We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful staff!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My husband and I celebrated my 40th birthday in Costa Rica and stayed at this hotel which we were both very pleased by. We had a beautiful room with a balcony view that overlooked the ocean and beautiful sunsets! The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way and remembered us on a first name basis from the time we arrived! Breakfast was served poolside with beautiful latin music playing and always great conversation from the staff! Definately a place to stay not only for the value but for the friends you will make in the staff!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

We arrived to Hotel California after a 5 hour trip from Monteverde. Gerald greeted us at the front desk and he was wonderful. Very friendly staff all around and very comfortable accommodations. The room was very comfortable and he upgraded us to an upstairs room with a beautiful view. Nice pool with outdoor dining area adjacent to the pool, wifi on the balcony. Delicious full breakfast included. Convenient location to get to just about anywhere but located off the main road a bit so it is very quiet. Be sure to eat dinner at Ronnie's one night - the food was great!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jal0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

The hotel is very nice staff very friendly especially Alonzo.
Food very good, nice size pool good ocean view from restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krauttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

About two weeks each year we enjoy the wonderful hospitality and relaxing atmosphere of Hotel California. For the past seven years we have delighted in watching monkeys, iguanas, geckos, butterflies, and birds. Flowers that cost much money to be delivered by a florist grow wild on the grounds. Hotel California and its staff takes you away from it all. Their concern for and willingness to help guest make it easy to be on a first name basis with them. Our special thanks are extended, as always, to yessenia Sanchez [Jessie],Heiner Cerdas,Gerald Roviera,Alonso Madrigal- Manager and Robbie- Owner.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyghost1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We had a relaxing stay at this hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful. We were given an upgrade in our room for free. The view of the ocean is great along with catching the sunset. The location is nice as it is quiet, but close to a bus stop to easily visit the beaches at Manuel or the town of Quepos. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to a friend as it has a reasonable price and meets basic needs for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsn1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Hotel California is located off the main road in Manuel Antonio. Taxi drivers did traverse the rocky incline (dry season) to get to the hotel. It is nicely situated with the reception area across from where the rooms, pool, and restaurant area is located. WiFi is available from the balcony patio or from the main reception area. You can also get WiFi around the pool area. The view is spectacular over looking lush green vegetation and a wide view of the beach (looking towards Jaco). Although there was a school group of about 20 students, we were the only ones using the pool at the end of the day and we felt the hotel was not crowded.

Rooms - clean, comfortable, enough space for 3 adults, balcony, air conditioning.
Bathroom - nothing fancy but warm water, low water pressure, clean, limited room to put toiletries (but you have a countertop above the fridge - see pictures)
Service - excellent
- we were greeted immediately (10 a.m.); asked if we could get a great view
- while we waited we were offered fresh fruit
- room was ready within 30 min
- Haylin (front reception) helped us book a tour right away
- helped us orient and made suggestions of what we could do
- Gerald helped us call a taxi and made reservations at Ronny's for us
- we were allowed a late late check out
- the restaurant has a variety of choices on their menu
- continental breakfast was good (I'm not a picky eater - toast, cereal, fresh fruit, made-for-you omelette or scramble eggs)
Apparently management has changed recently (the manager is actually on the premises which always makes a difference - although I did not meet the manager)
Taxis from hotel to Manuel Antonio will cost approx. 3000 - 5000 (may be cheaper if you're better at bargaining). You can walk down the hill and catch the bus every 20 minutes for about 250 colones; but sharing a taxi was more feasible for us so we didn't take the bus and spared ourselves the walk up or down the rocky road.
For what we paid, I would highly recommend a couple of nights at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolyglotTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Great location between quepos and Manuel Antonio with wonderful views. Close to restaurants and nus stops to get you around. Rooms were very spacious with needed a/c. What we will remember most however is the great staff. Always friendly and open ready to help or
offer suggestions. Nice breakfast buffet to start the day as well. Thanks to all at the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#29 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £49 - £726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing