We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
La Mansion Inn(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villas El Parque(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mandarina(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
556
155
61
26
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
155
61
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoontoilet areaopen showerthe penthousecosta ricaevery morningflower petalsfloor to ceiling windowssmall beachromantic getawaycouples massagesmall hotelnational parkplaya biesanzmaster suitebreakfast was includedperfect hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2008

I have never written a Trip Advisor hotel review before but I have had such a bad experience dealing with Issimo Suites that I feel compelled to write and warn anyone considering this hotel for both a stay or wedding in Costa Rica.

I had booked the entire hotel for my upcoming wedding later this year. After being promised the wedding day of my dreams by the owner (Tim) and confirming all details in writing (which should be legally binding), things started to unravel quickly manking them unable to deliver on a number of commitments they had promised us.

Months after telling our guests that we had reserved a venue, getting our hopes up and printing Save the Dates, this hotel re-negged on everything they had promised to deliver- i mean, every detail. To make matters worse, they would email me to advise me that we could no longer do this or that and needed pay more and would then not respond to my emails for close to a month at a time!!! Leaving me to worry and stress and lose sleep due to their lack of professionalism.

After 6 months of this back and forth and run around we made the difficult decision to move our wedding to another venue - a venue that has its wedding policy well defined and it has been smooth sailing ever since. After informing Issimo of our decision in writing, I asked for a formal response from the owner. I have yet to hear anything - which, as a professional, I find disgraceful which is why I feel it's important you know about this. This is an expensive hotel and this type of service is deplorable not to mention made us feel that they didn't appreciate our business in the first place!

Just so you know, I am a very laid back bride to be - you have to be in order to have a destination wedding, i think. But this treatment was completely unprofessional not to mention ruined what should be an enjoyable process that we only (hopefully) do once!

If you want a beautiful wedding in Manuel Antonio that you had always envisioned with as little headaches/stress as possible - DO NOT HOLD IT HERE! THE OWNER DOES NOT STICK TO HIS WORD AND WILL CHANGE THINGS ON YOU ACCORDING TO HIS PERSONAL BELIEFS AND AGENDA!!!! we are just glad that we pulled the plug on Issimo now while we can still salvage our wedding day as opposed to waiting to be told of all these changes and extra expenses on the actual wedding day - it would have been completely ruined!

bottom line: Issimo does not know how to do weddings - don't believe what they tell you - they are unprofessional, disorganized and have no idea what they're doing!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank cancrlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We just got back from our honeymoon in Costa Rica and we spent the last four days at Issimo Suites in Manuel Antonio. Our room and the hotel were fantastic. We stayed in room 6 which has a great balcony with a full view of the Pacific. The hotel staff was incredibly courteous and Angel at the front desk was so helpful in setting up some tours and making sure that we had a nice time. We booked their honeymoon package which included a couples massage and dinner one night which they brought to us on our balcony. The massages were great and the food was pretty good. I'd eaten the tuna one night before and it was fantastic but the seafood pasta I had was not as good and their bread has spent too much time under a heat lamp. The view from the restaurant is fabulous and the included breakfast options are great. The service in the restaurant is so-so. Very nice and attentive if asked, but it's slow (even when compared to the rest of the country) and they make some mistakes (never brought my wine the first night even after asking twice, and they brought my husband the wrong order). these things would not normally bother us but since we were the only ones eating in the restaurant at the time it was slightly annoying.

The room is huge and has a nice layout. The "open" bathroom didn't bother us but I can understand how some people might not like it. They do provide a screen to give more modesty if needed. The jacuzzi tub was amazing to soak in after all our adventures. Our only complaint about the room is that the air conditioner is really, really loud - my husband compared it to a jack hammer and he wasn't too far off. We're not light sleepers but we actually turned it down during the day so that we could turn it off at night (the room has 2 ceiling fans as well) and this worked better for us.

The road to get to the hotel is a little steep if you were walking but with our rental car we made it up and down just fine. There is a great small beach Playa Biensanz just down the road from the hotel that was nice and quite. You have to go in the morning though because when the tide comes in around noon the beach pretty much disappears. We saw plenty of monkeys and sloths though on our way there.

Overall, the hotel was a fantastic place to end our honeymoon and we're definitely looking forward to returning sometime in the future. The personal service, beautiful views and great rooms more than make up for any small faults the hotel has.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hscottmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

Everything was great! The dining was good, the pool was good. The spa was great. The only things that could have made it better was if the air conditioner worked properly before we reported it and if the phone was not broken but besides that everything was AMAZING!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stefano98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

First the disappointment

Booking this place was so tedious we nearly gave up. There was only one member of staff who controlled the whole thing. If she wasnt there when we telephoned in frustration when emails werent responded to, then noone else had access to her correspondence. It took a week of email to-and-fro to get a tariff and offer for what we gave as our clear requirements in the first enquiry. During that time, the package price first increased by $150, which we accepted, and then after everything was confirmed and agreed, she admitted a mistake (we couldnt check it as she never gave us the individual prices) and asked us for a further $199 which we refused. She reconfirmed the price without this last extra, until we came to check out when she again asked us if we would like to pay it out of goodwill, again requiring our refusal. No great problem but it left a slightly bitter taste.

Everything else was wonderful:

The rough road down to the place mentioned by others. . . who cares? Taxis to town were fast and cheap and we were nearer the beach than anyone else. It was a short walk through the jungle in the company of monkeys and birds to a small cove with clean sand and warm gentle waves.

The room (No1 top floor) was large and beautiful with floor to ceiling wrap-around windows (glass walls on two sides) with the most magnificent views of bay, jungle, sky imaginable. A shame there was no terrace, other rooms have them.

There was the Jacuzzi with flower petals and other jungly flower arrangements so ridiculusly magnificent . . . passing any expectation even for our wedding.

The interior design of the room was comfortable fun and slightly whacky - just lovely.

The open shaded terrace dining room with reception desks and waterfall-wall feature was attractive and the waiting and concierge staff all excellent.

There is a funny little pool just big enough to bump your nose on the other side after a dive (why 3.5m deep?) but great fun with a sunbathing deck. We had it to ourselves off season, it may not have been so much fun if crowded

Free wifi internet works fine but doesn't stretch to the rooms which was probably a boon for the honeymoon. And there is a free desktop machine off the dining area.

Food was great, not restaurant wonderful but all flavoursome and well presented.

All in (almost) all - a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pura_Vida_Nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We stayed here for eight days and absolutely loved it!!! The room was so cool!!! A bit eclectic, but wow the place has some style. It was very clean and the jacuzzi was wonderful!!! The restuarant was also really good!! We had one meal that was amazing!! Breakfast is included and we enoyed it every morning. The staff really made an effort to help and made us feel very comfortable. It is perfect for those who want a smaller more intimate hotel. I would definately recommend the place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tmgskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews