We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive, next to park entrance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, next to park entrance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This place was fun. It is located right at the park entrance. There is some parking. We found a place where we left the car the whole time we were there. It is not fancy at all, but the rooms were clean and adequate. Our room had 2 double beds, a bath and a veranda. It was right by the small pool. Nice breakfast included. Several nights a week they serve $7 family style dinners. Nothing special, but great for the price. The American ex-pat owner, Mike was helpful and friendly. Capuchin monkeys came in the mornings to the pool area from the park.

Room Tip: Poolside was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pryor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    140
    31
    16
    13
See reviews for
334
338
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and have nothing but wonderful things to say. We stayed in the La Posada room. It was clean and updated, large bathroom, super efficient ac when needed, and we enjoyed cooking in the kitchenette area. Breakfast each morning was delicious and much more than we could have expected. The pool is a nice place to relax, and the balcony near the pool is a great place to watch storms roll in. Staff was helpful in recommending places to eat/things to do. The park entrance is next door, and although it can get a bit noisy, that didn't bother us at all. It is a short walk to the beach, grocery store, and restaurants. Of all the places we have stayed in Costa Rica, this was our favorite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkmbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City,CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I'll begin with staff-----THE BEST!!!! Mike, Jonathan, staff make You feel like family. Love the relationship Mike,the owner, has with His employees especially His funny antics between Himself and Jonathan. The attention to detail in the rooms is exceptional. Fridge for those ice cold Cervesas, Microwave for popcorn, corkscrew, DVD player with free movies, as well as the usual amenities. The porch is laid out perfect for those occasional rains with great rocking chairs, hammock and table overlooking the pool. Every Wednesday night the crew takes willing guests out to a nightspot in Quepos for food and good music with a local band playing classic rock and blues. Mike bought the Margaritas that night for everyone! Highly recommended! The included breakfast is the best in CR. Did not have any dinners there but the pizza stand on property was great and very cheap.
Manuel Antonio park right next to the property was the best park We experienced in CR. Capuchins, Howlers, Squirrel monkeys, Coatis, Iguanas, Racoons(watch Your chips),Deer and Sloths were plentiful! Manuel Antonio beach in the park should be rated as one of the top ten in the World but glad it isn't. Keeps it that way. If You're a surfer like Our Son the town beach minutes by foot from La Posada has rental boards, rental chairs with umbrellas and cocktail service for the spectators. Grab one of La Posadas' free boogie boards on the way and have some fun! Enough said-----BOOK LA POSADA!!!

Room Tip: Bungalows by pool are best. There is no traffic noise because it's at the end of road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchyTahoeCity_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Amazing staff--Jonathan, Estavon and Lady just to mention the three. Super breakfast, great location and clean bungalows with everything you need. Close to the beach and closer to the park. Estavon found us a great guide to go into the park. Lady suggested the sunset cruise. Both were fantastic. Deer, monkies, lizards and lots of birds hang out near the pool. Definitely will stay there again. Thanks again to the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: The sunset cruise is a must. The best wahoo I've ever eaten. Forget the guide books and listen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helena, mt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We(8 of us) stayed in the La Casa and it was great. Lots of room, full kitchen, screened porch, and it very clean. Right next to Manuel Antonio park and close to the beach, restaraunts, and shopping. We saw lots of monkeys right outside the building and a deer named Bambi visited. There were lots of "adventures" available to do. Overall, it was a great experience. The 3 teenagers had a ball. Something far all ages!

Room Tip: La Casa for a large group
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nannjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have mixed feelings about La Posada. If location next to Manuel Antonio Park is attractive to you, the location couldn't be better. It is located right outside the park entrance thereby avoiding a cab ride from more distant lodgings. When the monkeys and others pay a visit, everyone is there to watch and enjoy.

The staff is friendly and helpful. They will book you an excursion and return one-half of the commission to you. They don't try to rip you off. Breakfast is included. Fruit, pastry and eggs or pancakes.

However, the rooms are somewhat worn. Everything is there including A/c and tv. You need air conditioning in Manuel Antonio as temperatures get very hot. The room had somewhat of an old motel down the Jersey shore feel. We stayed in the La Posada room. Not the best.

Grounds were pleasant and lush. The hotel has a small pool that was refreshing and well used.

As long as you are not expecting luxury, you will likely enjoy your stay as we did. However, don't expect. the glorious ocean views of some resorts or access to the better restaurants. To get to the main drag where the beach is, be prepared to dodge trucks and buses. The noise from the traffic dropping park visitors off can be a bit disturbing. The noise lessens when the park closes. The street where located is somewhat run down.

All in all, the nice owner and staff compensates for some weaknesses.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luigi53SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Beyond the beautiful accommodations, customer service was the king. From the amazing breakfast(the rice and beans are to die for!), to amazing surf lessons with Rogelio, and everything in between. We were treated like family by everyone.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank searoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Property: La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing