We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Makanda by the Sea is a slice of heaven, hidden in the jungle hillside. The breakfast was incredible as monkey's joined us on our lanai. The swimming pool is the perfect temperature, and the poolside food was delicious. The rooms are exquisitely decorated, in a tropical and comfortable decor. The beds are so comfortable that it's difficult to want to get up and explore.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 and 8. Room 8 was very nice, below the pool, with a separate bedroom and a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    92
    32
    20
    19
See reviews for
40
394
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We loved this hotel! Villa 11 was amazingly perfect and secluded.
The breakfasts in bed was such a nice touch and the food was beyond good!
We had dinner in the resto which was tasty and also loved the pool and hottub.
Nice smoothies by the pool too!
It was a not to crazy walk to MA beach and then a 50 cent busride back easily. Also we loved the private beach as it was a cool trek to get there and we could swim without bringing a whole lot of stuff to guard.
We loved this area so much. It felt like a different trip from Arenal and Monteverde, which were also amazing...so the diversitiy was great.
This hotel was difficult to say anything negative about. Internet by the pool too and a free drink upon arrival were nice touches too as well as coffee in the room.
Aww, i miss it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just got back from a seven day stay at Makanda and LOVED it. First time to Costa Rica, the last day white faced monkeys were peeking over the roof at us about 10 feet from us! The staff was very helpful. The room was generally comfortable (the bed and pillows were fairly hard, though I tend to expect this with foreign travel.) We stayed in Villa #10-- very private and a beautiful view of the ocean.

As others have mentioned, the light comes in in the AM, but we like to get up early. The full refrigerator was nice to have in the villa, and the kitchen was sufficient, though we didn't cook. Everything was clean well taken care of.

The breakfasts were very good-- great fruit juice, fresh fruit, choices enough to keep us both happy.

The staff was very helpful, the service was great, and if we needed anything it was taken care of rapidly.

We did three tours -- spice farm, ATVs, and tour of the park, the hotel set them up and they all did well. My wife booked a massage in the room, though, and the masseusse never showed up! She was an outside person the hotel booked, so I don't blame it on the hotel... but I wouldn't recommend that service.

If you are motivated and in good shape, you can walk from there to places. It is steep and hot and humid, so dress comfortably and be prepared to sweat... even if you don't walk far. I think from the driveway to the top of the hill was a steep 600 meters or so, and there were several restaurants nearby and some shops and a supermarket, at the top of that it was flat. Walking into Quepos was harder, we did it only once (over 3 miles and hilly) but Quepos seemed more for the locals... Gran Escape was well worth it though. You could get a taxi ride anyplace you wanted too.

We were there the first week of April, just transitioning into rainy season, so it was nice most of the time but it rained every day (sometimes at night, and usually only a short time) so I think going earlier would be better.

Luis at the front gate was helpful, calling us after we asked to let us know when sloth and monkeys were around.

Because the property is small with 11 villas/studios, the pool was generally quiet... one day we had it to ourselves! And the pool, too, was clean, and well kept up, and nice.

The restaurant was very good... better than many of the local restaurants.

Room Tip: Villa #10 was perfect for us, and the one they chose to feature in Fodor's guide, though I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeT1nT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a week at Makanda, and miss it already. This Hotel is one of the nicest places we have ever been. You feel as though you are in a private jungle retreat. The staff was amazing, and go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are all secluded from one another and all have a gorgeous view of the jungle and ocean. Be prepared to do some walking. It is on a hillside so you are constantly walking up and down steps and inclines. This did not bother us at all, but I can see how it might bother others!

The only negative was the beach. We are beach people and when we walked the steep path down to the beach, and I mean STEEP, it was a little disapointing! Don't get me wrong...BEAUTIFUL, but not somewhere we would want to spend the day. We were well aware of this before choosing this hotel. We chose to take the daily 10am shuttle to the Manuel Antonio beach that is provided by the hotel. I only put this in my review, so that if you are looking for a beachfront resort look elsewhere. The infinity pool is a good replacement. We ended up there each evening to watch the amazing sunsets and the monkies playing in the tree tops. It was a nice way to end a nice long day at the beach or relax after an excursion.

We saw two different species of monkies as well as iguanas, a really scary prehistoric grasshopper, and a huge toad right on our doorstep. No matter what time of the day we were leaving the room, I always made my boyfriend go first...it became sort of a joke. You never knew what little animal may be waiting to say hello.

We can't say enough about the views and the grounds...just breathtaking! Just look at the photos I attatched.

The hotel delivers breakfast to your room every morning, on your schedule..very nice touch!We tried everything offered and everything was delicious. The banana-coconut pancakes/french toast were unbelievable!

Costa Rica in itself is a beautiful country, with warm smiling people. We tried many of the nearby restaurants, which all offered the freshest fish. We decided that the best mahi- mahi & red snapper were prepared at Bamboo Jam...which also provided us with some entertainment, it was salsa night! We don't salsa, but it looks fun and is fun to watch people who can! The best ceviche we had was at Raphael's Terraca. But, every restaraunt we went to was very good and resonably priced.

If your looking for a quiet getaway, and want to feel you are alone in paradise...this is the place!

We will definately be returning, no doubt about it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I searched far and wide for a hotel with reasonable rates and a beautiful view and I found it at Makanda by the sea. I was very impressed with the complex and privacy it offered. I took so many pictures of the beautiful sunsets and ocean views.

I stayed in studio #3 and the bathroom was recently renovated which isnt reflected on the website yet. Its a beautiful modern bathroom with bath and body products. The unit was spacious with floor to ceiling windows offering awesome views. I did not regret staying here once.

But I would not recommend this hotel if you have mobility issues. It does require lots of walking. Ie to the private beach of up the hill to the main part of town.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joniemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

An amazing hotel with breathtaking views. Vary comfortable. short walk to the beach. All three kinds of monkeys visited us every day. The staff are very helpful. Stay hear you will love it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork10011
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just returned from a really delightful stay at the Makanda hotel. It's a tiny hotel, with just 12 rooms/villas, but feels spacious and has all the services you could need of a larger hotel. You can not find a more beautiful natural setting- lush jungle around the property with incredible ocean views from the pool and all the rooms.

We stayed in Villa 1- highly recommended- spacious, nicely appointed, well decorated, giant wall of glass overlooking the ocean with large floor to ceiling glass doors that slide open so that you're just wide open to the forest. Large king sized bed, large kitchen.

They bring you breakfast to your room each day at a time of your choice- it's amazing sitting at your table looking out over the green rainforest and the ocean and watching colorful birds and butterflies go by, hearing the ocean waves. One morning a large group of monkeys went right by the windows.

There is a small beach down quite a steep hill, but it's much quieter and more relaxed than the crowded beaches in Manuel Antonio park. Great for swimming and relaxing.

The reception staff were super friendly and helpful, from helping us book a flight to calling us taxis, to giving us tips on where to eat.

The pool area was beautiful and never too crowded. There is a nice restaurant by the pool (and you can order frozen cocktails and your lunch for example without ever leaving your pool chair if you prefer). We had dinner there one night and it was quite good.

Overall, loved it and would go back again any time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyork10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Property: Makanda by the Sea
Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing