We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were right to come back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Cascadas The Falls
Certificate of Excellence
pasadena california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We were right to come back!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I came to Las Cascadas last year on our honeymoon and had such a wonderful time we came back this year with my husband's daughter. What a great decision! We had, if possible, an even better time. Gary and Catalina are wonderfully gracious hosts, as are their children. We felt truly welcome and their help in setting up tours was invaluable. The property is truly lovely and looks even better this year. The local people are very welcoming as well and we felt safe walking back and forth to town at all hours of the night. Gary is right, this is not an all inclusive - thank goodness! I've been to all inclusives (i.e. Club Med in
Punta Cana) and was ill through much of it, had limited food choices and spent alot more money. Some advise, however, stay hydrated. We didn't realize how much water we were losing in the humidity and felt a little lethargic the first day. Gary told us to make sure we were drinking enough water and, voila, we were off and running. We drank he water from the tap and did just fine.
We would like to make this a yearly trip - It truly felt home-like and exotic at the same time. Excellent food and sights! Not to mention the wonderful family that will serve as your hosts!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las-cascadas, Owner at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Its been a great year for honeymooners and anniversaries . Love is in the air.
Great seeing you again and Cali was a hoot to be arround. I hope you can make it a yearly event, and bring Cali !
Gary and Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    82
    28
    27
    11
See reviews for
96
197
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellefontaine, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Even though it is a little bit off the beaten path, tucked up on a hill away from the action and vendors on the road to Manuel Antonio, this place is truly magical and worth a second look. On our very first night we watched a young two- toed sloth slowly climb down the railing just steps from our door! The colorful birds, lizards, tropical flowers, and did i mention monkeys, were truly at home here. We stayed our last two nights in the dome honeymoon suite, a magical "hobbit" house with beautiful views, and privacy. The owner and his wife were so helpful, making this last stop on our Costa Rican vacation feel like it was meant to be!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodyandmarkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in March of 2013 and we couldn't have had a better experience! We were treated like family from day one. Gary gave us a map of the area, as well as a variety of information about what to do, where to eat, and what to see. The resort is tucked away and feels very remote even though it is only minutes from the beach and town. Our room was simple but extremely clean and comfy. I can't say enough about the service we received. Gary and his wife even took us hiking one afternoon to one of their favorite outlooks. This is not a busy resort style establishment. If you are looking to experience the culture and wildlife of Costa Rica, while receiving one-of-kind personal service, stay here at Las Cascadas.

Tony & Michelle

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 497TonyM497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las-cascadas, Owner at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Congratulations on your new and exciting adventure in life. You both have great partners and I am sure you will do well together. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you and your family back some day. Thanks for helping us get out of here for an afternoon. We needed it.
Gary and Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My family and another family we were traveling with stayed here for two nights last week. We were supposed to stay three and wound up leaving after two nights even though we'd already paid for the third night. The owner, Gary, couldn't have been nicer but the place is in a very out of the way location and the surrounding area and town is a little too "authentic" for our tastes. The property is also in serious need of an overhaul. Walking to town is not really an option from a distance and safety perspective. Frankly it's also very expensive given the condition of the property and the location. If you drive two more miles towards Manuel Antonio there are a whole lot more options that are closer to restaurants and the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las-cascadas, Manager at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
There is no doubt , some people should just go to all inclusive resorts. I love that he called the area a little too authentic. Thats what people normally come for. If you want to escape from reality go to Disneyland. Sorry we were not what you had expected. ------not really!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We enjoyed being at this location which was like being in the National Park with the beautiful flowers, birds and trees. The rooms had a unique character that added to the ambiance of being in an area near a jungle. It is a family owned and there was a great deal of attention to our needs - booking tours, travel to and from the Park. There was a wonderful breakfast for purchase each morning that included fruit grown on the property. At this time we met other guests and enjoyed
learning of their experiences.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I was traveling to Costa Rica by myself, and a little nervous, but Gary and his family took good care of me. They helped me book tours, transportation, and find good places to eat. They even gave me a ride to the dock my cruise disembarked from.

The hotel itself is pretty cute. My room was high up and I had a wonderful view. The sounds of the jungle lulled me to sleep at night and I got to hear tropical birds singing in the morning. I was also lucky enough to see some white faced monkeys hanging on the tree outside my room. The sloth on the grounds is the cutest and I snapped dome awesome pics of it.

Anyway, the customer service is what really makes this hotel worth it. I highly recommend if you are staying in Quepos or Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonbolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights, March 23 - 25, and really enjoyed our stay.
Room - We stayed in the same room that is right off the parking area, and all of the things that the other reviewer complained about, I felt gave the room character. The room was big enough for the three of us, it was clean (no scorpions, or pests of any kind!!), and the bathroom/shower area was perfectly fine. There is a small fridge and coffee machine, not really much of a sitting area, but not sure why you need it because you can sit on the bed, or GO OUTSIDE! The bed was huge and quite comfortable. Two minor things are that the room could have used a bit more light, and a safe in the room is always good, but we were able to use the one in the office, so no problem. There are a variety of rooms if ours doesn't sound like it would meet your needs.
Staff/Owners - Very nice and friendly. Gary (owner) had lots of tips for us about restaurants and places to explore. He booked a tour for us, and helped another girl book her flight. His wife and sons are often around, and are also friendly and helpful, gives the place a nice feel. Other staff were always working hard and smiling.
Grounds - Top notch!! Lots of flowers and greenery. Great pool area, with a deep end, and nice lounge beds. Beautiful birds flying around, and best of all, a sloth, who hung out in the tree by the pool the whole time we were there. People in the rooms higher up saw monkeys as well. Nice little breakfast area by the pool with good food, a full breakfast for $7 each, reasonable.
Price - I did lots of research before choosing this place, and our room, at about $120/night is a moderate price, and totally worth it for what we got. (CR is not cheap, unless you are staying at a hostel type place.)
Location - In the town of Quepos, a 15 minute bus ride to MA Park (we did not have a car, no problem, less than 60 cents for bus each way, and so easy). The walk to town takes less than 10 minutes, you walk through a lane with Costa Rican homes on each side, sometimes kids are out playing, or dogs are out lounging, past a school where where they always seem to be playing soccer, down a short hill (a tiny bit of a climb on the way back), and go for a couple of blocks and there you are. Nice town, you get a bit of a feel for the culture when you walk around, some nice beaches, was told you can swim there, but rarely saw people in the water. Some nice restaurants.
Things to do - Manuel Antonio Park is a must , get a guide, and barter with them for a lower price (they ask $20/person), you will see lots of animals and they will put your camera on a telescope for great pictures. Villa Vanilla was worth the $50 each, good for all ages.
Restaurants - El Grande Escape for good food like home, a bit expensive, but big portions. Banana Club for an interesting Costa Rican experience, good food friendly service. El Avion for an amazing view and okay food.
If interested check review of place we stayed before this in Santa Teresa (Canaima Chill House), and place after this in San Jose (Hotel Aranjunez).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaKO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
2.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cascadas The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cascadas The Falls

Property: Las Cascadas The Falls
Address: Zona Americana, Tipo H | Road to the Marina Pez Vela, 250 Mts West, Zona Americana, Tipo H, Manuel Antonio National Park 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Condotel Las Cascadas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cascadas The Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cascadas “The Falls” is family-owned Boutique Hotel located in the Town of Quepos, just minutes away from the world famous Manuel Antonio National Park and all its wonders. Our Hotel offers individually designed accommodations with options on one, two or three bedrooms, all with a tropical elegance design, we give you the ideal natural environment for family vacation, romantic getaway or business travel. The convenient location of Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” offers an incomparable natural setting on lushly landscapes with ocean views from some of our rooms, only three hours away from Juan Santamaria International Airport in San Jose. Enjoy endless summers with near perfect weather, balmy trade winds, and blue waters on a vacation in Costa Rica – the beauty is all yours to explore and experience. Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” is situated in one of the most popular tourist destinations in all Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park, here you can experience the true essence of the area, sloths, white-faced monkeys and howler monkeys are part of the wildlife that you will get to see inside the park, this among countless tropical flora of Costa Rica. The Hotel is located within walking distance from Nahomi Bay, (perfect sunset spot), Quepos Town, where all the small shops, supermarkets, pharmacies and other facilities are situated and the famous Marina Pez Vela is where you will find the area’s best restaurants, all with different options of Food & Beverages and a gorgeous ocean views. The stunning waters of the Pacific Ocean create a wonderful setting for Tours & Activities, such as snorkeling, sailing, stand up paddle boarding, and scuba diving, for the adventurers souls, tours like canopy (zip-line), white water rafting, ATV’s are always available for our guests. Quepos is among the world’s top destinations for Sport Fishing. Home of the 2017 Offshore World Championship. If you believe the surrounding beauty of the Manuel Antonio National Park and the offshore islands are overwhelming, just imagine how you will feel catching a giant blue marlin! Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” is perfectly integrated into the lush tropical environment and provides a comfortable and private retreat. Visit Costa Rica, Explore Manuel Antonio and stay at Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Las Cascadas The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condotel Las Cascadas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Las Cascadas The Falls Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing