We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mimos”
Review of Hotel Mimos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mimos
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We found the Hotel Mimos to be a very good value. The rooms were quite generous in size. The room we were in did have a light smell of dampness. The gardens around the two pools had a wonderful tropical feel. The restaurant that is on the premises was called Burù. Food there was adequate. The staff of the hotel and the restaurant were very accommodating. Everyone spoke English well enough to be understood. We were only planning on staying one night but ended up staying two.

Room Tip: We requested a room that was away from the pool area so that it would be quieter. I think all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

The value on this hotel is unbelievable! Our room was gigantic, there are 2 pools, and they include a full breakfast (aka omelets, tipico, etc) not just a small continental spread. The owner and his wife were very friendly and personable and made our stay comfortable. The only downside is the location.The hotel is located on the road between Manuel Antonio and Quepos, which is quite dangerous for walking. So while it isn't far from either destination, it limits the options for dining and nightlife in the evening hours. There is a bus that is quite cheap but it doesn't run 24 hours a day. The hotel itself, however, was very nice and a great deal!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were quite happy to find ourselves at Hotel Mimos. The grounds are lovely and our room was spacious, bright and clean. It is located between Quepos and the national park and it is an easy bus ride to either with the bus stop located right outside the hotel. In spite of being out of town there are plenty of bars and restaurants located nearby.

The staff at Mimos are awesome, particularly the bar staff who hosted a great happy hour and really knew how to make good cocktails. The hotel also had no problem keeping our bags for several hours after we checked out with no issue. We came back, enjoyed the pool and happy hour before we picked them up and went on our way. We thought this place was even better than the pictures made it out to be with its lovely pools and beautiful landscaping. Best of all, the price is completely reasonable. I would absolutely recommend this place.

As a brief side note - take note of cab numbers if you choose to take one and avoid cab #732. He picked us up at the hotel and then proceeded to drive us around town, including some pretty shady areas and drastically overcharge after the agreed price. The guy was creepy - avoid him.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indigocat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Great rooms, with superb view. Excellent the service, as well. Overall, you feel to stay among friends, and not in a hotel. Notably, the rooms are in several small buildings over the hill and around the two swimming pools. The bus to the beaches is just around the corner.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank LauraCarmig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for five nights and, like anywhere, there were pros and cons.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff. You couldn't have asked for more friendly and helpful people. The lady on reception was hugely welcoming as were the staff in the pool-side bar.

The food was also superb. And, to make things even better, the hotel owner included breakfast free of charge. Furthermore, there was a number of different types of breakfast to choose from including a typical Costa Rican breakfast.

My only criticism was that my room, although quite big, was a tad dingy in that there was no natural light.

Some people may also find the hotel's location quite difficult. It's on the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio and, those used to pavements, will have to get used to J-walking and to buses and other vehicles flying past in close proximity.

Overall, this is a very good hotel and represents excellent value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank RedTom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the right place and the right distance from the Park but we have some issues with the room. Since we had people in the room above, for some reason their footsteps always made a lot of noise and we had issues trying to sleep at night. Maybe the ceiling is not sound proof... And the toilet flush from another room caused our toilet to make noise and move in and out the water... It seemed like we had flush ours... And it wets the seat. The good thing is that the water was clean, we stayed at room 11. We recommend to stay in an upper room, maybe the issues are related to the room location

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

After all the overpriced places in Costa Rica we were so happy to find this spot. The hotel actually looks like the photos shown and the free breakfast is large and tasty. The couple that own the restaurant are SUPER helpful...their male employee did not give very good service, but we would definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
325 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
409 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Prats Hotel
Villa Prats Hotel
#29 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mimos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mimos

Address: Main Road via Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £60 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mimos 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you great value in a tropical setting and a family friendly environment, tastefully furnished accommodations and good food in the Buru Bar & Grill Restaurant. Conveniently located between the National Park Manuel Antonio and town, Quepos. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms fromStandard Deluxe, Junior suite and Family Suites, Apartments, Master and Honeymoon Suites elegantly arranged in our three story building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mimos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimos Hotel
Hotel Mimos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing