We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Hostel Plinio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Plinio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I agree with Alfred's comments below in the main although in our experience the staff were very helpful.

During our visit, the bar and restaurant were both closed and the hostel felt like it was only half open.

Not much is needed to turn this hostel into a really great place but something was definitely missing during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HstlPlinio, Owner at Hostel Plinio, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always interested in the feedback of our guests and we take our reviews very seriously. I think there may have been few things in play here. First, the restaurant is a separate business and the owner chooses to close his doors during low season due to the lack of activity and demand. Things do become quite different around Manuel Antonio during low season and for some the lack of options and activity can leave one feeling unimpressed. Second, we strive to be a low key hostel. A quiet, relaxing place. We understand that it may not be for everyone. Third, we are a work in process. :-) This is our first year being open and are sort of.....¨finding ourselves¨:-) Creating a unique and engaging atmosphere is on the top of our priority list and it´s feedback like yours that help us to fine tune our business in that way. I hope your stay was mostly enjoyable and I would love to see you back again some day!!!
Kind Regards,
Alisha
Owner, Hostel Plinio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    65
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
62
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

PROS
- plenty of space although split over three levels which at times was annoying
- cool at night. Air con not needed
- nice view
- breakfast included although keep in mind it is literally bread no butter or spreads and a couple of bits of fruit.
- pool looked clean

CONS
- overpriced
- awkward location
- staff abrupt and not overly informative about location
- terrible Internet that when I was able to connect
- common kitchen horrible. They seriously need to clean out the fridge as it stinks.
- cleanliness of room. Dead insects on couches and dead cockroach on bed.
- may need to upgrade towels, our had rips in them.

Probably would recommended it. If you do stay here and are catching th bus gt off at Quepos as it is only 1km out of town ans cheaper in taxi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Corey, Alicia and the rest of the staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay at Plinio again just based on their hospitality. The entire staff was helpful with direction, tourist sites, cab and bus information.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satorikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hostel Plinio is my number one choice in Manuel Antonio! I recently used Plinio as our lodging for a large group of volunteers and we had a fantastic time. The owners and staff are great: helpful, accomodating and have a very 'Pura Vida' and easy going way of making you feel right at home.
The surroundings are gorgeous, the rooms are spacious, the beds are comfy....no hot water but guys...this is Costa Rica!
The location is great if you want a calm and relaxing stay, the pool and the restaurant below are great for relaxed lounging:)
The only recommendation I would have is to provide guests the chance to buy simple snacks and drinks, toiletries etc...on site.
Highly recommend Hostel Plinio....enjoy Manuel Antonio and live la pura vida!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaFrancecita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Hostel Plinio was shockingly stunning! My friend and I stayed in a few other hostels before landing here and we ended up staying for the remainder of our trip. The owners did an amazing job creating this little paradise. The hostel cascades down the side of a jungle filled mountain, so there were a few sets of stairs to get to your room, but the staff will graciously help you with your bags and the view is 100% worth it!! The maids were very nice and principled - even chasing me down while I was checking out because I left a tank top hanging over a chair. The pool was perfect when you didn't want to take the bus to the beach. It was quiet, relaxing, & great for sunbathing! Nature is definitely in abundance here. We saw monkeys, toucans, & iguanas during our stay along with several other types of lizards, frogs, & birds. Our room was fantastic - 3 floors. First floor was the living room/bathroom, second floor was the beds, third was a screened in balcony with views of the jungle on one side and the ocean on the other. When I travel back to Manuel Antonio, this will be the first place I will stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Hostel Plinio was a good stay for the amount we paid. It was affordable and got the job done. We stayed in a spacious private room. Unfortunately, there was no hot water, air conditioning, or enough lighting at night. The beds were large but uncomfortable. The hostel was fairly close to the beach, a 10-15 minute bus ride. Breakfast is included and there is a pool on the property. The reception and rooms are high up, so you need to climb a long set of stairs (which proved difficult with large bags). The rooms were clean though and the view was spectacular. It is manageable, and a decent price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I just visited the hostel with a volunteer group of 13 others and we all loved it. The rooms were spacious to fit all 14 of us and more. It was nice to pay a small amount but still have a three floor room with sea views!!!

Staff was also very helpful, as they catered for my group's every need such as clearing their reception to let us learn salsa at the hotel. What's more is there is a pool that is in association with the hostel that you can use at any time.

Overall I would recommend this hostel for any traveler as it is spacious, clean and has all the amenities (pool, kitchen, wifi) needed. It's perfect for a short stay but is equally capable to being a good long-term home to those who wish to stay for longer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxismookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#31 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Plinio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Plinio

Property: Hostel Plinio
Address: Main Road 50 meters before Restaurant Bamboo Jam, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Plinio is one of the newest additions to the hostel scene in Manuel Antonio and is located in one of the original hotel/restaurant properties in the area. Plinio is quickly becoming one of the highest rated and most in demand hostels in the area! A fully equipped hostel with a large refreshing pool, tour desk, wi-fi, a delicious restaurant and bar, and a common kitchen. Guests enjoy having everything they need on location and the staff at Plinio strive to make the hostel a relaxing, tranquil, all inclusive experience. It is an excellent choice for travelers wishing to steer away from the party youth hostels and experience many of the comforts and ascetics of a rustic hotel with the communal atmosphere and prices of a hostel. Located on the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio Beach, Plinio is a great location for travelers seeking easy transportation to the main attractions without the hustle and bustle of being in the city center. With a bus stop located just outside the main entrance, the beach is a quick 10 minute ride away.Every room at Plinio has an ocean view. Including the dorms! And each include a breakfast of fruit, bread and coffee each morning.Accommodations range greatly. Backpackers may choose from 2 different types of dorms, the standard and the deluxe. Both types have two out door patios, their own bathroom, and plenty of space. But for a few dollars more per night, the deluxe dorm includes hot water, a private living room, and only houses 5 people. Upgrading to the deluxe dorm is first come first serve and can only be booked at the Hostel if there is availability. No matter which dorm you choose, you will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Plinio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing