We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This is not luxury accomodation - but provides everything a family on the go could ask for - comfortable, clean, functional rooms, great amenities (frig in room, internet access, able to buy snacks and drinks, use of boogie boards, dvd's), great breakfast, perfect location - right outside the park, short walk to beach and stores, helpful staff, and the small size lends itself to meeting other guests, which adds a great element to your vacation. We stayed in the monkey room, which had 2 queen/double and a single, frig, coffee maker, air - no issues. Can't stress how good the location is - some could go to park while others were at beach or went shopping - you can't do that with the hotels on the hill - really gives you more flexibility to be able to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxini2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    145
    34
    17
    13
See reviews for
341
342
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed at La Posada for 5 nights of our trip and it was really great. Mike & Jonathan were super helpful with all our questions and we got a discount on the excursions we booked with them. We stayed in one of the jungle bungalows and they had a microwave & fridge, which was really really nice. The rooms were cleaned well every day and we saw no bugs in our room (which wasn't the case at our next place, a much more expensive hotel in a different city). They have dinners 3 nights a week you can join in on, and a few other nights Mike planned some outings to good local restaurants/night spots for all of the guests to go to if you wanted (but there was no pressure, which was also good). They have DVDs you can take & watch in your room and will make pizza for you in the afternoon if you like. There is also a computer in the common area you can use for the Internet, but it was nice to be "unplugged" for a little while! It's not overly fancy, but you don't need it to be, and Costa Rica is not the place to go if you want a 5 star fancy hotel anyway. I've seen some reviews saying Manual Antonio is overly built or built-up, and I'm not sure where those people are from. I disagree--it has the right amount of things going on without being built up like Mexico is---definitely go here. The hotel is a short walk to the beach & at the entrance to the park, which is super convenient, and we didn't need a car the whole time we were in Manual Antonio. I am extremely picky and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lwarner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
207 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Our extended family of 5 enjoyed a two night stay in this hotel’s Villa, which was just perfect for our group. We particularly enjoyed the Villa’s great air-conditioning in this hot locale, and the nice cooling pool. Our little house was kept very clean by an excellent house-keeping staff. Space is a bit tight on the small grounds, so it's easy to get to know the other guests in this cozy atmosphere.

Mike is a terrific host, and organized an evening out at a local restaurant with music for guests that was great fun. He and his staff do everything they can to make visitors welcome, from organizing meals to free phone calls, Wifi, and first run DVD’s. Each morning we enjoyed a wonderful included breakfast.

Although the hotel is right at the edge of the Park, it is still a busy and somewhat crowded area. The beaches are beautiful here, and there are many amenities for visitors. It had been over 20 years since our last visit and we were amazed at the changes both in the Park and local area. So much of the wildlife here has been habituated to human contact that it no longer feels like one is seeing the wild and natural side of Costa Rica. We were surprised that the hotel encouraged wildlife feeding, and while it gave us a chance to see and photograph animals up close, we still had mixed feelings about this practice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

The staff here is amazing: extremely personable and accommodating, excellent in every way, and clearly happy at work. The food was homemade & fantastic, & we really liked the owner, Mike. But the accommodations themselves were disappointing: cramped, outdated, & not luxurious in any way. My husband referred to it as "glorified camping," and I have to agree.

Our kids loved it because of the animals & the swimming pool right outside our bungalow's door, but we were disappointed that it wasn't the relaxing week we had expected for the price & the tripadvisor reviews. In fact, one of our biggest bummers was that there was no place to go to relax at all, since the property consists of a handful of crowded bungalows, a small pool without any place to really sit, & a picnic-shelter type restaurant where meals are served & a TV is constantly blaring (day & night). More KOA than tropical paradise.

I would definitely recommend this place to somebody with accurate expectations. For what it is, the owner & staff couldn't do a better job. But a relaxing jungle retreat, it's certainly not.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharityO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

My husband, 11-year old twins and I stayed at La Posada. The location can't be beat. While right next door (50 yards?) to the entrance to Manuel Antonio Park, it is still quiet and very quaint. The rooms, pool and common area were immaculate. The hot breakfast was filling and excellent. Right on the grounds of La Posada, we saw squirrel monkeys, a deer, and toucans. It's a 3 minute walk to a great beach, and also close walking distance to restaurants. They have boogie boards and snorkel masks that you can use. And the best part...the staff was really friendly and helpful. I was having troubling communicating with our rental car company about the non-functioning air conditioning in our rental, and Esteban helped me tremendously in getting it resolved.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My family and I spent a week in Costa Rica, and after traveling to a few different areas, we spent our last three nights at La Posada in Manuel Antonio. The property is located next to the famed Manuel Antonio park, but you don't have to travel into the park to see wildlife! We had monkeys climbing all over us right in front of our villa. La Posada is a five minute walk to shops, restaurants, and beach. I felt right at home with the friendly staff and comfortable villa. The breakfast had a huge variety to accommodate every taste! In the lobby is a phone with free calls to the U.S. and a computer with internet which was also a plus, as you can spot wildlife while keeping in touch!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwhittaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We recently stayed at La Posada for 5 days. If you are looking to go to the beach or to the national park, La Posada is an excellent location. It is right outside the entrance to the national park and is about a 5 minute walk to the beach. We stayed in the birds of paradise bungalow. The bungalows are about the size of a standard American hotel room. Our room had a king size bed, loveseat/recliner and sufficient wardrobe/furniture for our clothes. It also had a small TV, mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The room was basic but comfortable. La Posada also has a small pool and hottub. The hotel provides breakfast each morning (varies by the day). Beginning in the afternoon, one of the employees is around to make pizza, which is priced pretty fairly. The most attractive part of La Posada is that the hotel staff is quite welcoming, plans get-togethers at local restaurants for the hotel guests and serves a nice dinner for guests three nights per week for a very small charge (about $7.00 per person). Because La Posada only holds a small number of guests, you get to know the guests there with you, as well as the staff. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzptaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
2.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Property: La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing