We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful nature, a lot animals and crowds ”

Playa Manuel Antonio
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Manuel Antonio National Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Costa Rica's most popular beaches, Playa Manuel Antonio frequently hosts parties and festivals, and it is an ideal destination for avid surfers.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
189 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful nature, a lot animals and crowds ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The park is small and there is a lot of crowds. It's well preserved and you will walk on wooden or concrete sidewalks which takes a bit (a lot) from the impression. But you will definitely see a lot if animals - even without a guide. They cross the routs without a fear.

The walk takes about 2 hours with stoping on viewpoints or you can just go to the beach and swim (DO NOT FORGET SWIMMING SUITE)

Just be careful, there are sometimes crocodiles in the sea. So do not take the chance and do not swim alone, in the night or if the guides tell you not to.

Helpful?
Thank Zdekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,349
    953
    313
    86
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

All beaches in this area are nice, but this one is huge! Take long walks and even grab a surf board.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The water was very warm and beautiful. The people are very nice and laid back all around. Took amazing pictures of the amazing rocks surrounding the bay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CCindy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A "must-do" when visiting Manuel Antonio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Manuel Antonio was the first stop in our 11-day visit to Costa Rica and our favourite! The trail through Manuel Antonio National Park and stop at Playa Manuel Antonio is a MUST-DO! Guide packages cost $40-60 per person through various tour companies and hotels that we found, so we opted for a $6 taxi to the park entrance and $10 entrance fee. Even though we weren't sure we wanted or needed a guide, we met Frederic right outside the park who offered to guide our family of 4 through the park for $60. Most of the other tour groups we saw were quite large (and probably paid more). Frederic and his telescope allowed us to see so many rainforest animals that we otherwise would have never spotted (sloths, a frog, spiders, bats, lizards, crabs, insects, birds). Pictures through his telescope turned out great! The tour ends when you reach the beautiful beach where the white-face monkeys and racoons hang out. We spent the next few hours at the beach, swimming, suntanning and watching the sneaky animals. Watch for the waves rolling in and soaking your belongings and as funny as their stealing is, keep food well secured and away from the monkeys and racoons. They have high cholesterol!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesit05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itu, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Urban beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The only beach where you can by beer at. There's adventure water sport.
Close to restaurants and hotels.
Sunset is beautiful

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvertonEhrhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing