We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on the amazing beach in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Verde Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Verde Mar
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location on the amazing beach in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Verde Mar. The rooms were basic, but included a small fridge and a cooking burner, which was nice since we were able to save some money by making our own lunch and dinner. The pool is nice and refreshing, and it is a minute walk down to the beach. The beaches in Manuel Antonio are fabulous, and there are restaurants, bars, and shops all within easy walking distance.
We ate breakfast there each morning, and the gallo pinto is quite tasty. Staff were nice and knowledgable of the area and available tours.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    214
    87
    49
    37
See reviews for
163
210
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have stayed at the Verde Mar six or seven times, and it has always been a pleasure. There are plenty of fancier hotels on the hill leading into Quepos, but if you want a great hotel on the beach, this place is for you. The location is ideal -- you can walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park. You can walk to Super Joseth grocery which stocks food, beer, wine and Costa Rican coffee. We always get one of the rooms with the kitchette and fridge and it is great. Our favorite beach bar, Balu, is just steps away. If you are not at Balu for happy hour, grab a cerveza frio from your own fridge and enjoy a spectacular sunset on the beach. There is a sloth in the tree right outside the hotel, monkeys cruise through in the afternoon, and you often hear howler monkeys in the early morning. It's not fancy, but the luxurious simplicity of the beach and the natural wonders keeps us coming back year after year.

Room Tip: The WIFI works well in the rooms. It's a small hotel. We have stayed in many of the rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryRobert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a great location. Easy access to the beach, within walking distance of the park, shopping and restaurants. The staff is supper friendly and always willing to help. The only problem we had was the gate to the beach was not always working. You would sometimes have to go through the adjoining lot that wasn't maintained.
There is a sloth that lives in the trees on the property, that was very exciting to see for me.
We did not have a TV in our room, not sure about the other rooms, but we did stay in two different rooms and neither had a TV. (we changed rooms because my husband had a injury to his leg and the new room required less steps, not due to a bad room). The Wifi worked very well.
We did not try the food at the hotel, but did eat at the Surf shack located just behind the hotel on the beach and it was very good and low cost(not cheap, but reasonable).

Room Tip: Avoid the loft, it is a beautiful and big room, but the spiral stairs are tight and there is no outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whynot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Verde Mar seems custom made for families traveling on a budget. The plain, minimally appointed rooms, which have kitchenettes, did not invite one to linger in there longer than just for sleeping and bathing. They have a decent and heavily used pool. But the nicest thing about the Verde Mar is that it has direct beach access and is also within easy walking distance to the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and the restaurant complex just outside. Agood choice considering the price point.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel met all of the needs of our family. We have 4 kids (10-17) so we had to get 2 rooms, but they had kitchenettes, so that saved us some money. There's a grocery store in walking distance-- it's pricey, but has some American offerings for when the kids just wanted spaghetti. The beach is right in the backyard, everything is in walking distance, there were monkeys in the trees outside, the hotel rents body boards, and we really enjoyed our stay. I gave it a 4 just because it wasn't quite as nice as the other places we stayed in Costa Rica, but I don't really have any complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crosscountryfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uvita, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I recently stayed five nights at Verde Mar. It was a good experience all the way around. My room was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect on the best beach in Costa Rica! Hats off to the chef for preparing a great Lobster dinner for two. Anna was very helpful at the front desk as all hotel staff were very friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capnjeff225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

This was my second trip to Hotel Verde Mar, having stayed there in 2010 as well. It is a basic, conveniently located hotel right on the beach and within walking distance of the park. Most of the staff were very helpful. So why the poor rating?

We wanted to eat at a restaurant at the top of the hill. Since we were wary of taxi drivers who overcharge and take advantage of tourists, I asked Carlos at the desk if he could call a taxi. At other hotels where I had stayed, this was a good way to find honest, reliable transportation. Carlos said he had a "friend" who was a taxi driver. His friend charged us 4 times the rate it should have been. We walked home after dinner. After I complained, Carlos was not particularly friendly for the rest of the trip. I understand that hotels make commissions for booking tours--that is fine. But I also want to stay in a place where I can trust the staff not to take advantage of customers by setting us up with a "friend" who is ripping people off.

Then, when I was looking for a shuttle to San Jose, Carlos told us it would be a lot more expensive than we had originally been told. I walked down the street to a restaurant that booked tours. He made one phone call and booked us a shuttle for $40 cheaper!

This could be a perfect place to stay if the management did not allow a staff member to treat customers this way. (All other staff members were most helpful).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SC_traveler392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#28 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verde Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Mar

Property: Hotel Verde Mar
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Verde Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Verde Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verde Mar Hotel
Hotel Verde Mar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing