We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location, Average Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Location, Average Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I agree with other reviewers, the Manuel Antonio Hotel has wonderful location right across the street from the ocean. Step out and enjoy the incredible sunsets. The owners plan to make improvements to the place including new bedding (desperately needed) and a pool. Just watch, when those improvements are made, you won't be able to get a double room for $98/night. The proximity to the national park is wonderful. We were not impressed with food at the restaurant so we walked down the street to the Marlin Restaurant and others. Very handy location

Room Tip: Ask for a street/ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    87
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
70
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Setting is amazing. View and bird watching superb and restful after travelling a lot throughout Costa Rica. Staff very helpful, food great. Good shuttle service to Manuel Antonio Nature reserve and beach.
Tastefully designed interior. Altogether a good advert for ecology principles.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The hotel is right across the road from the beach with fantastic views from some of the rooms. Manuel Antonio national park is right behind the hotel. Many shops and restaurants in walking distance. Only a short cab ride to more restaurants or into Quepos.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank tish2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I found a fantastic taxi driver who had tremendous knowledge of history and tourism who took me to the Manuel Antonio Hotel at the entrance of the Manuel Antonio National Park. The hotel is exactly across from the beach, so no auto is necessary after checking in. Each room has 2 double beds and a lanai. The owners plan to build a swimming pool soon, but there is no pool at this time. The restaurant has an interesting menu and is very reasonably priced. I enjoyed it very much. You might call Alex at 60-12-17-73 to pick you up from the airport. If you don't speak Spanish, Alex does speak perfect English. Not all taxi drivers in Costa Rica speak English, but I never had a bad experience with taxi drivers either. Manuel Antonio Hotel is not a luxury hotel and seems a bit run down, but the location is perfect for the beach and the value is excellent for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms are identical. The only difference is that some rooms on the first floor and others on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

After a day touring the park we stopped at the Manuel Antonio Hotel's restaurant and the food was great and cheap!! Definitely would eat here again! I had the nachos and my friend had the casado! Nice place to stop and eat while people watching!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzDesertGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is right next door to the Manuel Antonio National Park. You have to pay $10 US per person to access the park but well worth the cost. There is a hike of about 1/2 mil on a fairly easy dirt/gravel road to the beach with many sights along the way. For another $50 US you can hire a guide to show you the wildlife with a telescope. There are a plethora of wild monkeys, sloths, raccoons, deer, crabs, etc of animals to see along the way to the beach and at the beach. We even saw a viper coiled up in the tree but far enough away to not pose a threat to us. The beach was clean and free of salesmanship. There are also changing/showering/bathroom facilities at the beach area. From the hotel, there is also a path with access to the public beach. There are plenty of street vendors to sell everything from boogie board rental, to drinks to T-shirts to pottery to massages. Not bad for beach access, considering it is free to enter. The hotel had 3 pools and the rooms were nice. They had free wifi when it worked and the breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is located at the entrance (and exit) of Manual Antonio Park. The rooms overlook a pretty beach and a pleasant courtyard. There is HOT WATER, which is important for anyone who has spent some time in CR. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and spacious, and attached restaurant is reasonably priced and provides good homecooked meals.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.7 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#33 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manuel Antonio

Property: Hotel Manuel Antonio
Address: End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Hotel
Hotel Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing