We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely furnished, comfortable rooms with good privacy, lush views, and fantastic food”
Review of Villas Nicolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Nicolas
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nicely furnished, comfortable rooms with good privacy, lush views, and fantastic food”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My girlfriend and I looked at rooms in 4 hotels in Manuel Antonio (2 more expensive, 1 less expensive) before deciding on Villas Nicolas. The receptionist was friendly, parking was convenient, and the room was very nicely furnished for the price. Plus it had great privacy. The pool is nice, though Manuel Antonio is all about the beach anyway...

The restaurant at the Villas Nicolas, El Rancho, is fantastic. I wouldn't describe the menu prices as inexpensive, but they seem reasonable given the quality of the food. We ate there 3 out of 4 nights in Manuel Antonio and had some of the best cocktails, appetizers, meals, and desserts we have ever had, plus the staff of both the villas and restaurant are all very personable. We tried 3 other restaurants in Manuel Antonio throughout our stay and El Rancho was by far our favorite.

The villas have different owners (managed by one set of staff, so it still "feels" like a hotel) and the furnishings/layout vary accordingly - we stayed in two rooms with different decors and I liked each of their styles very much. In both cases the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were nicely done with large showers. One of the villas we stayed at had a nice, large hammock.

Parking is ample and convenient. We came and went often throughout our stay and the only time we found the parking lot full was when a maintenance worker had parked in the lot; in that case the staff had him move his car very quickly so we could park.

The view from the rooms we stayed at was tropical foliage in one case and foliage plus sea view in another. We didn't see many wild animals at the villas but they were probably around - you're bound to see capuchin monkeys if you go to the beach at Manuel Antonio.

Although you could walk to the beach from Villas Nicolas, it's a bit of a hike - especially on the uphill way back when it's literally a hike. I recommend driving to the beach or taking a cab - walking can be dangerous due to the narrow road, blind curves, and slippery, moss-covered shoulders. Also, don't pay too much for a cab ride to/from the beach - ask the hotel staff what it should cost you!

Here is a tip for any stay at Manuel Antonio: Go to the beach and compare prices on activities before you book them through a hotel, it might save you money.

Room Tip: Room 7-Down has great privacy but no terrace. Room 10 also has great privacy, a hammock and a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    122
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
66
209
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Villas Nicholas was our last stop in CR. The property is beautiful. The rooms are not huge, but the terrace is at least the same size as the room, and we spent most of our room time there. The food was wonderful, so we ended up eating dinner there more than planned. (However, breakfast each day was exactly the same.) Staff were great in booking re booking a rafting trip for us when the company cancelled when we were not around. (The hotel is on top of a hill so if you are going to one of the several beaches on foot, plan on going straight downhill one way and straight uphill the other!) Staff directed us to a beautiful secluded beach we reached through an unmarked trail through the woods. The only potential downside...If you are allergic to cats, you should think twice. There's cats hanging out on the property, and we became quite friendly with Gato who hung out in a chair on our terrace most of the time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLFabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a budget of around $150 for a night stay on the mountain here in Manuel Antonio. Prefer a view but don't care for high class culture, just want a chill place - this was it. Warm welcome, then checked out a few of the dozen or so cabinas with varying views of the ocean that are on the mountain slope with jungle paths connecting the property. It is amazing that there are so many developments on this mountain but yet you feel that you are in the middle of the jungle. Anyway, oh, the chef and food were bombbb! It was relieving to just be able to eat here on the balcony rather than go around town looking for food.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 the higher up you stay the more degrees of view you will have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our room was 3-up, cozy and clean. We loved the large balcony with a view of the ocean and a cute porcupine lodging in our rafters! The breakfasts were tasty and Alexandria and Julio were helpful in arranging transportation for us and taking care of some burned-out light bulbs in a timely manner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had Villas #8 and #11. It's a beautiful, quaint property with a great ambiance. We ate dinner there one night and it was wonderful. The rooms are beautiful with awesome views! We loved this place and would never stay anywhere else if we have a chance to go back to CR!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philomath, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had room #9 which was perfect for our family of four, lots of space for everyone. The rooms were super clean, well appropriated kitchen and the property was well maintained. The view from the terrace was amazing and we were able to see monkeys swinging through the trees below one morning. As others have said, the staff are extremely friendly and willing to go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool in the afternoon and visiting with other guests and my husband had a massage one afternoon poolside. The location is at the top of the hill, easily walkable to many restaurants and the grocery store. You can also take the bus into Quepos or to the beach. if you want to do excursions, ask any of the staff and they can book for you. The Manuel Antonio guide they use, Henry was amazing. He was constantly spotting animals while other guides walked on by. Even our teenage boys who aren't easily impressed were very impressed with Villas Nicholas and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Really friendly staff and site. Great apartment with full kitchen and terrace. Great for making cocktails and watching the sun set. Very happy with our 3 night stay. Is also close to restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesfamily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Property: Villas Nicolas
Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6130, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing