We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location For Beach, Park and Dining”
Review of El Paseo del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Paseo del Mar
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Location For Beach, Park and Dining”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at Paseo Del Mar for 10 nights in January - had an amazing, relaxing vacation. When we arrived there were squirrel monkeys at the poolside and that was the perfect introduction to the property as there are always animals and birds around. The apartment was clean and comfortable with a little balcony that was practically in the trees with the monkeys and birds - even a sloth one afternoon. We enjoyed coffee and breakfast on our balcony everyday. The pool is perfect and beautifully landscaped - always refreshing, especially after a day on the beach or in the park. Having daily maid service was really nice. The owner, Chuck, is a great guy - really welcoming and informative about the area - we really enjoyed getting to know him a bit. He arranged a couple of tours for us that were wonderful. The walk to the beach is steep - it took a few days for our calves to adjust - but it is scenic and the beach is gorgeous. We spent many days at the beach; for about $10 you can rent 2 chairs, a small table and an umbrella from several different places on the beach toward the park - worth it! (We especially likes Mary's rentals with drinks and food also available). Once you walk down the steep winding path you can walk the beach all the way to the Park. The bus is also great for going anywhere between Quepos and the Park/beach. The property is within walking distance to a food market and some of the best restaurants in the area. We would highly recommend Paseo Del Mar to anyone looking for a great location in Manuel Antonio!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcat009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our experience at El Paseo del Mar was a beautiful one. Chuck the owner was pleasant, helpful and informative. We stayed here from 12/30-1/5/14. The apartment was immaculate! Maid service came in each day to deliver fresh towels, make the bed and clean the apartment. She truly went above and beyond during our stay. The infinity pool was gorgeous and relaxing. What I really loved about this place was its beauty. The grounds are kept very well, beautiful trees and animal life. Words alone cannot describe the beauty of this place, unless you see it for yourself. The location was perfect. Restaurants, grocery store and beach all in walking distance! We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our stay at El Paseo del Mar was absolutely perfect! We rented 3 of Chuck's 4 lovely apartments during the week of Christmas for our extended family of 7. It was the perfect set up for us, as everyone had their privacy yet we were all able to spend time together around the pool. The location is excellent - just up the road from the beach and close to restaurants and a grocery store. Chuck knows all the best restaurants and the best spots to enjoy the beach. He directed us to a quiet, private beach that was gorgeous and much less crowded than the main beach. We rented a car, which made the trip up from the beach MUCH easier than walking, and Chuck made sure we always had an open parking space. The apartments are clean and comfortable, with balconies to sit and enjoy the monkeys and birds, and great air conditioners! We spent every morning drinking coffee and watching the rainforest wake up from the balcony. Chuck provides maid service and we were able to have laundry done for a small fee. I highly recommend this wonderful and private property. It was so much better than a large and impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at El Paseo del Mar for a week and loved it. The apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable. The balcony and the pool were our favorite parts of the place. The location was great, close to restaurants and shops. The beach was also close by but be mindful of the steep return walk.

Chuck (the owner) was always very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinDC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This place is so well-located - not far from the beach at the bottom of the hill nor from the restaurants at the top of the hill as it's situated in-between. For this reason there's no need to rent a car. Large well equipped apartments with a beautiful pool. I plan on revisiting.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was such a beautiful place! The rooms are very spacious and clean! The kitchen has everything you need. Chuck was really nice and very helpful with anything we needed! It is very quiet and secluded, perfect for relaxing! I highly reccomend this place. If I ever come back I will defenitely stay at El Paseo del Mar again. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monigda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, NB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We highly recommend the apartments at El Paseo del Mar. My wife and I spent eight weeks there in January and February 2013, and we loved it.
The apartment building, El Paseo del Mar, is situated on the same road as the Hotel Mariposa, but immediately below it . This road runs from the main road which connects Quepos and the Manuel Antonio Park. From El Paseo del Mar the walk up the hill is not difficult but if you were further down, you would have a strenuous walk and wonder why you hadn’t booked something closer to the top as we did in 2009 when we stayed on this road. So if you’re at El Paseo del Mar a car is not necessary unless you are planning on doing a lot of day trips outside the immediate area of Manuel Antonio and Quepos. It is also quite convenient for shopping, restaurants, and the bus.
The apartments are about 600 sq ft which is big enough since most of the time we were outdoors. One of the reasons we chose El Paseo del Mar was that it had a pool and a nice patio surrounding it. There are only four or five apartments in the complex so it is never crowded. One note, El Paseo del Mar doesn’t accept guests under the age of 18 which is important to note if you have a family. On one side of the building there is a ridge which is completely forested and gives easy access for monkeys. If you don’t like seeing lots of monkeys don’t stay here. But is you do, you couldn’t be in a better place. There was never a day that went by that we didn’t see large numbers of monkeys: Howlers, Squirrels and Capuchins. In February the Squirrel and Howler monkeys had babies. Wow! Talk about cute. One day my wife and I ate breakfast while watching a sloth no more than thirty feet away from us.
The present owner of El Paseo del Mar, Chuck Quinlan, is one interesting man. He also has lots of insights into life in Costa Rica because he has lived there for almost twenty years. And, he knows his wildlife. He is also a well known wild-life artist and prints of his painting hang from the walls of the apartments. Chuck was very attentive to the needs of his clients and whenever we had any problem he made sure that it was put right immediately. Chuck likes people is the perfect host for this little piece of paradise. His assistant Edith is ready to book any tours that visitors might have. Even though you’re renting an apartment, it still has daily maid service so you have nothing to do but lie back and enjoy the good life.
Because of its close proximity to beautiful beaches and lots of services, El Paseo del Mar is a great place to stay, especially for those who are looking for a home away from home. However, even people looking to stay for a night or two will find El Paseo del Mar a great spot. We can’t wait to return next year.

Room Tip: There are four apartments available. Three in the main building and one called the pool studio which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Paseo del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paseo del Mar

Property: El Paseo del Mar
Address: 150 meters west of Hotel Mariposa, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Paseo del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beach apartments near one of the most beautiful beaches in the world at Manuel Antonio National Park. Located on the edge of the rain forest with an abundance of monkeys, sloths and toucans. We offer one bedroom apartments with a king or queen bed and one single. Maid service is included. Our location is unique that we are walking distance to the beach, shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your El Paseo del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paseo Del Mar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing