We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful area of Costa Rica”

Playa Manuel Antonio
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Manuel Antonio National Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Costa Rica's most popular beaches, Playa Manuel Antonio frequently hosts parties and festivals, and it is an ideal destination for avid surfers.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful area of Costa Rica”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We didn't know what to expect when traveling to Manuel Antonio, but I can't emphasize enough what a beautiful town it is. Almost every restaurant is cliffside with spectacular views of the ocean. Lots of restaurants to choose from! Beautiful, spacious beaches with what it appeared to be good surf. Great town for couples!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank karly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,347
    952
    313
    86
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watch out for the raccoons!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My rating is excellent because what happened to me doesn't change my opinion. We decided to not take a tour. We ended up seeing just as much wild life without it because you just look for groups of people stopped and look up. Everyone is helpful. It was a short nature walk to beach #3 Manuel Antonio Beach. The beach is gorgeous!! We found a nice spot under a Palm tree and headed to the water then a walk down the beach. When we returned we saw our backpack had been opened and our things were strewn. Turns out the raccoons had undone the zipper. Nothing was missing-we had a laugh. Then when it was lunch time I was sitting on my towel minding my own business when a raccoon came up and bit my arm to get me to drop the sandwich!! Lesson: BEWARE! But we got amazing photos of monkeys

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Beach!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Loved the beach and relaxed atmosphere! A must visit in Manuel Antonio! Loved that you could easily rent a chair and umbrella. Vendors were plentiful but respectful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cappuccinos monkeys”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

great water, not so many people.
But the great attraction is the monkeys. all the tour we took we almost didn't see any of them. and then on the beach... they were all there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dafna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This beach was the prettiest beach in the area. We walked through the pathway of Manuel Antonio Park (which was just a gravel path in the rainforest) to this beach. I went during rain season (last week of May) and so there were not that many people, but the sun was high and it only rained around 1pm-4pm. We saw the white-faced monkeys on the beach along with the raccoons who are not afraid to snatch a sandwich right from your hands, so be careful with your belongings and food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing