We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mansion Inn(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villas El Parque(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mandarina(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveller rating
886
232
102
42
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
886
232
102
42
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricapool areabiesanz beachsmall beachjunior suiteexcellent hotelrain showergolf cartpura vidasteep hillwi fiocean viewhappy hourour honeymoonbeautiful propertynational parknice pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
641 - 646 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I went for a couple nights to a villa; rooms huge and comfortable.
Restroom clean, big and nice.
The living room is ok and the kitchen is great, there is a bar to serve drinks :) and a tall refrigerator.

Around you have the beauty Manuel Antonio town, with the Nice National Park, also several beaches near by; there is one small and so quiet close to the Hotel (you can go just walking about 10 mins), it is just nice to pass the afternoon there.

The pool and the restaurant are also good, define a great place to get back sooner

Pura vida

Room Tip: Just try to find a room close to the pool, the place is in a hill.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slym-Ben-Mida, Manager at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear sir ,

we are all very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.we thank you very much for you review and we are looking forward to see you again in Costa rica .

Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you are traveling with ur couple is the perfect romantic getaway, the hotel offers luxury, world class fine dining, minimalist style suites, a lovely pool with stunning views from the Pacific Ocean & great spa services also Biezans Beach is just 5 min walk from the hotel and it takes less than 10 minutes drive to get to Manuel Antonio National Park. the atmosphere is pretty relaxed & chill meaning that this hotel is ideal for families as well, I really loved the service & the lighting at night from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Superior room will be perfect for couples, Deluxe are more spacious in case ur traveling with your family, I stayed in the Junior suite that offers a lovely balcony and awesome bathroom ( bathtub - rainshower )
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slym-Ben-Mida, General Manager at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Madam ,

All Shana hotel's team thank you for your review.We are all proud of having met your expectations and of having been part of making your stay in Costa Rica unforgettable.We all look forward of welcoming you again in our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We rented a large condo at the Shana Residences through Homeaway. Very clean, great views and awesome AC. Pool and hot tub were nice. It is close to to great beaches. One is 10 minute easy walk (protected beach for swimming) and one is about a 25 minute challenging walk. (Good waves here) Road to condo is a about 2k from main area and winding and a bit scary to walk due to all the traffic. We took a lot of cabs or better to have a car. We did not eat at the hotels restaurant so don't know what the food is like. We saw a good group of monkeys off our balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ejworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Dear ejworden,

thanks for the review. We are glad that you had a nice time staying in one of our condos and that you got lucky seeing the monkeys.

If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay at Shana.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My perants and I stayed at the shana hotel for 4 days. Over all it was ok our 2nd night the manager told us that he would like to show us the presidential suite the next day as it was too late to go there that evening. The next day when we saw him he made no mention of this he then also offered us a free drink without telling the bar men about it and we were askes to pay. We made arrangements to have spa treatments done after our tour. The manager himself made the appointment. When coming from our tour we went to the spa and only my dad could get a treatment because the other lady was not there as the manager promised us. When trying to get hold of him.he was nowhere to be found. When we went for dinner the evening no apology was given we had to ask him what and why. the next day it was raining and we decided to leave earlier. When I called the front desk the manager answered and I aked him to please call a cab.when we got to the reception which was on top of the hill. There was no cab . He did not call the cab .we had to wait 20 before a cab came this made us late. Thanks to Carlos the receptionist for calling the cab. Apon waiting for the cab the spa lady that was supposed to be there came by. She had bleach blond hair and looked like she just came from a strip club or eirked at one after seeing that. I am glad we canceled our treatment. Overall it was ok. But was very disappointed in the managers empty promises. We will not be returning

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Yes, the pool is lovely and has a nice view, but I think it would be hard to find a hotel on this road that doesn't, so the fact that there are no spa-like facilities (Jacuzzi or sauna) ends up making it an entry-level luxury hotel.
Service is great, breakfast at the restaurant-bar next to the pool,with the gorgeous view of the ocean is great, but as there is no sunset view this is not a place for evening drinks.
The rooms are clean and spacious, the shower is excellent, but the bed is not to my liking - boxed springs but the kind that has a very hard surface, like there's a wood plank at the top, instead of a pillow-top which could be easily expected from this type of hotel.
Basically we had a good time but if we go back to Manoel Antonio (which I hope to, as it's a fantastic destination), I'd choose a hotel on the other road, that has sunset views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to have a chance at a view. We got a lower ground floor room and when we asked to change, were told none of the hotel rooms had ocean views, only the timeshare ones...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ediane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews