We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Lost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Hicksville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise Lost”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Maybe it is because I am an American tourist but I come to expect simple things from a hotel. Like free ice for the room, especially when a fridge is not included. Breakfast was included but the typical breakfast, which is what we were supposed to get, was only provided on the second day. The wifi signal was only really available close to the front office and even then it was choppy. I know we are in paradise and should disconnect, but sometimes you just want to read your email in your underwear and you can't do that if you have to walk downstairs to the front desk.

They get 2 stars because of the location and view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Eat at other restaurants if you book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imaginess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    87
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
72
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our adventure started off with getting picked up by our driver, Marvin, at the airport. Our trip from the airport to the hotel took a bit longer than 2.5 hours, but that was because he showed us some great things along the way (macaws, toucans, great view of the pacific, crocodiles, and stopping for some mango smoothies). We were happy to have him for the trip back at the end of the vacation. He was wonderful and made our first experience in Costa Rica a positive one.

I was a bit nervous traveling as this was the biggest trip our family has ever taken. So of course, I inundated concierge with many questions prior to arrival. Waharner was wonderful in being patient and forthcoming with information. This continued throughout our stay from both he and Hilda. Dennis was also great to work with as well as the entire front staff, I just didn't get everyone's name.

We stayed here for 8 nights and never gave it a second thought during our stay. The staff is wonderful and truly want to make your stay as relaxing as possible. The pictures make the hotel seem larger than it is, but it truly is just the right size. We didn't think the walk to any part of the property was arduous and it was definitely needed after the tasty breakfast. My favorite was the banana bread, fresh pineapple, and crispy bacon.

The view from our room was stunning and the only noise we had other than other guests are also at the hotel, were the ocean waves and some nights the sound of the howler monkeys. The rooms are clean and the room safe was just the right size. It would have been nice to have a couple more hooks to hang towels to dry, but that's not a big deal. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and just taking in the sounds and scenery.

We found taking the free shuttle to the beach/park was great, but it was quick and easy to just take the public bus back to Si Como No so you didn't feel like you were on any time line to be rushed or wait too long. The public bus is only 280 colones (roughly 60 cents per trip per person). We then either walked to restaurants and shops or took the bus.

It was nice to not have to pack beach towels as you could check them out for either the pool or the beach or for a tour. My husband and daughter enjoyed the movie theater a few nights, but often we were too tired from the fun tours to do much else.

We only ate at Rico Tico twice. Once for dinner and once for dessert. It was very tasty and the service was great, just a bit pricey.

We liked having a refrigerator in the room so we could keep our water cold and any leftovers that could be eaten cold (like pizza from Pizza Plata).

Even though we could have used the adult pool, we preferred the family pool as it was cozier and had more shade.

We did many tours and they were all wonderful. Our favorites were the Combined Santa Juana and Canopy tour. This is best best place to see a lot, learn a lot, and get a fabulous meal as well as buy top quality coffee. We also really enjoyed the Villa Vanilla and Rafting. If you are ever here during a Friday evening, we strongly suggest going to the farmers market in Quepos. It's on the walkway by the beach wall and you can take the bus to the last stop (bus terminal) and walk a couple blocks. This was a fabulous trip and we would stay at Si Como No again.

Be aware that there is a "donation" for the titi monkey added to your bill at a cost of $2/day. It is in the paperwork you sign when you check in.

Overall a fabulous place to be and we miss it already.

Room Tip: We were in #32 which was just far enough to not get all the noise from the road or the pool, but clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hotel met all my needs; great location, clean, comfortable and beach view. The staff was great. I basically paid for the location because I could have paid less somewhere else, but the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hucker1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2013

this hotel is very clean, great location,Daniel and Flor(owners) are great people,couldn't be friendlier,always make you feel welcome. stay here everytime we go to Costa rica (if they have
room). we have always had breakfast included with the price. wouldn't miss staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is pretty basic, but has great staff, very clean, comes with a safe, a nice patio, tv, very spacious and you can't beat the location. The beach is right across the street and the national park is a 5 minute walk away. This hotel is also a couple minutes from restaurants, shops and groceries. It's a little over priced but I paid for the location so it was worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the beach so you can watch the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matino, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel with a great location
No breakfast, good food in the small center, the 2 restaurants next to the hotel are very expensive with bad food
The beach is wonderful. Need to negotiate the price, 3 chairs and an ombrella $ 10
Lot of activities and fabuoulos national park with a lot of monkey, iguana and other animal - recommend to visit it on early morning - wonderful beaches
Pura vida

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The hotel is directly across the street from the beach. Our room (4) faced the street and beach. We really have no complaints about our room, could not hear through the walls, there was working a/c and a fan, TV, hot water, decent beds, and the room was clean. More than good for the price we paid. Our complaint comes with the restaurant service, we had continental breakfast included with our room. On our first morning we arrived at 7am (when they opened) as we had a tour of the park scheduled for 7:45am pick up. There we only 3 other tables of two people each, we did not get coffee till 7:30, our breakfast arrived at 7:40, at 7:42 our bus arrived. I watched and saw that every other table recieved their food in a timely fashion including another couple who arrived at 7:20 - they had their food before us. It was the waiter - he just ignored us. Let me tell you we are not high class or complainers in any way, he just totally ignored us - obviously we did not get breakfast that day. We did however go back a couple days later, the waitress was on top of things - we were in and out in 1/2 hour. There are a couple shops and grocery stores and several hotels and restaurants with in walking distance, but get on the bus, it was 285 colones .60-70 cents. Can't get lost from hotel Manuel Antonio it takes you to the station in downtown Quepos. From the station back to the hotel you cant stop almost anywhere in between. Would we stay at Manuel Antonio again - yes it would be our first pick because of its location and the rooms were fine, we may not choose to have the breakfast included thats all.

Room Tip: Must be rooms 1-8 or 10 that have beach views, patios and balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doobie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#26 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manuel Antonio

Property: Hotel Manuel Antonio
Address: End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Manuel Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Hotel
Hotel Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing