We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, great service, but nothing exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
GreenLeadersGold level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful, great service, but nothing exceptional”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Yes, the pool is lovely and has a nice view, but I think it would be hard to find a hotel on this road that doesn't, so the fact that there are no spa-like facilities (Jacuzzi or sauna) ends up making it an entry-level luxury hotel.
Service is great, breakfast at the restaurant-bar next to the pool,with the gorgeous view of the ocean is great, but as there is no sunset view this is not a place for evening drinks.
The rooms are clean and spacious, the shower is excellent, but the bed is not to my liking - boxed springs but the kind that has a very hard surface, like there's a wood plank at the top, instead of a pillow-top which could be easily expected from this type of hotel.
Basically we had a good time but if we go back to Manoel Antonio (which I hope to, as it's a fantastic destination), I'd choose a hotel on the other road, that has sunset views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to have a chance at a view. We got a lower ground floor room and wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ediane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    192
    85
    35
    18
See reviews for
276
415
61
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed there many times in the 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Its a great choice - search it on vrbo or flipkey. You pay less than hotel and has a fully functional apartment with all hotel facilities (restaurant with 20% discount, swimming pool access for free any time). The location is nice - most apartments offer direct ocean view (some intermitted by the high trees) and you have all sorts of monkeys and birds passing by daily - you will likely be woken up at 5 am by howler monkeys and see both capucins and titis during the day.

Room Tip: Pick penthouse 331 or apartment 310 - tested both, very well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgueni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Dear Evgueni I,

thanks a lot for your review. We are happy that you like spending your vacation in one of our condos.

Please let us know when you are coming back again, so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautifully decorated condo with modern furnishings. Large ample rooms and bathrooms. Patios off every room with stellar views. No laundry in our unit. Wi-Fi at the pool. Beautiful views and howler monkeys/sloths can be seen and heard from pools and patios. On sight bar & restaurant. Biesanz beach within walking distance. Good security. Very close to the Man. Ant. NP-approx. 1.5 km. Good parking available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgomez2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Dear mgomez2468,

thanks for the review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice time in one of our condos and enjoyed seeing some wildlife.

If you are planning on coming back again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Shana is a very nice hotel. The rooos are clean, the restaurant is very very nice,with a nice design and colorfull lights,the pool is clean and the stuff takes cre of everybody. The food is good, and i specialy like the nature and the sea view!!! 2 days in Shana were wonderfull!! And another advantage is that the beach is at 7 minuts (walking) from the hotel. Foe sure i will be back there one day!!!!

Room Tip: deluxe room is perfect! and the suit is very nice,if u are a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavelbeatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Dear pavelbeatrice,

thanks for the great review.
We are happy to hear that you had a great time in Shana and that you enjoyed the nature and sea view.

Please let us know when you are coming back to Shana , so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are spotless with modern decor. Grounds are surrounded by lush greenery, in a jungle-tropical settting.
Hotel is in close proximity to fun activities like zip-lining and white water rafting.
The hotel staff was very accommodating and even helped to organize an exciting, ATV ride through the jungle where there was a beautiful, hidden waterfall!
The hotel restaurant was great. The chef prepared fresh, authentic meals that were absolutely delicious.
Can't wait for my next trip in December!!
Happy traveler from California

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Dear Ahardia,

thanks a lot for your review. We are very happy that you love Shana and already came back to the hotel in December.

If you are planning on coming back again another time, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay at! It is absolutely a beautiful vacation spot. The management and staff were nothing but polite and accommodating my whole trip. Beautiful rooms, pool area, and unbelievable views. I would recommend this place to anyone and would definitely stay as a guest again myself.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuLu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Dear LuLu D,

thanks for the great review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Shana and liked our service.

If you are planning on coming back to Shana, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel. The staff members were extremely accommodating and friendly. Excellent spa and great pool. Very clean rooms and delicious food. We enjoyed the private location and the stunning views. Visiting the National Park was an amazing experience. We will definitely consider visiting again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 548Minerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Dear 548Minerva,

thanks for the good review.
We are glad that you had a nice time staying in Shana and enjoyed the spa and pool.

If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,211 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa

Property: Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Address: Carretera Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing