We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean spacious rooms”
Review of Hotel Verde Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Verde Mar
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a great location. Easy access to the beach, within walking distance of the park, shopping and restaurants. The staff is supper friendly and always willing to help. The only problem we had was the gate to the beach was not always working. You would sometimes have to go through the adjoining lot that wasn't maintained.
There is a sloth that lives in the trees on the property, that was very exciting to see for me.
We did not have a TV in our room, not sure about the other rooms, but we did stay in two different rooms and neither had a TV. (we changed rooms because my husband had a injury to his leg and the new room required less steps, not due to a bad room). The Wifi worked very well.
We did not try the food at the hotel, but did eat at the Surf shack located just behind the hotel on the beach and it was very good and low cost(not cheap, but reasonable).

Room Tip: Avoid the loft, it is a beautiful and big room, but the spiral stairs are tight and there is no outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whynot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Verde Mar seems custom made for families traveling on a budget. The plain, minimally appointed rooms, which have kitchenettes, did not invite one to linger in there longer than just for sleeping and bathing. They have a decent and heavily used pool. But the nicest thing about the Verde Mar is that it has direct beach access and is also within easy walking distance to the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and the restaurant complex just outside. Agood choice considering the price point.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel met all of the needs of our family. We have 4 kids (10-17) so we had to get 2 rooms, but they had kitchenettes, so that saved us some money. There's a grocery store in walking distance-- it's pricey, but has some American offerings for when the kids just wanted spaghetti. The beach is right in the backyard, everything is in walking distance, there were monkeys in the trees outside, the hotel rents body boards, and we really enjoyed our stay. I gave it a 4 just because it wasn't quite as nice as the other places we stayed in Costa Rica, but I don't really have any complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crosscountryfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I recently stayed five nights at Verde Mar. It was a good experience all the way around. My room was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect on the best beach in Costa Rica! Hats off to the chef for preparing a great Lobster dinner for two. Anna was very helpful at the front desk as all hotel staff were very friendly

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capnjeff225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This was my second trip to Hotel Verde Mar, having stayed there in 2010 as well. It is a basic, conveniently located hotel right on the beach and within walking distance of the park. Most of the staff were very helpful. So why the poor rating?

We wanted to eat at a restaurant at the top of the hill. Since we were wary of taxi drivers who overcharge and take advantage of tourists, I asked Carlos at the desk if he could call a taxi. At other hotels where I had stayed, this was a good way to find honest, reliable transportation. Carlos said he had a "friend" who was a taxi driver. His friend charged us 4 times the rate it should have been. We walked home after dinner. After I complained, Carlos was not particularly friendly for the rest of the trip. I understand that hotels make commissions for booking tours--that is fine. But I also want to stay in a place where I can trust the staff not to take advantage of customers by setting us up with a "friend" who is ripping people off.

Then, when I was looking for a shuttle to San Jose, Carlos told us it would be a lot more expensive than we had originally been told. I walked down the street to a restaurant that booked tours. He made one phone call and booked us a shuttle for $40 cheaper!

This could be a perfect place to stay if the management did not allow a staff member to treat customers this way. (All other staff members were most helpful).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank SC_traveler392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We found the hotel to be basic but very comfortable, we stayed for 8 nights, nice with kitchenettes so we could fix our own breakfasts, the staff were very friendly and helpful, aranged some activities for us with just 1 days notice, very close to the beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park and the fabulous beach, close to the bus stop if you want to go into Quepos which takes around 15 minutes, close to shops, supermarket and restaurants. Would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Hotel Verde Mar is a BASIC, inexpensive choice of accommodation, walking distance to to Manuel Antonio National Park. This being said, we found the rooms to be spacious and clean, and the staff was very helpful, friendly, and did what ever we asked to make our stay a good one. The little kitchen areas in each room were great! They were well equipped with dishes, pans, and coffee maker, and they were tiled in cheery yellow and blue Mexican tile. I also loved the monkey themed bedspreads and curtains on the large windows.

We were a large group, so we had all three types of rooms:
1. a room with two queen beds, a kitchen, and large walk in closet with shelves on the second story.
2. a room with king bed and kitchen by the pool (kind of loud until the pool closed).
3. a one bedroom with kitchen and sofa bed located just under the office. (This room smelled quite strongly of mold, so I would not recommend this room during the wet season or if you are allergic to mold.)

We liked the location, however the beach was so, so very crowed. We went most days to the beaches at Manuel Antonio. It was worth the $10 and the walk. We took the bare minimum... towel, water, and snacks and stayed the day.

Room Tip: Rooms by pool could be noisy in the evenings before the pool closes. Room under the office had a str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#29 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Prats Hotel
Villa Prats Hotel
#30 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verde Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Mar

Address: Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £35 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Verde Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Verde Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verde Mar Hotel
Hotel Verde Mar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing