We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in two hotels when we were in Manuel Antonio - this being the first of the two. First off, the location is great! You can't get closer to the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park (there is one more hotel close to the park but it is extremely expensive)! It seems La Posada is family owned. Two younger guys were working the front and kitchen area and were extremely nice and helpful! They make fresh pizza daily (how they do it in the heat, I dont know!) and it is very yummy and cheap! $1 for a slice and a coke.

They have a fresh breakfast every morning - fruit, yogurt, breads, sausage, and will also make eggs fresh for you if you want. The pool isnt too big, but it is deeper than it looks and is also cool, so it feels amazing to hop in after a long day in the heat and humidity. They also have a stairway up to a bar, it looked pretty cool but wasnt being used when we stayed.

Each room has it's own hammock on the rooms patio which we used often! I could tell each bungalow was decorated a bit different based off the colors I saw walking by. Our room was bright green and had a parot theme, which helped with the rainforest atmosphere. It looked like the room next to us had a sky blue color and perhaps a fish theme - either way, the rooms were bright, colorful and welcoming.

You really feel like you are in the jungle here. Especially at the pool where you will see lizards frequently and if you are lucky, some monkeys hang around the dinning area that love to eat bananas from your hand!

Overall, we had a really great experience here and we will definitly stay here again if we get the chance. Everyone that works here is so warm and welcoming and really does go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. They also will help you set up tours, such as canopy, rafting, surfing lessons, ect, and will provide a discount if you book through them, so that is great!

Another bonus to the location of these bungalows, its just a short walk (up and) down a hill to get to the beach. From there, you'll have a ton of shops, markets, and resturants to choose from (I reccomend El Sol, they have a 2 for 1 happy hour on cocktails and their food is great)!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust_Jill_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We enjoyed our 3 nights in the Villa - location was perfect right at the park entrance. The rooms facing the street are very noisy starting early in the morning before the park opens as the workers and guides all gather there so a room away from the street would be quieter. Also, the 2 futons in the Villa are not the most comfortable and wd be fine for kids. Room was very clean, pool was small but refreshing, A/C was great, food was fine, and the employees are all very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyfromphilly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

La Posada is not luxurious by any means, but it is laid back with an awesome staff and amazing location. It is literally right next to the entrance of the park and a short 5 minute walk away from great restaurants and the beach. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The A/C works well, there is wifi, free movies to watch in your room and an amazing breakfast buffet included with the room (fruit, pastries, eggs, sausages and a rotation of pancakes, potatoes and other things - everything is made fresh). Laundry can be done cheaply and the room cleaners even bought us candy with some of the tip money we left them.

Mike wasn't there when we visited, but his staff was very attentive and willing to help us out with anything we needed. Esteban was extremely helpful with booking tours for us, including informing us that it was whale season and set us up on an awesome whale watching tour. Jonathan offered to drive us as it was pretty far away and gave us a price that was a lot less than what we had been quoted. The ride with Jonathan was fun as he is very outgoing with a great sense of humor. After the tour, he took us by a swimming hole with a rope swing. This place was amazing! Make sure you ask him about it. We could have stayed there all day.

We didn't see very many animals around, but we were usually out the door early in the morning and didn't get back until night time. The hammocks outside the rooms were great as we used them to relax and unwind. Unless you are looking to stay at a Ritz or Four Seasons quality place, La Posada provides everything you could need with the best staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank msbbn216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It didn't take long to feel attached to the rugged simplicity of La Posada. The vibe is very casual and unassuming.
They served excellent breakfasts with something different each of the four mornings we were there. They also prepare dinner on certain days of the week for a nominal price. We didn't join in on these, but it looked like the group who did were having a good time. Certainly a good way to meet other travelers.
The bungalows were small, but cozy, and provided a small frig, microwave and coffee maker. They were thoroughly cleaned every day.
The location is great. You are literally a few steps from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and a short walk to the public beach and several restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Surfer Bungalow - small, but comfy; across from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank afreil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

My sister, her daughter, her daughter’s boyfriend and I just returned from a weeks' stay at La Posada. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there! It is by no means an elegant hotel, but rather an informal, quirky, “family-style hostel”. This place is way laid back and that is exactly what gives it its charm! If it is catering and pampering you’re looking for, look elsewhere! You would probably not fit in here anyway! Most of the guests and all the staff here are friendly and easy going…as is Mike, the owner (great guy!!!). The rooms were super clean and the breakfast was delicious! We loved the whole vibe of this place, with the rainforest right outside your door and the beach a minute walk away…And both Jonathon and Mike were helpful with booking our tours and offering advice on the area.
The rooms were plain, but clean and comfortable and the grounds lush and green. And for the price, what more can you ask for???? I’d go back in a heartbeat (and I probably will :-) We all loved, loved, loved it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms are not fancy here but it felt like we had just moved in with a warm and wonderful family. They anticipate all your needs -- laundry can be done for $6, lunch can be brought in from across the way -- and bend over backwards to help you. Food was yummy, price was right and we all loved it. Location next to the park and the beach means you don't have to drive -- a big plus -- or pay for parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Young family of five - we stayed here for a week and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were comfortable, updated and with good AC the whole stay. Small pool, overlook, dining area, and library were well kept. The hotel was just the right size, and seemed to attract a good mix of people - authentic, budget-conscious, interesting people. Mike, the owner, and the staff were very genuine hosts, and knew everyone in the community to help give real tips. We felt like we were staying among friends - they have a good thing going!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
606 reviews
1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £87 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing