We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hideaway from all the tourist spots”
Review of Mango Moon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mango Moon Villa
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hideaway from all the tourist spots”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

This was booked for us and we have had an enjoyable few days. The staff were really friendly and the chef adapted the menu to cater for my wheat allergy with no issues. The food was excellent and we had breakfast, lunch and dinner during our stay. Meals and drinks were reasonably priced.

The setting is great with views of the pacific and plenty of bush to be entertained by the monkeys each day. The hotel is off the main road however the cost of taxis and buses mean this isn't a problem.

Only warning be aware of the size of the room you book. Our initial room was really tiny however we paid the extra for a bigger room.

Would return here if ever back and certainly hope to be.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    106
    26
    22
    15
See reviews for
98
251
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at mango moon and can't thank the staff enough for their help (I'd love to name names but have a hopeless memory). The room was small but clean with a comfy bed and good shower, but the best things about the hotel were the staff (friendly and really helpful with booking tours etc. even picked up bus tickets for us from Quepos - superb service!!!), the breakfast (you have to try the banana pancakes) and the views (we saw howler and capuchin monkeys from our balcony and had a lovely view over the ocean). Live music on a Thursday night - very chilled.
The hotel location is good, off the main road but an easy walk to bars and restaurants (would recommend taking a torch for the walk home). We'd recommend El Avion for sunset drinks/dinner, Aqua Azul for a good solid feed, Barba Roja for Happy Hour beers, but probably found the best food at the little cafe at the end of the road (can't remember the name). The hotel recommended a great guide for a tour of the park and we also enjoyed rafting on the naranjo river. There's a regular (cheap) public bus to and from Manuel Antonio village. The hotel has access to a private beach - a bit of a slippery walk down (not for flip-flops) and no beach at high-tide, so time it right!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyBurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

As a fellow lodge owner in Costa Rica, it is difficult to find a place to stay that 'fits' what we want for our days off. Mango Moon has exactly what we want - mellow atmosphere, great food, friendly vibe, close to the beach, and away from the noise and 'scene' of Quepos or the park area. This is a great place to go to if you want to enjoy a cocktail at sunset, go for a hike/walk down to an isolated beach, enjoy a great meal, or relax and watch monkeys. It's not a stuffy, resort-type place, so if that's what you are looking for, you might want to head to one of the many overpriced ones on offer in Manuel Antonio! This is one of the better values in Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: Any of the ocean view ones is great, though the upstairs ones are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treehousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

if you want to experience the friendliness of Cosa Rica check out the mango moon hotel. the location is perfect, the rooms are beautiful, and the view of the pacific ocean and the sunset are so beautiful. My husband and i couldn't wait for the monkey's to come out every afternoon to entertain us by gathering there supper from the mango trees on the property. The owner, Donna is such a wonderful hostess. She makes everyone feel special. The entire staff can't do enough to help make your stay wonderful..we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macdannyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I spent HOURS researching where to stay in Manuel Antonio. Something about Mango Moon kept drawing me back to their website. My husband, brother, and I spent 2 amazing days there... wish we'd stayed longer. The location, the view, the facility, the staff, the rooms, the food, the balconies, the service was more than I ever could've hoped for. The place feels hip yet has a true, Costa Rican vibe. THAT is what drew me to it. This isn't some giant pretentious resort. It's a completely unique hideaway that has more charm and flare than anywhere I've ever stayed. Everyone there seems to all be on the same wave length - it is a true adult's paradise. Donna and the gang couldn't have been more welcoming. The view from the rooms alone is worth the trip. We will definitely be going back and spending more time here. Donna - thank you and your crew for making our trip so special!!! xoxoxo Marie, Nate & Bongo Boy John

Room Tip: Gecko Suite #7 was SUPER private and elegantly decorated - top floor - room on far right end (if loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

a wonderful hotel, after checking into our room we met Donna who owns and operates the hotel and she went out of her way to make us feel welcome. The Tico breakfast was awesome and on thursday nights there is open mike music night that was wonderful. The rooms were nice and well appointed.A must stay hotel when you are in the manuel Antonio area

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrando3052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here last week and our stay was awesome. The staff are very friendly (especially the bar tender). They have live music which was very good. The room we were in was beautifully decorated...the entire place is beautifully decorated. The monkeys were playing in the trees right outside our room and there was a sloth spotted there as well. The hotel dogs and cat are super friendly and a great treat for those who love and miss their own animals. There is a path located in the back the leads to the beach and the infinite pool was an awesome place to escape the heat. The owner (Donna) was very friendly and even gave us a screwdriver set to try and fix our camera.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.3 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Moon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Moon Villa

Property: Mango Moon Villa
Address: 100 Meters Past La Mariposa Hotel, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Moon Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a bluff overlooking the shimmering waters of the Pacific, nestled in a lush tropical rainforest with unparallel ocean and sunset views, you will find a mango kissed hotel that beckons your stay. Mango Moon Intimate Boutique Hotel is located in a pristine area of Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica where monkeys and birds awaken your mornings and the gecko's and sounds of waves lull you to sleep at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mango Moon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Moon Hotel
Mango Moon Villa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing