We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpfull staff, hotel not in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Cascadas The Falls
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very helpfull staff, hotel not in a great location”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This place has very good staff but the location is not really in quepos centre and far from the road to manuel antonio so we spent quite lots of money to move around with taxi, bikes are not an option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aura357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condotel L, Owner at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for your candid review and glad you enjoyed yourselves. Re our location , that is one of our best assets, not being on the main road to Manuel Antonio and not being in Quepos . We are only a 6-7 min walk to town and the park is no more than 10 to 15 min drive in car or bus. We are on 3 acres of land looking over the marina and this allows a prefect setting for birdwatchers or nature lovers .
Happy Trails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    83
    28
    28
    11
See reviews for
97
201
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great experience at Las Cascadas. The staff was so friendly and helpful, Jenet (sp?) the woman working in the front office was awesome, super accommodating. Our room had a great view (the rooms at the top have a heck of a climb, but it's worth it), and we would go back in a heartbeat. Good times all around :)

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have a steep climb, but they come with an amazing view once you're up there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las-cascadas, Front Office Manager at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! It was great meeting you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back again soon!
Janae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This review is about the "penthouse" room. We paid $250/night for this room which is featured in the professional photos. I would not pay $250/night to stay here again - I would look for one of the nicer places on the road to Manuel Antonio, or better yet, look for an out of the way place further south on route 34. We weren't too interested in crowds, so ended up bypassing Quepos and Manuel Antinio all together to visit Hacienda Baru and the more isolated beaches near Dominical.

We didn't get out too much, and it may be one of the nicest places to stay closest to the marina. For sure, you don't want to stay in downtown Quepos if you want to relax, and many of the hotels on the road to the park seemed cheesy. This place is kind of out of the way and our room was spacious and private. There were about 30 steps to get up to the place.

I am from Atlanta, and to best prepare you for what you will get, I would compare the feel to what you would get for booking an inexpensive condo on the Florida Panhandle or Gulf Shores. It is meant for travelers that want to cook meals in their room. You'll have the basics, but it is not a luxury resort. Room service is calling into town for a pizza.

The "Cascades" are water fountains scattered across the property. They were not working. The beautiful picture featured on Trip Advisor in the room had a pool of water in it but when we turned it on it just kind of dribbled.

I made an extensive list of the little annoyances with this room, like the uncomfortable sofa that slopes forward, the anemic air conditioner that wasn't on when we got there and didn't cool down the room until after the sun went down, the microwave that unplugs itself when you open the door, ants, the "Neversharp" kitchen knife that can barely cut a pineapple, mangos crashing on the roof regularly, and the iguana's loudly scratching on the roof. Breakfast seems to be an afterthought and was almost discouraged by the staff. But you don't have to let all this bother you too much. We just went to the store and bought a few things to eat and propped up the front of the sofa with a few of the novels left in the room. The ants didn't seem to be interested in people, we enjoyed the pool and the local wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericzundel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las-cascadas, Owner at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
I have read your review a couple of times and still trying to figure out what your point is. It seems full of contradictions and some very small issues . For example you say its better to stay on the road to Manuel Antonio but then call most of the hotels there ¨ cheesy¨ You stayed here but did not want to be in Quepos or Manuel Antonio. Its too bad that things like mangos , Iguanas and dull knives ruined your stay here .
Just for the record the water falls on our property are not turn off turn on type. They are all natural and we just came out of a very dry season. White water rafting would have been difficult in March -April . The small fountain in the Penthouse is designed to produce white noise and not a gushing water flow
We usually take all reviews into consideration and when we can improve, based on comments we do. So in this case , we sharpened the knife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had the canopy suite, good and clean room with a great view. It is a steep climb up to the room though so be prepared to sweat a bit. Only upsetting point was wi-fi does not reach the canopy suites even though it says the canopy suites include in room wi-fi on their website. There are no tvs in the canopy suites (this was expected) but was hoping to watch something on our tablets at night to fall asleep to. Other than that was a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMan9109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condotel L, Propietario at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks for staying with us and as always pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our Canopy and dome suites are definitely for the romantic adventurer that wants to disconnect . We do have several WiFi hotspots about the property if you need them . We have also just put in a large screen TV in the restaurant for everyones use. Happy trails and hope we see you all back again some time .
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This place is great.. You honestly feel like your staying with family.. Anyone who says getting to this place is difficult.. Just hasn't traveled.. Perfect setting!! Staff gets a double thumbs up!! Keep up the great work!! My son and I will be back soon

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las-cascadas, Front Office Manager at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for the great review! Our goal is to always provide our guests with a fun and friendly family atmosphere, or as you said a ¨home away from home¨. It was wonderful meeting you and your son and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Condotel las cascadas made our trip even more enjoyable. They we so willing to make accommodations for me and my family, and if we needed anything they would bring it to us right away. They had great recommendations for things to do there, and even set it up for you so you didn't have to worry about anything. It is a beautiful place too, you are up in the jungle and while we were staying at the hotel we even saw monkeys! Yet, it is still close to the city thAt if you wanted you could walk, and a bus is very easy to get as well. It is located in a very prime location to get the over all feel of Quepos. I would really recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las-cascadas, Front Office Manager at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We strive to provide our guests with the best recommendations for activities and restaurants in the area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Like any place, there's good an dbad.

Here's the good:

Pleasant helpful staff, clean room, good location if you have biz in Quepos, like fishing from a boat in the marina--great, or otherwise, and not M.A..

Here's the bad:

Location is good as I say if you have biz in Quepos, if not, horrible. It's in a tico neighborhood, not a commercial area, so you have dogs barking all night and roosters crowing at dawn--correct--roosters. And the units are built in the side of a hill--you like walking stairs, here's the place. And most people go to Quepos/m.A. for the beach. You're 15 minutes by cab to the beach. Walk into Quepos for the bus? 30-60 minutes depending on timing and traffic.

Cascade what?There are no cascades; a man made system that wasn't working and hadn't, accoding to the groundskeeper, for months. Corny idea in the first place for "au natural CR"

Unit I was in was very nice but I am glad it wasn't my reservation for $120 a night. $65 would have been more then fair.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank llm1980_quepos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condotel L, Owner at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. You are right ¨the reviews are accurate¨except yours, To begin saying that its a 30 to 60 min walk to Quepos --- Maybe on your hands and knees --- is stretching your credability right there my friend . But you were right that most reviews are correct and since we have almost a 90% acceptance from our guests most of them must be right . There is always going to be some customers that feel this was just not a good fit for them especially since we stepped out of the cookie box when we designed our facility . After 20 years in this business , if thats only 10 % were are not doing too bad.
From reading all your other reviews of the area there was not too much you liked here anywhere.
Happy trails
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,435 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cascadas The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cascadas The Falls

Property: Las Cascadas The Falls
Address: Zona Americana, Tipo H | Road to the Marina Pez Vela, 250 Mts West, Zona Americana, Tipo H, Manuel Antonio 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Condotel Las Cascadas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cascadas The Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cascadas “The Falls” is family-owned Boutique Hotel located in the Town of Quepos, just minutes away from the world famous Manuel Antonio National Park and all its wonders. Our Hotel offers individually designed accommodations with options on one, two or three bedrooms, all with a tropical elegance design, we give you the ideal natural environment for family vacation, romantic getaway or business travel. The convenient location of Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” offers an incomparable natural setting on lushly landscapes with ocean views from some of our rooms, only three hours away from Juan Santamaria International Airport in San Jose. Enjoy endless summers with near perfect weather, balmy trade winds, and blue waters on a vacation in Costa Rica – the beauty is all yours to explore and experience. Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” is situated in one of the most popular tourist destinations in all Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park, here you can experience the true essence of the area, sloths, white-faced monkeys and howler monkeys are part of the wildlife that you will get to see inside the park, this among countless tropical flora of Costa Rica. The Hotel is located within walking distance from Nahomi Bay, (perfect sunset spot), Quepos Town, where all the small shops, supermarkets, pharmacies and other facilities are situated and the famous Marina Pez Vela is where you will find the area’s best restaurants, all with different options of Food & Beverages and a gorgeous ocean views. The stunning waters of the Pacific Ocean create a wonderful setting for Tours & Activities, such as snorkeling, sailing, stand up paddle boarding, and scuba diving, for the adventurers souls, tours like canopy (zip-line), white water rafting, ATV’s are always available for our guests. Quepos is among the world’s top destinations for Sport Fishing. Home of the 2017 Offshore World Championship. If you believe the surrounding beauty of the Manuel Antonio National Park and the offshore islands are overwhelming, just imagine how you will feel catching a giant blue marlin! Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” is perfectly integrated into the lush tropical environment and provides a comfortable and private retreat. Visit Costa Rica, Explore Manuel Antonio and stay at Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Las Cascadas The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condotel Las Cascadas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Las Cascadas The Falls Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing