We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a quick meal”
Review of El Gato Pescador - CLOSED

El Gato Pescador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Seafood, American, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic fish & chips, all local ingredients, made fresh to order, our fish is beer battered, choose filet, fish balls or shrimp,choose tartar or chipotle sauce, combos served with cole slaw, choose fries or onion rings.
Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great choice for a quick meal”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We really enjoyed the fish and chips, great onion rings too. The fish is very fresh and tasty, generous good sized portions. We tried the kids meal, standard meal, fish sandwich (a bit too much bread) and the double (huge portion), yes, we went back again as we all enjoyed it.
Reasonable price for this area, you do get the service charge added if you eat at their cute little tables rather than takeout. Free WIFI also.
Don't pay attention to griper about the service charge who down-rated the whole restaurant. Service and atmosphere fine but nothing special, right on the main road, but what you're there for, the fish is great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WallyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    56
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“10% Service charge for fast food? Really!?!?!??”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I am giving this fast food restaurant a poor rating because I felt ripped off having to pay a service charge. I went to the counter ordered my food, they gave me a beer in a can, I sat down and the plopped down the fish chips in a paper throw away container in front of me. What was the SERVICE charge for? If you read the fine print on the menu it says you are going to be charge the 10%, but REALLY??? If you want 10% more just raise your prices and stop trying to rip off the tourists.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sfbayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JarekObsadny, Owner at El Gato Pescador, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Just for your information ,IT IS A LEGAL REQUIREMENT in Costa Rica that for food served and eaten in a restaurant, a 10% service charge be applied, and paid to our servers. If you wish to take the food “to go’’, then the charge does not apply.

If you prefer your beer to be served in a glass, you may simply ask. Most of our customers prefer a can.

Our food is not ''fast food'' in that it is made to order from fresh local ingredients. We are a small, specialized business and take pride in our products and services, all offered at affordable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious ”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just enjoyed some delicious ceviche and fish & chips, with several cold Imperials. My wife is quite the fish & chips connoisseur and was very impressed with the freshness of the fish and the crisp, light, well-seasoned batter. We'll be back soon. I also recommend the sweet potato (camote) chips. Pura Vida!

Helpful?
Thank SinCabeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“fish and "cheap"”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

strengths:
- cheap (18$ for 2 dishes and 2 drinks)
- the fish balls and sauce were delicious.
- the design is funny and warm
- on the main road from Manuel Antonio beach to Quepos, easy to stop, "fish and chips" is painted everywhere.

areas of improvement:
- dishes are very basic, missing taste (except the fish balls which were delicious).
- my girlfriend ordered onion rings as a side and got chips.
- the chips were home made which is good but dry and tasteless, you should definitely go for another side order.
- "view" on the road to Quepos.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips. Affordable and local business”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wonderful meal here for minimal cash. The owner is really cool, very down to earth and knowledgeable of the area. Employees were very courteous and helpful in ordering and providing recommendations. We had the fish and chips with onion rings. Everything tasted great and we easily could have gone into seconds right after finishing. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajtarzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gato Pescador also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing