys living in the area.

The staff as well as the owners of the hotel are very friendly and eager to be of assistane. Most of the staff speaks rather decent english which I found helpful (my spanish is not very good).

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thesaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

This place is right on the beach, you can literally see it from the hotel. Most of the places in Manuel Antonio weren't as close to the water as this place and still within walking distance to the park and shops.

A wonderful beachfront restaraunt is just a 2 minute walk, and it's fantastic!

The hotel was full when we booked so we got the "Apartment" room. With 1 queen size, 2 bunk bed, and a kitchen. It didn't have much of a view from the room, but we didn't spend much time in the room so it didn't matter. It was reasonably spacious and clean, I would consider it basic and not high end. They have a stunning lobby and a security guard working 24hours a day. We did have a small, 3 inch white lizard in our room under the curtains the first night, but we figured it was harmless and we wouldn't be able to catch it, so we left it alone.

You have to go to dinner at Ronny's! They we're up a long sketchy road, but had the best Sangria I have ever had and an amazing view!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccandy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We wanted a kitchenette, within walking distance of the beach.
We stayed in the room after the spiral staircase then up the 2nd level 1st door.
When we went to the room it smelled a little funny.
We went out for 3 hours to the beach and came back and it
had the strongest smell of sewer from the bathroom.
We had to keep the bathroom door shut at all times and that did not keep the smell down.

We went to the desk to get money back.
That didn't happen.
We left the next day - we nearly left that same day and paid somewhere else - the smell was awful.

Why did they not give us a different room?

We spoke with other guests later who said their room was fine
and they really like it a lot.

I read another post who also had this problem, although it was a different room.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank Alreadythere0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

The Verde Mar is just steps from the beautiful beach near Manuel Antonio National Park. The rooms are clean, airconditioned and have kitchenettes. There is a wonderful pool too! The staff is helpful and very friendly. Best of all, the price is so reasonable! It is one of my favorite hotels in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IsaCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2007

We went to Manuel Antonio in May and it was pretty dead. It was pretty neat having an entire beach to ourselves, but there was no night life. Recommend waiting until high season if you're going with friends, but May is perfect for those looking for a quiet beach getaway.

The hotel is right on the beach, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the price was excellent. We three friends had a room with two large beds and a kitchen. The room was clean and the air conditioning worked great.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaIndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#26 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
319 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#30 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Prats Hotel
Villa Prats Hotel
#28 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verde Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Mar

Address: Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £34 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Verde Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Verde Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verde Mar Hotel
Hotel Verde Mar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing