We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home- but in the jungle”
Review of Hostel Plinio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Plinio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hostel Plinio is my number one choice in Manuel Antonio! I recently used Plinio as our lodging for a large group of volunteers and we had a fantastic time. The owners and staff are great: helpful, accomodating and have a very 'Pura Vida' and easy going way of making you feel right at home.
The surroundings are gorgeous, the rooms are spacious, the beds are comfy....no hot water but guys...this is Costa Rica!
The location is great if you want a calm and relaxing stay, the pool and the restaurant below are great for relaxed lounging:)
The only recommendation I would have is to provide guests the chance to buy simple snacks and drinks, toiletries etc...on site.
Highly recommend Hostel Plinio....enjoy Manuel Antonio and live la pura vida!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaFrancecita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Hostel Plinio was shockingly stunning! My friend and I stayed in a few other hostels before landing here and we ended up staying for the remainder of our trip. The owners did an amazing job creating this little paradise. The hostel cascades down the side of a jungle filled mountain, so there were a few sets of stairs to get to your room, but the staff will graciously help you with your bags and the view is 100% worth it!! The maids were very nice and principled - even chasing me down while I was checking out because I left a tank top hanging over a chair. The pool was perfect when you didn't want to take the bus to the beach. It was quiet, relaxing, & great for sunbathing! Nature is definitely in abundance here. We saw monkeys, toucans, & iguanas during our stay along with several other types of lizards, frogs, & birds. Our room was fantastic - 3 floors. First floor was the living room/bathroom, second floor was the beds, third was a screened in balcony with views of the jungle on one side and the ocean on the other. When I travel back to Manuel Antonio, this will be the first place I will stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Hostel Plinio was a good stay for the amount we paid. It was affordable and got the job done. We stayed in a spacious private room. Unfortunately, there was no hot water, air conditioning, or enough lighting at night. The beds were large but uncomfortable. The hostel was fairly close to the beach, a 10-15 minute bus ride. Breakfast is included and there is a pool on the property. The reception and rooms are high up, so you need to climb a long set of stairs (which proved difficult with large bags). The rooms were clean though and the view was spectacular. It is manageable, and a decent price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I just visited the hostel with a volunteer group of 13 others and we all loved it. The rooms were spacious to fit all 14 of us and more. It was nice to pay a small amount but still have a three floor room with sea views!!!

Staff was also very helpful, as they catered for my group's every need such as clearing their reception to let us learn salsa at the hotel. What's more is there is a pool that is in association with the hostel that you can use at any time.

Overall I would recommend this hostel for any traveler as it is spacious, clean and has all the amenities (pool, kitchen, wifi) needed. It's perfect for a short stay but is equally capable to being a good long-term home to those who wish to stay for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxismookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived here from Dominical in the evening and were greeted by the nice staff. He even carried my big bag up the long stairs! The owners were in the kitchen when we came in and we got less of a greeting from them.....I did not even know they were the owners , until the next day. Cory (one owner) ended up being more approachable , the next day. Cory plays music two days a week at a nice hotel and we went to see him one night and enjoyed that alot!

As far as the hostel goes , it was good. We ended up in room # 1 with only one other female to share with us 2 females. That was nice. More privacy for our place and the bathroom stayed clean. Hah....I know how guys are! The grounds were full of plants , the kitchen was good and they even served a small breakfast, which was nice. The pool was great too!

The highlight was Jefe's restaurant , on site! I enjoyed many of evenings , eating his taco's , with smoked meat, homemade hot sauce and his burger's , that were die for! He had a decent happy hour , and you could even see the sunset from the restaurant! He was fun to talk too also! Regular's came there almost every night for the happy hour and that was nice also! Go eat there, even if you don't stay at Hostel Plinio !

All and all , it was a good stay and I would stay there again. The staff and the maid were all very very nice and you felt welcome , from them.

It is not a party hostel..if that is what you want. There were even a few Tico families staying there.

The road is a little noisy , but it did not bother me in the room , with the fans going.

Check it out!

Room Tip: If you want a private room..that are pretty cool. There are only 2 of them and are 2 story , with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Well as soon as we arrived we were greeted and given great news! There was a double booking and I waa upgraded to the per say "mac daddy suite" haha. We originally booked a regular private double but we were lucky to be given more. The hostel used to be an old hotel but we bought and revamped by Alisha and her boyfriend. When we opned the door to our room we were amazed (room 4). Three levels of beauty with a rooftop lookout that you could see the quepos marina from. Reminds me of amazing cabins back in Canada. Its a fairly new hostel so its not in no lonely planet book yet, but I assure you it will be. Bus stop is next door and 50 cent ride to Manuel Antonio, comes every 15-20 min. Hostel was very nice, service was amazing, relaxed area. Must book!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essarcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Really a special place accessible to all Manuel Antonio has to offer. Owners Corey and Alicia and their kind and helpful staff made us feel welcome and helped us find everything we needed. The pool is DEEP no real shallow end which was much more fun to swim in than those horrid 3 feet deep jobs.
The most amazing thing about this place is that it is made entirely of rainforest hardwoods - teak and purple heart, perhaps other - and is unbelievably beautiful. This is all wood harvested half a century ago before concerns about depletion...this hotel is either the first or one of in the area.
If you can get rooms 1, 2, 3, 4 you will be delighted. Tower like with a spiral staircase leading to a rooftop deck. The grounds are lush, it is set right into the hill....
Accessible by bus (50 cent ride) to all Manuel Antonio's pleasures.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaLeeRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#5 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
751 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Plinio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Plinio

Address: Main Road 50 meters before Restaurant Bamboo Jam, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £15 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Plinio, with it's sister Bed and Breakfast located only 200 meters down the road, offer a variety of amenity options. The hostel is one of the original accommodation and restaurant properties located in Manuel Antonio, while our Bed and Breakfast is a new addition to the market. HOSTEL Our fully equipped hostel has a large refreshing pool, tour desk, wifi, a delicious and affordable restaurant and bar, a common kitchen and ocean views. Guests enjoy having everything they need on location and the staff at Plinio strive to make the hostel a relaxing and tranquil experience. It is an excellent choice for travelers wishing to steer away from the party youth hostels and experience many of the comforts and ascetics of a rustic hotel with the communal atmosphere and prices of a hostel. Accommodations with Hostel Plinio range greatly. We offer two dorm rooms for backpackers that have two outdoor patios, a viewing platform, a bathroom, lockers, safes, and a large space to accommodate everyone's personal belongings with plenty of room left over to move around. For travelers seeking a more private stay, Hostel Plinio has three types of rooms to choose from. The most economical option is the double bed, shared bathroom private room. Perfect for couples on a budget! Next are the standard and basic private suites. These rooms have two stories, a private bath with hot water, stunning ocean views, semi-private patio, a king size bed and a full or twin size bed. Perfect from groups of three or four people looking for a private option. And lastly, our two Superior Family Suites. These rooms have three stories, two outdoor patios with ocean views including a third story observation deck with swings. A private bath with hot water, a living room, and a king, a full and a twin size bed. PLEASE NOTE: On Hostelworld , all private rooms are listed with a max capacity of 2 people. This is simply for pricing purposes. There is a $10 per person extra charge for 3 or more people. We suggest calling or emailing if you have specific questions regarding this. BED AND BREAKFAST Plinio Bed and Breakfast is located a couple of minutes walk away from our hostel where guests have the opportunity to enjoy upgraded amenities. Here guests get the atmosphere of the jungle with the amenities and style of a hotel but with the feeling of home. Surrounded by mango and papaya trees, fan palms and bamboo we frequently get monkey visitors and have several resident iguanas. Our Bed and Breakfast has its own kitchen located on site and guests are invited to enjoy the pool, restaurant and bar at the hostel. Plinio Bed and Breakfast is great option for couples looking for a little more privacy and quiet but with hotel style conveniences. At this location we offer seven unique private rooms that include brand new queen sized Serta beds, air conditioning units, cable TV with HBO, wifi in every room, private bathroom with on demand hot water, blackout curtains and two outdoor patio style relaxation areas. Located on the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio Beach, Plinio is a great location for travelers seeking easy transportation to the main attractions without the hustle and bustle of being in the city center. With bus stops located just outside the main entrance, the beach is a quick ten minute ride away. Both properties serve breakfast and coffee free of charge every morning from seven until nine am. When booking with us and looking through pictures of our properties, please take note at which property you are viewing and wanting to stay in to make sure you book properly. No matter what type of room you choose, you will not be disappointed. The owners and staff at Plinio have poured their hearts into creating an unique, memorable hostel and bed and breakfast experience. We look forward to accommodating you during your stay in Manuel Antonio. See you soon! Cancellations Policy: one day in advance Credit Cards Not Accepted. Breakfast Included. Taxes Included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Plinio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing