We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We found this hotel after walking all throughout the small central location on Manuel Antonio Park. Here they have places at rates for backpackers, budget, and $100 and up.
After looking all around and asking to see many rooms we decided to stay here.
The location is right at the park exit (which you can enter if you have tickets), and is across from the beach. The rooms are standard. Two beds and average decor. This is the best place if you want to be on the beach and close to the park for under $100. We have a ocean view room with patio. It is a bit noisy during the day since the hotel is located directly across from a busy bus stop. However, this is a great jumping off point for all of the Manuel Antonio adventure. You dont need more than two and half days here, very touristy spot. I recommend going to Santa Teresa and staying at Casa Marbella for a real vacation.
If you want to have a pool and dont mind if you have ocean views the Hotel Playa Espadilla also had rooms for under $100. I found this hotel the next day and would have definitely considered it.
If you dont mind being right in town. My husband and I really liked the grounds of Costa Verde. It is a beautiful jungle setting the reception and the four restaurants are all impressive as well. It is a bit of an uphill walk from the park, can be quite long for some. If you have a car or take a taxi it is not far at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dlitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

I just read a review that made me smile. Aparently someone booked a backbacker room and wasn't happy with it. Don't rent a backbacker room if you are going to be easily grossed out. That just comes with backbacking territory. THIS PLACE IS GREAT!

My boyfriend and I just returned from a CR trip and we stayed here three nights. We were in room number 2 and felt that it was the perfect room because it was directly across from the beach, on the first floor, and a quick walk to our car in the parking lot. The room was super clean—in fact it couldn't have been any cleaner. The staff was friendly and kept to themselves, the place is in the perfect location on the strand, and close to the exit/entrance of the park. The only thing I wouldn't recommend about the hotel is the eatery. The food was average and overpriced. Besides, you don't realllly want to eat at your hotel restauraunt anyway, right? Get out an explore the other fun eateries nearby!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KateySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I stayed in one of backpacker rooms above the restaurant. I expected rustic and charming. What I got was truly disgusting. We're talking chunks-of-feces-in-the-toilet disgusting. Ratty towels. Sand all over the bathroom. A roll of toilet paper with dirt on the end!!! Smells like a bus station. Filthy mirrors -- like 20 people had brushed their teeth before me. I'm scared to take a shower.

The hotels makes a point that these are the rooms the restaurant rents out (for $40 a night). But the cleanliness of the rooms makes me want to avoid the restaurant at all costs. Also, these are presented as the "budget end" of the hotel. But it's still part of the hotel. Do not gross yourself out in the name of location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serichards33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

The Hotel is really good and the price is very acceptable. The rooms are comfortable and you are just in front of the beach and meters from the entrance to the "Manuel Antonio" Park. Do not hesitate staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoniaCristina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Hotel Manuel Antonio and were very pleased with our experience here. We could not have asked for a better location, since it is literally right across the street from the beach and the entrance to the National Park is in it's backyard. The beaches are very nice and only a bit rocky. If you get a chance to go into the national park, take advantage of the beaches in there as they have virtually have no rocks and are much more swimming friendly.

The staff is exceptionally friendly, Mauricio was our favorite. They will give you recommendations on places to eat, tours to do and anything else you could need. The staff at the Hotel's restaurant is just as friendly and the food is good and decently priced.

A draw back to the close location to the beach is that the hotel is far away from pretty much everything else. So be prepared to take the bus or a cab, or walk quite a ways to get to any of the restaurants. The most expensive cab ride we took was about 7 dollars and that was about a 5-10 minute cab ride. The bus is 240 Colones (about 50 cents per person). Walking can be difficult in the extreme heat and it is mostly all up hill walking. We had few issues with our room such as water pressure but those things are expected here. There is air conditioning, cable tv and a safe in every room. We wished there was a fridge in the room to keep things like bottled water or some beer but it wasn't a big deal. The room was cleaned everyday and we were given fresh towels daily. One thing that really bothered me was there are no rugs whatsoever in the room or bathroom. It could get pretty slippery on the tile floor after coming back from the beach or after showering. I would have liked something to wipe my feet on.

Overall it was a great experience and if we are to ever return to the area we will be sure to stay at Hotel Manuel Antonio again!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashes0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This place is great!! The price was great - for two night stay in a double, we paid $185 including all taxes. The location is unbeatable - right across the street is a glorious beach straight out of a Hollywood film of paradise - white sand, turquoise water, palm trees, beautiful sunsets. We were astounded how nice this place was. There is a safe in each room for locking small stuff up while you are out.
The location is terrific - you can walk right to the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park - after we walked through all the park trails and watched the monkeys and raccoons, we returned to our room, put on our bathing suits, and walked back into Manuel Antonio Park to go swimming and enjoy their fantastic beaches. This was such a nice place. Don't stay in Quepos, even if it is a bit cheaper - the 9 km road from Quepos to Manuel Antonio is windy, narrow and full of traffic and pedestrians. Also, there is no where to park in Quepos.
This might have been our most expensive hotel in Costa Rica, but in was well worth it. The staff was quite friendly. The rooms are quiet - no noise from surrounding rooms, no noise from the street. Plenty of parking. The sunsets are unbeatable! The only negative thing I can say is that a free breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

What a great place to stay! Our room was clean, well appointed and the rate was good. Location was fantastic. Right by the beach, walking distance to the Manuel Antonio Park. Near a bus station so easy to get around and go to restaurants.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Trevorz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Prats Hotel
Villa Prats Hotel
#29 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manuel Antonio

Address: End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £58 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Manuel Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Hotel
Hotel Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing