We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home; can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

You know when you go on vacation and you miss some of the comforts you have at home? Not here....it was nice to have a reclining loveseat, flat screen tv, the latest and greatest movies (for raining nights), a frig, pool, ac, comfortable bed, cold beer/soda/water at at anytime (on honor system), towels/beach toys, tons of books, close to the beach, quiet, close to everything, spotless room, animals popping, excellent breakfast and a friendly face always available. While we were in La Fortuna we went to an expat night with several hotel, restaurant and tour owners/operators,they asked us about our trip, where else we were going and we mentioned La Posada. Everyone knew it and said it was the best place to stay but hard to get a room because it's always in demand. Most of the other guest have stayed multiple times and when saw people booking rooms for their next trip while there...it's that good!

Check in & out is a breeze...the only hard part is leaving;) Prices are very reasonable and make sure you book thru them since they know the best tour operators and prices (no bs). Everyone who works here is fantastic and top notch in the hotel field. It was much better than we expected it to be. Jonathan helped us out countless times and even drove us around when he didn't have to work. Mike invites the hotel guests and staff out a local bar and a couple of nightlife spots which you certainly don't want to miss.

While on our two week vacation, we toured most of the country and found Manuel Antonio to be our favorite by far. The beaches, people, flora/fauna, food, variety of activities are simply the best. It reminded us of San Diego and next time we go back we'll just stay in the area the whole time. Going into Uvita for an ultralight flight down to drake bay then taking the ATV tour was our favorite day by far.

We can't wait to go back and if you can get a room here; you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcclain072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Literally next to the gate of Manual Antoinio National Park and a 5 minute walk to the beach, La Posada is a treat! The rooms were clean and set up with mini-fridges, microwaves and coffee makers as well as a porch with a hammock. The check-in/breakfast area is an open air patio with tables and a tv and computer for guest use. The staff is fantastic, taking time to hang out with guests, share tips for the best tours around and even dine with you - some nights of the week they cook dinner in the hotel for only $7! On Wednesdays, everyone is invited to check out a local expat bar with a rock band and a nightclub in Quepos.

I had a fantastic time, and I plan to send everyone to Costa Rica and La Posada! Also, make sure you visit the park and go rafting and ziplining.

Room Tip: The bungalows and La Casa were both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laureno650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our family of four, including our 2 year old daughter and 6 month old son, spent six nights in the Casa, a 2-bedroom second floor suite. The suite was huge, more space than we needed. Loved the covered veranda as well. Typo uncanny get any closer to M.A. National Park! Us and another family with a toddler booked a guide through the park together and saw so many animals - sloths, howler monkeys, crocodiles, agoutis and more. This was all arranged for us by Estaban. The staff, Esyaban, Johnathon, Francine, Carol, are all super friendly and made our kids feel very welcomed. mike and Johnathon were prompt with email communication booking our stay. We know that Johnathon handles emails in the evening from the common computer, so it seems like he's busy, because he is - replying to lots of emails! They even booked our airport transfers and arranged for child car seats for our kids, in advance. We didn't have a car and walked down the road to many restaurants in town. It's walkable to the other main are if M.A., just uphill. Somehow, we managed it with two kids in tow. We ate out at El Sol, Dragonfly
Thai and Cafe Milagro; did dinner and a movie in at La Posada on a rainy night; a few lunches across the way at Parque Sushi and ordered delivery from El Sol and Ngo on evenings when the kids were a bit squirrelly for a restaurant. Not a problem without a car!
Pool was great. Nicely shaded by the jungle trees for the kids. Boogie boards and pool toys are all there for you to use. Saw the white faced monkeys in and around the pool! A few also visited us by our screened in veranda in the Casa too! Carol pointed out to us a toucan in the trees by the pool one day too!
All in all, a wonderful stay and a great Costa Rican experience. A perfect mix of jungle and beach!

Gracias mis amigos en La Posada!

Room Tip: The Casa is on the second floor. Super spacious. Bedroom windows do go onto the road, so you will he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeverlyH-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We are just back from a family vacation to Manuel Antonio National Park. We had the best vacation EVER! This property is lush and lovely. By sharing the fence-line with the National Park, the property is very jungle-esque and hosts a myriad of visitors from the park...white faced, squirrel and howler monkeys, to name a few. The rooms were clean, neat and very comfortable. Thanks to all of the existing tripadvisor reviews, I couldn't have settled on a more perfect place for us to stay! The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. As my daughter phrased it: "I felt like we all were a big family staying here". Book your tours through them too, as they share the commission with you and results in a discount; not to mention that they'll arrange the times, etc. in Spanish, so that there's no miscommunication or confusion. The location is a short jaunt to the beach which allowed for easy retrieval of forgotten items left in the room- like sunscreen! I have been to Costa Rica on a few trips now, and I think this area was the most enjoyable I've seen. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monkey Room. It is opposed to the eating area. Therefore, the kitchen light was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I decided to stop at Manuel Antonio National Park on our way from Tamarindo to Uvita. We chose the La Posada based upon a travel agent's recommendation. It is literally at the end of the public road right before you enter the park. You can purchase your park tickets right next door. Extremely convenient. The beach is just a two minute walk from the hotel. The staff is very friendly and always wanting to help you out. The second night we were there, they arranged a taxi for several of the guests and "escorted" us down town Quepos for dinner at a Mexican restaurant called Dos Locos. We hung out there for a couple of hours. Some of the party wanted to stay downtown a while longer while of us wanted to return to the hotel. They helped us find a taxi..... The included breakfasts were very good. The pool is nice. Anyway, this is a place where my wife and I, had we known, would have stayed longer. The only down side, if there is one, is if you wanted to spend more time in town you might want to find a hotel closer to town. Having said that, a taxi ride (one way) to and/or from town is less than $10US. We are already planning our next visit here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We finished up our honeymoon here this past October and had a great stay. Mike and the rest of the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Book your tours through them because they share their comission with you and have great recommendations on which ones to do. When you just look online, it can be really overwhelming. We stayed in the Parrot Bungalow which was down at the end past the pool. It felt very private and was quiet (other than the howler monkeys off in the distance, but that was great to hear). We found it very clean and it was thoroughly cleaned and neatened up every day. You can't beat the location of this place if you're looking for national park and beach time. That was the big sell for us and it ended up being so convenient being right next to the beach. It is incredibly economical for such great service, location, and amenities. We took advantage of the boogie boards you can borrow at La Posada and had a blast in the surf! Breakfast was great with rotating gallo pinto, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs to order and more. There are lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. Don't be scared off by the slightly sketchy appearance of the Costa Linda hostel just up the road. They had the best tasting and most economical cocktails we found in this area! Mike is a really great guy and the staff is excellent and will do everything possible to make your stay fun and comfortable. Thank you all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My family of 4 adults had an excellent time staying at the La Posada Jungle bungalows for 2 nights

Things to consider:
- Location: the hotel shares a fence with the Manuel Antonio National Park so you cannot get any closer. The easy access allowed us to get to the park and beaches with multiple visits per day. The public beach is also a 2 minute walk away
- Charming Landscape - the four bungalows are nestled around a cozy swimming pool right next to a common area with internet and phone access (free calls to the US)
- Breakfasts: served in the common area every morning with fresh hot food, yogurt, fruit, cereal, breads, etc. special mention for the excellent coffee that is set out at 6 am
- Staff: the staff were very hospitable, always eager to please and very helpful win tours, restaurants, etc. special mention for Esteban, Mike and Carol

- One downside for folks that don't have a car is that there are only a few restaurants within walking distance

Would gladly stay here again - Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rumesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
549 reviews
1.1 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £87 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing