We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful dinner experience”
Review of Emilio's Cafe

Emilio's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Central American, Cafe, Costa Rican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful dinner experience”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We discovered this little place quite by accident and we were not disappointed.. Food was excellent. (Chicken Currie, Yum!) service was good and my sweet tooth travel buddy raved about the Mud Pie for dessert. An all round good experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    349
    92
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience ever”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Carlos took exceptional care of us, every meal was phenomenal, the desserts turned me to mush. The price was perfect. The music-true jazz and the ragtime turning point-made us sink into our chairs and lit up our evening. We never even saw the view. We didn't have to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lostangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We enjoyed a nice meal and view one evening at the cafe. I had a salad and my husband had the mackerel. It was one of our favorite meals during our weeks stay in Costa Rica. The prices were very reasonable. We had the carrot cake for dessert- not a cream cheese frosting which was a little disappointing. We got there when it was still light out and had a great view of the park and beaches below. Our waiter was very friendly and answered any questions we had. They were out of some items but still had plenty of options. Tap water was fine to drink. I think they only took colones.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpodskoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“French Toast, yum”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This simple place has an incredible view. We went there for breakfast. My husband declared that they had the best coffee he had in Costa Rica. Although my husbands waffles were nothing to write home about, the french toast was the best I have had. It was made with bread that was so light and pillowy with a sweet crunch on the outside. They had a very small menu, but I can't imagine you would get anything better than the french toast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This quickly became our favorite place in Manuel Antonio and we tried to visit it as much as we could in our short 8 day stay. The view truly takes your breath away. The coconut macaroons are perfection. The cafe con leche is wonderful. There's nothing more to say. Just go. This place should not be missed! Make it part of your itinerary!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennyleedalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emilio's Cafe also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Emilio's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing