We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with ocean view and monkeys on the roof”
Review of Villas Nicolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Nicolas
Certificate of Excellence
Nimes France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with ocean view and monkeys on the roof”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with ocean view, nice swimming pool, good kitchen. Room was gorgeous. Nice big covered terrace. Monkeys were playing on the roof and in the trees. Good wifi, Coffee machine and fridge.
A hotel to come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    123
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
66
210
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We spent six nights here over Christmas week and felt at home in paradise. As other reviewers attest, the well-kept villas are comfortable, nicely furnished, and have views from the roomy verandahs that are as soothing as they are spectacular. Who couldn't love waking up to the sight of the Pacific, shuffling into the kitchen to put on some local "1820" coffee, and sipping it out on the verandah while the jungle wakes up with you? What most impressed me about Villas Nicolas is the fine balance it achieves: the property is small in terms of number of guest rooms, which gave us an exclusive sense of privacy, yet we didn't feel isolated, as there was ample opportunity to mingle with the other guests at breakfast and around the lovely pool -- which is usually very laid back until the monkeys pay a visit, as they seem to do once a day, circling above in the coconut trees surrounding it. The staff is friendly and helpful, yet low-key and not intrusive. The small on-site restaurant is set on a patio by the pool and serves a simple but ample breakfast of fruit, rice, beans and eggs and is a very good choice for dinner. There are quite a few other very nice restaurants within easy walking distance (we enjoyed Café Milagro, Emilio's, La Barba Roja, and El Gato Negro). We had a car, but didn't use it to get around locally. We either walked (carefully) along the road or hopped on the reliable Quepos-Manuel Antonio bus (which goes right to the beach and national park). Although the parking is adjacent to the property, it is right off the road, which gave me some concern at first, as I had read about car break-ins being a problem in (otherwise charming) Costa Rica. But the parking area is well lit and Villas Nicolas has an overnight security guard who seems to keep a close eye on things, so we departed with our bodies relaxed, minds refreshed, and car unscratched.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StoutPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We loved our stay here!! Our room was clean and spacious with a large balcony and a lovely seating area which were perfect to watch the sunset. We had a wildlife show each evening from our balcony, from displaying toucans on a nearby tree to the acrobatics of a group of squirrel monkeys jumping from tree to tree through the grounds. The food was lovely (recommend the pan sheared tuna in the restaurant and the cacique sour cocktail in the bar). The staff were friendly and helpful. We want to return to Costa Rica someday and when we do we will be returning to Villas Nicholas.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. We stayed in 3up and it was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Villas Nicolas is a condo hotel on the road to the Parque National Manual Antonio. The rooms (I stayed in 2 of them), were lovely. The furnishings were nice, the bed was comfortable, the rooms were clean and the bathrooms were clean & spacious. There was plenty of hot water. The views from the rooms were spectacular, looking out over the trees to the ocean. Sunsets were gorgeous. All the rooms were on the hillside, a downslope from the street, so each room had a view.
The grounds of the Villas Nicolas were lush and beautiful. Pathways around flower beds, by the dining room and pool made me feel like in was in a tropical paradise. Breakfast, included in the price of the room, was delicious, and was served in the patio dining area adjacent to the pool.
I loved my stay at Villas Nicolas, and have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good from what I observed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sculptor-for-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were on a family vacation with our grown kids. Both rooms were excellent with a verandah, hammocks, seating area overlooking the ocean. Basic breakfasts are included. The restaurant serves good seafood. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and several more 10 or 15 minutes by foot.
The staff is very friendly. Miguel at the front office is a fount of information and books tours with the best operators. We were not disappointed by any of them.

Room Tip: Every room is good, but we would recommend the more expensive suites. Each unit has an up and down a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi-Anjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here on December 16, 2013 and had a great time. The hotel and grounds is so beautiful and Julio and everyone who works there are so nice and helpful. They let us arrive early, upgraded us, helped us book a number of (last minute) tours, and were overall so friendly. We stayed in a number of different hotels while touring Costa Rica, and this one had the nicest rooms (separate bedroom, living room, balcony), the views of the water and rain forest are breathtaking, and it was a great value. I would recommend anyone in Manuel Antonio to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Unequaled value in the area these fully functional apartment s include all the necessary amenities should you decide to stay a day, a week, a month ir longer. Within walking distance of numerous restaurants, the casino and shops this collection of villas is right in the middle of everything. Even being in the right spot, you won't hear street noises, barking dogs or daylight Rooster crows. Ask for Room 8 or the higher level rooms and you will gave spectacular vista views of the Pacific Ocean. No need to go anywhere but on your balcony for the best sunsets in the area. The Monkey Highway (my term) is right in front if you. Laying in your hammock in the early mirning will get you visually involved with monkeys, birds, iguanas and frogs. There is a beautiful swimming grotto. The restaurant has a wonderful selection of the freshest local seafoods as well as other tasty dishes. The staff will help you with booking trips, advising you of local activities and are very gelpful.

Room Tip: My first visit. Room 8. loved it....might try a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazrlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,020 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Property: Villas Nicolas
Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6130, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villas Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing