We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of our wedding anniversary trip!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Barrie
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best stay of our wedding anniversary trip!”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My wife and I were on our first trip to Costa Rica as part of our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. We were with Gap Adventure Tours and had low expectations based on our previous hotel in Monteverde. We were blown away by the great room (#27, 2nd floor), the views, great staff and clean, comfortable pool and marvellous restaurant.

With 15 of us there, we pretty much took over the hotel. Our room had a single king size bed and looked like a honeymoon suite! The shower was a little tempermental with hot water supply, but that was more than offset by the spacious room, great balcony, a/c and in-room safe. SOme of my travel mates got rooms in the lower level (2nd and 3rd levels are above grade) and thought they were ok.

Staying at Hotel California was a highlight of our tour!

Room Tip: Go through a travel agent for your reservation. Don't cheap out using an internet source. Beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SullyBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    146
    67
    37
    27
See reviews for
92
177
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The hotel and staff are great people. My buddies and I stayed with them two years and went back to hang out with them another year. The hotel is kept cleam and the staff can't do enough for you. A very pleasent stay with Beautiful views.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Thank you to all for another great visit to Quepos/Manuel Antonio. It is always a pleasure to stay here. A special “Thank You” to Jessie and Haylin and the rest to the rest of the staff in making my vacation a relaxing and peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Will definitely be back, all the staff was great, friendly and we still keep in contact. Room was like a studio over looking the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trev2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Decent hotel. Wifi available all over--not necessarily in all the rooms. Pool and restaurant are great. Rooms are clean; some ants from outside, but not much of a worry. Overall, I was pleased with the price of $50-70. Could not ask for more without paying a lot more money. I was offered a bottle of wine to do this survey, but I stand by my rating.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

In the rooms are cards where the staff try to bribe the guest to sput a good comment on tripadvisor!! You get a bottle of wine when you do so! So dont believe the people who have send good reviews, there is a good chance that they are laying to get a cheap bottle of wine.
The hotel is very old and urgently needs an update. The pool is dirty. The pics you see are very old i think. I was glad i could leave and will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank de_Jokke1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcal, Director of Sales at Hotel California, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear de_jokke1980.

Thank you for your review of your stay.
We are sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay as everything seems to have gone wrong.
We are surprised to hear this as we never got any feedback from you while you visited us and we invited all guest to write a review, good or bad as will help us to improve our services.
Feel free to stop by and have your free cheap bottle of wine as mentioned on your review.
Alonso Madrigal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Upon check-in, smoothies! Yes!!! the kids loved it. Everyone! was extremely helpful from checking in,planning activites, and helping me with the kids. The room was neat and clean and spacious for all of us( two kids,hubby, and me). The view! that's what a view is suppose to be. Looking out into paradise. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful every morning and lunch/dinner was served fresh and promptly and was not outrageously priced like meals usually are in hotels . Perfect place to stay. Loved it cant wait to head back to the beach. The GM was especially gracious and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritza078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#30 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing