We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of stairs and a few other issues but overall still nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
Ranked #6 of 17 Manuel Antonio B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs and a few other issues but overall still nice”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We travelled with a tour group, and this hotel was the worst of the 4 we used. First the bad....one lady in our group tripped going up the stairs as they are of uneven heights. She ended up with a black eye. Another couple had water leaks falling onto their bed and a few other places in their room. The curtains are too small to close completely, so be prepared to give everyone a free show. One of the couple's curtains even completely fell down when they tried to close them. I heard complaints from others about the shower design. The pool is not meant for kids as there is no shallow end. The lobby is slippery when wet! This is the only hotel of the ones we used that didn't allow you to serve yourself during the free breakfast. Keep this in mind if you're trying to get out of there for any timed tour because you'll need to wait in line behind other guests as each is individually served. The safes do not use a code but a key, so if you lose the key, you must pay them $120. They had a band or DJ playing until 10pm at night and we had to get up early for a tour, so this was very annoying. They recommended a horse riding tour company (Finca Valmy Tours), which turned out to be really bad because they do not pay their guides any salary and expect them to work only on tips. Hotels should be wary to recommend tour companies if they are not familiar with their policies as it can ruin their reputation to be associating with such scum. Now the good....the property has beautiful plants and it's not far from Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: If you want to climb less stairs pick Rooms 1-5. 6-10 are upstairs in the same building. Any other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabulia T, Public Relations Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Claire,

Thank you for giving us input on what we can do to improve our hotel to make the stay of all of our future guests better. All your points will be given to management so that they can be fixed. We are glad you enjoyed our property and natural gardens throughout the property. We look forward to having you back here on your next trip to Sunny Costa Rica!

- J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    54
    31
    13
    18
See reviews for
33
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in room number 1. Overall a good stay. Quiet at night, good breakfast buffet, pretty grounds, clean, basic room. Just be aware that there's a climb by steep ramp & stairs to the rooms, plus about 50 stairs to get to the pool, if you're in the lower building. I'd not recommend for anyone with walking problems. The smoothie I got from the bar area of the Bamboo Jam restaurant was yummy! Lastly, this hotel isn't within an easy walk from town, taxi or bus ride advised.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ConnieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabulia T, Public Relations Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hey Connie,

Thanks for writing us this nice review, we always appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know how their stay was and any improvements you think we should do to make the stays of all our future guests as enjoyable as possible. Manuel Antonio is all on a hill and to preserve the natural environment we build on hills as to not hurt any trees and disrupt the local wildlife, so that always means a bit more stairs to get around. We would love to have you come stay with us again soon.

- J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was part of a tour package. The rooms are clean & simple, phones but no clocks. However, the rooms start out at about 2 stories above the reception/office area! There is no elevator & no handicap access! The pool is about 4 stories up. The room air conditioners work well if you can figure out the remote control. The air conditioner has bright lights which are like super night lights & very annoying, however you can turn off the digital temperature light.

The safety deposit boxes in the rooms required a simple key which you had to obtain from the office. They do not use the keypad & electronics due to the high humidity. The boxes are needed for you passports, money, & valuables, & were free as all hotels. However, in order to get the key you are required to sign a paper (blackmailed) that states if you lose the key to the safety deposit box they will automatically charge you $120! The key is a simple, low security key that should cost no more that $2-3 dollars to copy.

The pool looked nice by the Jacuzzi did not work. The free WiFi was very poor to non--functional.

We looked the room prices up online & it was $90 - 200; I might pay $40. The restaurant review is separate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_in_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabulia T, Public Relations Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
David, I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was unpleasant. We do our best to accommodate everyone and I am sorry that the stairs up to the pool were too much for you. As we are in Costa Rica almost everything is built on a hill. We don't have a jacuzzi by the pool just a small shallow childs pool. The safety box policy is put into effect because there is only 1 key per box and inside the key is a digital chip so that it cannot be copied. We chose this style safe so that you are the only one that can access your safe and your contents will be 100% secure as long as you have your key. We will take all what you said into account and use it to make the stays of all future guests better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio hotels

1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Right off the main road, Tabulia Tree was easy to find and had ample parking. The staff was not pushy and was very helpful.
The restaurant food was great and the smoothie bar had tasty, unique smoothies.
The rooms were nicer than expected and the air conditioning in the room was appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinMoravcik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabulia T, Public Relations Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you Martin for letting us know how your stay with us went. We pride ourself in always having our staff be as helpful and accommodating to our guests as possible. I am glad that your trip with us was satisfactory and we look forward to having you back down soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hi there, i just spent a couple nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The grounds are well kept and the natural jungle surroundings are beautiful! The rooms are cozy and offer all the necessary amenities. The restaurant provides wholesome foods with a local flare. You can also get amazingly delicious smoothies at the Yummy Tummy smoothie bar attached to the famous Bamboo Jam! Close to Manuel Antonio park and the beaches...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabulia T, Public Relations Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hey Alex. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience staying with us. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay and we will have a cold smoothie waiting for your next time you get down here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodridge, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After spending three nights here, we began to feel like family. The staff is incredibly friendly (shout out to our friends Roy, Melvin and Johanna!) and the grounds are jungle-like and gorgeous. We had to walk up quite a hill to get to our room (there were steps also), but we had a lovely little front porch overlooking the lush greenery, and a hammock hanging right in front of our room. Authentic Costa Rican rocking chairs also graced the patio/porch. I loved exploring each morning (saw Blue Morpho Butterflies) and taking photos of the flowers and birds. The restaurant was a great open-air place to hang out with friendly staff to talk with. Johanna's juice bar was healthy and delicious. Breakfasts were typical Costa Rican fare with lots of fruit, pinto gallos, plantains and other specialties each morning and wonderful coffee. Very convenient to the beach and national park, as well as the fun little town of Quepos.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are wonderful. We had a "budget" one, and it was plenty large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabulia T, General Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much!!!!!
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas - Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I just read some of the previous reviews and am shocked by some of the complaints. This is a unique hotel built into a hill amidst the natural plants and trees of the forest. We stayed in a "tree house" built out of beautiful wood. If you are looking to stay in American chains everywhere you travel you will miss much of what is special about leaving home and experiencing a new culture. The staff is wonderfully friendly and accommodating and made us feel welcome our entire stay. The hotel is in a row with all the hotels from Quepos to MA - all located within a five mile stretch. The bus stop is right in front if you choose not to walk the winding road to the park, so I am not sure why location would be a complaint unless, of course, there was a particular landmark one wished to stay on top of, which in that case they should have booked in that location. The mighty internet is full of information these days. The hotel does involve walking up and down steps to get to your room. However, if a person is complaining about these steps I am quite certain they will not fare well hiking many trails in MA park, and surely will miss the vast majority of a mountainous country. Much of the charm of the hotel is the setting, so I am surprised steps would be something to complain about. The staff carries your luggage for you. For a minimally active person the steps should prove to be no problem. The pool is clean and refreshing with plenty of lounge chairs. The breakfast, included, offered plenty of choices. We particularly enjoyed all of the fresh fruit. Liquor is available in the restaurant/bar, which is also unique and made entirely out of tiki (teak) wood. Lastly, plumbing. We did not have any issues. Many parts of the world do not have the same plumbing as the US. If you are not prepared for differences, perhaps you should stay closer to your home where standard hotel chains are readily available.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlo678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabulia T, General Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
♫♪.ılılıll|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|̲̅̅=̲̅̅|̲̅̅●̲̅̅|llılılı.♫♪
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas - Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
1.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2.3 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas

Property: Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entire property is covered with beautiful flowers and exotic plants from all over the country. There are plenty of places to take memorable photos with the family while being surrounded by flowers. Rooms come in several variations and categories, in order to accommodate every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing