We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as good as it gets”
Review of Villas Nicolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Nicolas
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“as good as it gets”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a week's stay at villas Nicolas. Having visited ten years earlier we decided to spend our anniversary there. It was even more beautiful than we had remembered. The gardens were lush and spectacular, our suite had sunset ocean views with a most comfortable hammock, and the onsite restaurant served delicious food at great prices. We found the staff to be helpful and extremely friendly, offering suggestions for day trips and taking care of bookings for tours and transportation. Monkeys came to visit nearby trees almost daily and the bird life was incredible. Exotic butterflies flitted around our outside deck while strange and wonderful insects wandered about to be marveled at...we plan on making a visit to Villas Nicolas an annual anniversary celebration...keep up the good work...it's an awesome place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    122
    24
    13
    10
See reviews for
66
209
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had an amazing stay at Villas Nicolas. It is a small cozy property with great views and tons of wildlife visible from your deck. We were in a Type 3 suite which was more like an apartment with kitchen, livingroom etc. A Costa Rican breakfast was included in the rate and it was very tasty. The management and staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had had to cancel a previous reservation because of an accident. The management agreed to waive the cancellation policy upon proof and gave us a free upgrade ! We love the place and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lupita Ann S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We travelled around Costa Rica for 3 weeks in December and villas Nicolas was supposed to be a treat at the end of our stay.

When we arrived we were initially blown away - spectacular views, huge terrace, we were looking forward to our 5 night stay.

However on closer inspection of our room we found cobwebs, dusty pillowcases and dirty floors. We went out for dinner and when we returned we found our room crawling with insects and lizards. On inspecting the walls we saw cracks and holes confirming the villa was not adequately maintained.

We're not fussy travellers having both back packed around the world. before manuel antonio we stayed in 3* accommodation in CR. I understand the climate of Costa Rica is tropical and we encountered the odd bit of wildlife in other Eco lodges we stayed in. However our room was crawling in bugs..,so much so we felt uncomfortable and couldn't sleep. We called our uk travel agent who directed us to the local office who advise they do not directly book with villas Nicolas as they have had issues in the past and you won't get a refund...they were right. In the morning we complained and advised we wanted to leave due to the state of the room. we were offered no explanation, apology or refund. Weleft and moved accommodation. Thankfully we took photos as suggested by the local agent and have been issued a refund since returning home.

I hope villas Nicolas upgrade and maintain the villas because the scenery and location is great. Customer service issues should also be addressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thefixer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slitherCR, General Manager at Villas Nicolas, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
I am not quite sure why a guest who apparently stayed with us 6 months ago is posting a review now...in June.
I have no way of knowing if they in fact did stay with us as we have no complaint record of their "Horrific Stay" . I have a very small staff here ( 2 besides myself in the reception) and none of us recalls any kind of complaint of this kind. I was not contacted either by these guests or their agent. We do work with a European Agency & they inspect us regularly . We are a favourite property of theirs and have been for years.
We endeavor to make our guests'stay with us as enjoyable as possible . We try to address any and all reasonable issues to the best of our ability. There could be a backstory here which we have no control over. So please, read our reviews and judge for yourself.
Our reviews are very favourable are they not ?. Most of our guests love Villas Nicolas and over the years, many have become return guests who see us as their Costa Rican home away from home.
Horrific ? Hmmmmm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a type two room here which was high up on the hillside.Lovely room with an enormous deck and extensive view over the rainforest and out to the ocean and islands beyond. Great for birdwatching (toucans!) and right on the bus route for the national park just a few minutes away. Hearty breakfast, very courteous and helpful staff, and a very good restaurant for dinner. Hotel gets regular visits from white-faced monkeys and howler monkeys which are very entertaining. Wildlife reserve across the street has a lovely butterfly garden and a very good night tour. Good choice of other restaurants and a small supermarket nearby with all the essentials. Hotel will organize tours and guides. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My boyfriend and I checked into Villa Nicolas 3/30/14. This was a birthday trip for him so I had emailed the staff before arriving asking for a room with a great view...they went above and beyond to help and responded very quickly through email regarding my request.
Our actual room was tiny but since we weren't planning on spending much time in there it was perfect. The patio was to die for...very very large and had a hammock, patio furniture, ceiling fan and lighting.The patio was also very private being that it was wooden blinds to block out any other views from the rooms to the sides of you. The hotel also had a pool which was great to take a dip in after a day at the beach, we were the only ones in the pool area so it was very quiet and relaxing.
The actual hotel was situated between great restaurants and close to the local bus stop. The bus was less than $1 to take down to the beach.
We had dinner at the restaurant located in Villa Nicolas. The bartender, Laura, made me the BEST coconut margaritas I've ever had...the chef prepared delicious and our sever was very very friendly.
:)

Great hotel and restaurant...MUST see if you're staying in Manuel Antonio!!!

Room Tip: We requested a room away from the street and with a great view. We were given 8 up and had terrific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caitlinfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have stayed at the Villas Nicholas two different stays. Each time was over the top amazing. The food (my favorite the pork tenderloin) was exceptional, the staff was very attentive, and the pool and grounds are kept in tip top shape. We loved sitting out on our private lanai listing to the birds and watching the monkeys in the trees. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuggedLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

After an unsuccessful deep sea fishing trip, we were sunburnt, tired and overall grumpy. We decided to treat ourselves and luckily stumbled upon Villas Nicolas. This place was great. The room was immaculate, and was nicely furnished. There was even a porch area with a hammock that some white face monkeys visited.
The villa we were in was surrounded by green, and in the distance you had the ocean that you could clearly see the sunset as well. Awesome experience, and if I am ever back in CR, I would do it again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spax0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,191 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Property: Villas Nicolas
Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6130, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing