We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a hotel”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a huge luxurious room with a stunning view. Breakfast is ordered the night before and served in the room. There is a lovely pool complex. But the hotel has no real heart. The bar by the pool has a few temporay-looking canopies and that is the restaurant. There is nothing else except a reception/office. There are no grounds to walk around. The food is only OK - quantity rather than quality. Depends what you want - we didn't like it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in Villa 1, which is a large, high ceiling modern space with a stunning view high above the Pacific. We had an attractive kitchen area (where we made coffee) and a nice bath. We had a four poster netting covered (for effect only, I believe) king sized bed. On arrival, the bed spread had flower petals in a heart design. We were about a half a block down tropical paths from the lovely pool/dining area that we really enjoyed. The dinner sunset views were very romantic. The burger for lunch at the pool was memorable.

Room Tip: Villa 1 has superb views but no outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This restaurant has been recommended to me on two different trips to Costa Rica. I've tried three times now and it's never open. Not easy to find, no signs on the highway. Perhaps it is just open for hotel guests.

Room Tip: suggest you try the Alma Hotel in Esterillos.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Leaper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Specially during holiday season Manuel Antonio is a crowded, noisy and not very amusing place.
So you will be happy to stay in a quiet and peaceful retreat.
And what an outstanding retreat Makanda is!
Studio with overwhelming sea views, great breakfasts on private terrace, beautiful and spacious japanese style furnished rooms, pool with tremendous sea views as well and pool bar service whole day through, excellent restaurant.
N.P. is famous for endangered squirrel monkey. But we haven´t seen these cute mammels in the N.P., but close to the pool of Macanda- feeding in the trees. Same experience with toucans and lots of other birds.
Private beach just a steep 10min- hike down the hill through beautiful secondary forest- should not be missed.
Great staff both at reception and poolside restaurant- thanks guys, you made us feel like at home!
Well worth the couple of $$ more- highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: studio 4 has outstanding sea- views and is close enough to pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We had fantastic ocean views as well as view to flowers, trees ....and 'guests' in the treetops: monkeys, birds. Room tip: some of the villas are near the reception/gate/road. Here you get more artificial light, more 'domestic' noise and noise from the road. Go for the rooms which are further away from these area

The whole area of Manuel Antonio is very steep, not suited for people whose legs or heart don't work properly. Also at Makanda many steps to the rooms, the restaurant, pool etc.

Rooms are spacious, well equipped and are kept nice and clean. Fresh tropical flowers. The housekeeper impresses with towelart :-)

Good food , Breakfast served In the villa. If you are off somewhere early, order it the evening before

Lovely private beach , 10 minutes steep uphill back home is really worth it. The pool is also very nice, and the service the very best. Also not a very long walk to Manuel antonio public beach and National park entrance. To avoid walking uphill back home, catch the bus which runs every half hour AND walk downhill the last fee meters from the mainroad.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Wow! What an amazing property! This was our second stop on our adventure around Costa Rica, for our Honeymoon, and we will be back someday! Makanda by the Sea is just a gem. Having your own private villa set in the rainforest, overlooking the ocean, doesn't get much better.. but wait, then your breakfast is delivered fresh everyday and the monkeys come to visit in the afternoon! The wait staff at the pool bar are fantastic and also gave us great recommendations for eating outside the resort. Not to mention, the restaurant is amazing by the pool as well. We made some wonderful memories in the Manuel Antonio area and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Deluxe Studio 11 is very private and worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at Makanda in Nov of 2013 with my girlfriend for 3 days. Absolutely loved the atmosphere, rooms, food, and location. Service was very excellent and made us feel welcome and helped us plan a excursion, delivered food, breakfast included (+fresh juice). The pool was very nice (infinity overlooking the ocean) + hot tub. Room (Villa #1) was incredible, amazing views (huge windows) great kitchen, living room and comfy bed. Definitely will return as the location is super prime and walking distance from two beaches (public + private) + a solid restaurant on property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
555 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,510 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £214 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing