We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot say enough good things...”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Wow! What an amazing property! This was our second stop on our adventure around Costa Rica, for our Honeymoon, and we will be back someday! Makanda by the Sea is just a gem. Having your own private villa set in the rainforest, overlooking the ocean, doesn't get much better.. but wait, then your breakfast is delivered fresh everyday and the monkeys come to visit in the afternoon! The wait staff at the pool bar are fantastic and also gave us great recommendations for eating outside the resort. Not to mention, the restaurant is amazing by the pool as well. We made some wonderful memories in the Manuel Antonio area and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Deluxe Studio 11 is very private and worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at Makanda in Nov of 2013 with my girlfriend for 3 days. Absolutely loved the atmosphere, rooms, food, and location. Service was very excellent and made us feel welcome and helped us plan a excursion, delivered food, breakfast included (+fresh juice). The pool was very nice (infinity overlooking the ocean) + hot tub. Room (Villa #1) was incredible, amazing views (huge windows) great kitchen, living room and comfy bed. Definitely will return as the location is super prime and walking distance from two beaches (public + private) + a solid restaurant on property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We agree with all the positive reviews of this place. Our room (more like a an apartment) was large, comfortable and had a stunning view of the Pacific Ocean beyond forest packed with wild life. For example we were visited one morning by a band of capuchin monkeys displaying their acrobatic skills in the trees around our room.
The staff take the need for security (common to all the hotels in this area) very seriously and we felt safe throughout our stay.
A delicious breakfast was served on our terrace every morning.
The infinity swimming pool is fantastic.
The beaches close to the hotel are stunning and the climb back up the hill good for the soul.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My friends and I stayed at Makanda By The Sea in January 2014. We had adjoining suites, both with gorgeous sweeping views of the Ocean, and nestled in the lush foliage of the Costa Rica "jungle". The property is very secure. Our rooms, spacious, very comfortable, and well maintained. The pool absolutely stunning. And the service excellent. We loved Makanda and highly recommend it if you are visiting Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: I stayed in Suite #3, which is technically a studio, but very large, and with a very large, luxuriou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimJDolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

........parrots, toucans, agoutis and 3 different species of monkeys around our Villa #8. Makanda has more wildlife than we saw in Manuel Antonio National Park. The villa was private, it had an awesome view down a valley to the ocean. I swam and floated around all by myself under a gorgeous full moon it the incredible Makanda pool. Luxury and jungle, love it.
The staff were super helpful, there were a lot of people working there to make our stay memorial. I wish we had booked our whole vacation at Makanda, but we moved around a bit in Manuel Antonio. The bed and linens were heaven, one day I just crawled back in, I had opened all the balcony doors (the whole width of the villa) so as to watch the jungle go by.
Definitely stay here, it's magical.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I loved every single moment at Makanda Hotel. Its gorgeous rooms, its decoration, its privacy and service! Staff at the pool were Incredibly nice and polite! I would like to thank Christopher Kelly for being so prefessional, he knows how to fulfill guests wishes and also knows his metier pefectly!! I am looking forward to spend my holidays again next year at this paradise on earth! Memo Schmage, Berlin Germany!

Das Einzige was mir einfällt dieses Hotel zu beschreiben ist "Ein Paradies auf Erden"

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Memo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent Christmas week at Makanda and did not want to leave. It is a quiet, secluded place with awesome views, an awesome infiniti pool, and an awesome staff, especially poolside. We could have spent the week in our hammock. Or by the pool. Or at the beach (either the private beach, which is very private, or the public beach a hop skip and a jump away, which had great people watching). The on-site restaurant was good, but there are many additional dining options just up the road (especially Cafe Milagro). On a scale of 1-10, Makanda is an 11. We will go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
555 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,511 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £214 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing