We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here...”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My sister and I was staying here for some days during our trip in central America spring 2009.
I have to say it was the worst hotel experience i have ever had in my life.
The staff was horrible, the only guy that was nice and polite to us was a gentleman working in the reception in the hotel.
The worst experience we had was when we were eating breakfast at the hotel. The people working as waiters were nice enough until we understood that they were saying bad things and making fun of us in spanish while serving us the food!
What they didn´t know was that i understood what they were saying. When i replied to them in spanish they looked very troubled and started giving us compliments on our eye colour. We left the next morning and found a new place to stay...
I will absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0rwegian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcal, Director of Sales at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

The management thanks N0rwegian123 for taking the time to review Hotel California.

I would like to reply to this review so that other travelers may better understand his concerns.
We take all of our guest’s suggestions and complaints very seriously but our staff has been restructured, including management since November of 2009.
We are sorry this guest did not have a good experience back in 2009, meanwhile we kindly ask that you inform us while you are in the hotel if there is any inconvenience with our facilities and the staff during your visit to Manuel Antonio. We are happy to address such issues immediately. This appears to be avery isolated case in 2009.
We find it unusual that someone would wait a year and half to make such a complaint.

Hotel California
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2010

Great views from the 2nd and 3rd floors. Very pretty exterior. There is a two block walk uphill froom the bus stop, but it was easy to do. Has wi-fi in the open air lobby, plus a computer with Internet. Limited menu for dining.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrown2618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcal, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Dear Trip advisors reviewers.

Thank you for your kind words; we always try to make each stay a little different and special knowing everyone preferences.

We loved having you with us and we hope you will return soon.
Alonso Madrigal
Hotel Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

This hotel was booked by LatinAmerica4Less.com as part of a tour - run far away from them. The place was filthy with live and dead bugs everywhere - hundreds of them - even at eye level. The steep pathway to the room and the stairs were covered with slippery black slime and mold (hold on or you will fall. I saw someone get injured!) The smell of rotting leaves and decaying fruit that fell from the trees was everywhere - no one bothered to even sweep a little. The screens were torn, tile was falling off the walls, windows were not screwed into the frame (could easily be pushed in), remnants of broken towel racks left in the bathroom (no where to hang anything), food found between cushions on chairs, everything was old and musty, PADLOCKS to lock your room at night (major fire hazard!), DOGS roaming freely including inside the restaurant while you are eating and on the too steep & too long dirt-rock road you must walk from the street to get to the hotel. One jumped on me with paws that had been in the black slime. Yuck! You pass a barking, growling rotweiler on the way up and several private houses or shacks with screaming children and more loose dogs. Every time we said we were staying at Hotel California the local tour industry people looked at us with disbelief. (Note: they are trained to say good things and smile about everything but could not do it for this hotel.) This was our 1st tip-off that trouble was ahead. The taxi driver had to let the car fall backward into oncoming traffic 4 times just to have enough room to rev the engine to overcome the steepness of the dirt driveway - DANGEROUS! Pool was dirty, paint peeling almost everywhere. NO RUNNING WATER - hot or cold, on my last night there (so no working toilets!) Called front desk; Gerald said he was coming to check it out, never showed up or called. A worker said he just blew it off and went home. Food is mediocre at best. It is so far from the beach you must take the city bus. I could go on and on. If the owner posts a reply saying everything is OK dont believe him. The place is a dump. The hotel's own PR person told me it is a 2-star hotel, but even that is wishful thinking. DO NOT STAY HERE. There are so many better places in the area for same or less money.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasonedTraveller516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcal, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

Hotel California sincerely regrets that the couple that posted the disappointing review were not happy with our accommodations nor the Costa Rica in general.
We moved them to one of our ocean view rooms, when kindly Travel Excellence and LatinAmerica4less made us aware of the discomfort with their unit, we opted to move them closer up to the pool area.
As is typical of the weather here this time of year, we changed their room at around 5 pm, when it was raining. Unfortunately one of them slipped and fell as the ground was very wet.

Because of this situation, I personally spoke to her to call a doctor or take her to our local hospital, she said she was OK, also mention she did not trust Costa Rican’s processes and thank God she was leaving Costa Rica. We didn't know at the time that their experience in the country had been unsatisfactory from the beginning.
FYI, as compensation was given complimentary dinner for two in room service to avoid to go to the restaurant.
Additionally, I am shocked as to the comments concerning dogs and kids of our neighbors, back home do you have control of your neighbor’s kids and dogs?
As a hotel rule, pets are not allowed in our poolside restaurant, thank you for letting us know in your complaint.
Very unfortunate that it was not possible to solve it from the beginning, our mission is that each customer enjoys their stay with the hotel, in the area and especially in the country in general, but when they are at their end of traveling and destinations have not been met their expectations leaves us in a position that more efforts we make are not going to have positive results.
We apologize that we were not able to satisfy your needs.

Best regards,
Alonso Madrigal
Management representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Spent four nights at the hotel California this past may and was incredibly impressed. As a travel agent I'm always checking out the standards of the rooms, the pools, the food and the location for my clients and I would not hesitate to reccomend this one. The rooms were big, comfortable, and many have the most breathtaking ocean views. The pool was bright, clean and once again has that view. The food was some of the best I had on my whoie trip to Costa Rica, prepared to order right before our eyes - try the BBQ chicken, it's insane! The location is a little off the beaten path - if you're expecting it to be on the main road it's not, down a fairly steep gravel lane instead (I wouldn't walk it at night), but all the cab drivers know where it is, and this keeps it quiet. t's only a few minutes drive from downtown Quepos or the National Park anyway, so there's no complaints :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgentHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This hotel is located up a narrow gravel rocky road from the main road, they say 300 meters but it seems to be a lot more. The pool is nice but small, ther are not enough pool louge chairs and getting a pool towel is not easy. A taxi is amust to get anywhere from the hotel.

Avoid the garden rooms, be sure to get a room in the main building. The garden rooms are large but the air-conditioning is inadequate with no ceiling fans, no seating in the rooms.

The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoundRockBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcal, Management representative at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Dear Travel friends, Although Hotel California is open to constructive criticism in order to improve our standard of customer service; I would like to address this review to all my emplyees as well.

We feel to be honored of our location, but we do understand the preferences of our guest as well, FYI, taxi service is requiered to visit most of places of your interest in Manuel Antonio, Quepos area, with a minimum cost, This service can be arranged by our staff.

I hope travelers contemplating a visit to Hotel California, will contact us should they have any questions or concerns, as the satisfaction of our guests is very important to us.

Regards,
Alonso Madrigal
Management Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Though the hotel is not uber fancy, it is beautiful, clean, and the staff is totally helpful. Spirit airlines lost my bags in Floria, and the manager at Hotel California went above and beyond in helping get it back by making phone calls and speaking Spanish for me. The location is great - just a quick trip down the driveway to get to the beach (definitely get a 4WD vehicle, though). The breakfasts were AWESOME - plantains, coffee, rice, sausage, and fruit.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katlk782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We went to the hotel with the idea it would be one of the nicest hotels during our trip. We paid a lot for the room and got no service or good room in return. First of all the service was terrible, the waitresses were rude and didnt know how to speak english. Even ordering a coco-cola was too much effort for them. The rooms were ugly and old. So we would never go there again, for the same price you can go to the Hilton Double Tree Resort in Puntarenas. So hotel California is not worth the money... luckily we only had to stay there for two days.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelcal, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2010

Dear Trip Advisors visitors:

In response to your comment, the Hotel California has had a significant management change and is now being operated by the owner. We think you will find that the problems that have been experienced in the past have been addressed and we welcome the opportunity to serve you with the quality of service you deserve.

Best Regards,
Hotel California Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
467 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#30 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
578 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#23 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#33 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#41 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#25 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £54 - £687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing