We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a view!!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I spoke ahead of time with Maday (the manager) via email regarding our room. Originally she booked the honeymoon suite however, this room does not have a balcony. This room does possibly have the best views (two fulls walls of windows and the room is located on the top floor). The downside of of the honeymoon suite (I believe it is room #1) is there is no balcony and we really wanted a balcony to just hang out on. Maday had confirmed via email that she would put us in room #5 which has a balcony. When we arrived late the first night to check in however, we were given the keys to the honeymoon suite instead of #5 with the balcony. Since #5 was not available we stayed in the honeymoon suite. I'm glad we got a chance to experience both rooms however, I still have to say....I prefer the balcony room. Keep in mind the room with the balcony (#5) has one wall of windows as opposed to the honeymoon suite which has two walls of windows. Our second night Maday did switch us to room #5 which was then available (then moved our luggage for us while we were out). The staff was really amazing (Maday, the front desk and the waiters). Yes...as mentioned previously the toilets are in the same room as the bedroom only seperated by swinging wooden doors. In room #5 however, the room is so big-the bed at one end and the toilet at the other. My husband was not aware of the bathroom situation ahead of time and he did mention that he wasn't thrilled with the idea of not having a seperate bathroom (another good reason for the balcony!!!). The pool area was lovely. Some reviewers talked about it not being near the bar...Before going into the pool my husband and I both ordered drinks and they brought them to us and kept checking up on us (keep in mind-we're only talking about walking up a few steps to the next level to get to the bar/open restaurant area). Not a big deal at all if you do have to walk to order your drinks...
The hotel booked two of our trips...White water rafting with Rancho los Tucanes (which was one of the highlights of our trip). The guide-"Mega" was fantastic!
Also went on a catamaran/snorkeling trip thru Catamaran tours. I love sailing on Catamarans sinice they tend to be smoother on water. We also saw a dolpin and turtles on our sail. The snorkle itself was just OK. I found the ride and the lunch to be the best part of it! I would still do it again.

.All in all I found this a great place to stay...very romantic. Keep in mind this is a boutique hotel-not a resort.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    152
    59
    25
    23
See reviews for
34
604
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Amazing staff, great food, great room, beautiful scenary.....Issimo Suites is truely the place to fall in love..........

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannayDebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We spent four great nights in one of the junior penthouse suites (Suite 102) during our recent vacation in Costa Rica, and the stay was one of the highlights of our trip. We had been a bit nervous because of some of the critiques of management on Trip Advisor, but found all the staff at Issimo to be exceptional. We arrived just barely after check-in began after a long drive from Monteverde, and were greeted with complimentary mojitos, a warm welcome, and an air-conditioned room with astounding views of the Pacific looking north towards (and past) Quepos. Do note that the view is NOT towards Manuel Antonio, but is still spectacular.

The best aspects were definitely the staff, the room, and the tours. The staff were helpful and patient with our very limited Spanish (all spoke adequate English, but they graciously endured our attempts to work on our language skills). They recommended (and booked) restaurants, arranged cabs when we got tired of the parking hassel down at the main Manuel Antonio strip, and generally were very helpful. The room was gorgeous - a few very minor concerns below - with a toilet/bidet behind a closed door (we'd anticipated an open toilet, as others have complained about here), a spacious shower, and a beautiful tub holding floating flowers on our arrival. We booked two tours through Issimo -- a private guide for Manuel Antonio park named Leo, and a Mangrove tour provided by Rancho Los Toucanes. Both were exceptional! Leo adapted his tour to meet our interests (more than monkeys - he found an amazing frog, a snake, a toucan, crabs, and other less fluffy wildlife, along with the requisite capuchins and sloths). The Mangrove tour was perhaps the best tour we had in CR, with exceptional guides and a plethora of wildlife -- along with a fairly deep review of local history and American colonialism in the area.

In additoin to these strengths, the food was very good (although breakfast options were a bit limited and an interesting fusion of American and tropical options), but its quality and the related view were offset by classical and jazz music drowning out the birdsong.

The only concerns we had - which weren't anywhere near bad enough to bring to management, for us - were a small (tiny) group of 3-5 ants that skittered around the sink each night. We'd deal with them, but the next night a new installment would be back. There were also some occasional water pressure issues, but nothing that was really problematic. Also, for anyone with disabilities, Issimo does have many, many stairs -- 101 and 102 are at the very top, and after a hard day of hiking it was an extra workout that some might not enjoy.

Overall, it was an excellent stay and we would likely stay at Issimo if we're able to make it back to Manuel Antonio!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davenpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

My wife and I went on our honeymoon and stayed here toward the end of our trip. We had an amazing experience! The hotel is exactly as described on the website, and the views were amazing. The hotel room is definitely set up for couples and may not be the best setup for a family (the shower is in the open - no door, just a curtain, and the toilet is behind a swinging door, so not much privacy). For our honeymoon, it was perfect, and I don't think we could've selected a better place to spend it. The "small beach" is only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and you actually go through part of the rain forest to get to it. Manuel Antonio is less than a 10 minute drive from the hotel and is definitely worth visiting. The beach there is amazing.

The staff went out of their way to help us out. My only complaint is that toward the end of our trip we had trouble getting hot water in the room. We let them know when we checked out. Other than that, we had a perfect stay and didn't want to leave! We'd definitely consider staying here again if we make another trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattb2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

There are a million hotels in the Manuel Antonio area, but very few if any compare to Issimo Suites. The accommodations were extraordinarily clean, and more than suitable for modern life. After many daily activities, it was very comforting and relaxing to return to our room to take advantage of all of its amenities - WiFi, oversized Jacuzzi and a breath taking view overlooking the ocean just to name a few. Unfortunately the long drive from San Jose to Quepos is very treacherous and the road leading up to the hotel isn't much better, so be sure to rent a vehicle with 4x4.

Note: Make sure you visit the small secluded beach down the road from the hotel. Also if you decide to dine-in try the ceviche it is splendid!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icemike6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful trip to Costa Rica. By far the highlight of our trip was our stay at Issimo Suites. We had spent the first few days exploring the areas near San Jose (Poas Vocano and the Pacuare River) and were excited to head south along the pacific coast-line towards what we had heard was the "Magical Manuel Antonio". We were not disappointed. We rented a car without navigation and it took us a while to figure out the main highway from San Jose, but surprizingly the signs from there are quite frequent and straight forward. The stretch just before Jaco beach in the mountains is lovely but a bit difficult to navigate along the winding roads, so try to tackle the trip before dark and preferrably when it's not raining. We arrived in Quepos/Manuel Antonio and it took us a while to find the hotel from the "main road" because you have to continue along an unpaved road for another 2-3 km, but when we did get there we knew it was worth the drive! We had been upgraded to the penthouse simply by making the reservations ahead from home and requesting the best room they had. Suite no. 5 had an incredible view and the room itself was superb. We loved the in-door jacuzzi and the shower, which was part of the room. There was also a mini fridge and microwave. If you don't want a standard hotel room and would love to experience something different in this wonderful landscape, this is the place to be. The rate was not cheap but well worth the splurge. The staff did everything to make us feel welcome. The included breakfast was great, not huge in portion, but very sufficient. They also had different breakfast variety platters to choose from so that was nice. Internet is also available (complementary) 24 hours, but it's often slow. We were lucky to get everything we needed done online in one stretch when the connection was good, then it was back to enjoying our vacation and disconnecting from the outside world. The rooms were always clean and the AC was very well-functioning and you'll need it in the humid, hot weather. The pool is quite small (but very clean) and kids might not feel there is much to do around this boutique hotel. However, the beach at the foot of the hotel was probably the best beach in the area. If you like quiet, secluded beaches with warm waters, no waves, and endless greenery surrounding you, don't miss this beach. We drove down there with our car (as it is quite a steep hike), paid an attendent who was overlooking this isolated parking spot, and walked a bit more toward that magnificant beach (wear shoes, it's rocky on that trail!). The people of Costa Rica are very nice, and eager to help. The staff at Issimo gave us endless advice on what to do and where to eat, and always always had a smile on their faces, especially Alex and Gloria. Thanks for the endless coffeee refills, Gloria! We will recommend this hotel to all our friends and look forward to going back someday!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSpecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardnerville, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2009

On what started out with a shaky start (a 3 1/2 hour nightmare of a drive from San Jose at 12:00 am in the rain and fog) our stay at Issimo was the most relaxing and best 10 days we have ever spent. Even with our late arrival we were greeted by cheerful, up beat and English speaking staff who helped us take our luggage to our room and set us up/plan for breakfast and dinner the next night. The views from our room 110 were worth the trip alone. Throughout our stay not only were we given local advice on where to eat, see, and avoid, but the staff were always looking to help you with something. They gave us suggestions on tours to take (having taken them themselves) and did all the scheduling for us. The included breakfast every morning was awesome. Lunches and dinners were great as well. All around the service was excellent. Some things to be aware of are: the power sometimes goes out for up to an hour at a time and the internet is spotty. After talking with locals this is a common occurrence for the area and we were lucky to even have internet. The room was always clean, cool with the a/c and comfortable. We had little to no noise from other rooms and as said earlier the view was spectacular. The hotel is just far enough from the town to feel secluded but close enough to make shopping and eating easy. The hotel is located on a hill so a car or taxi is recommended. (locals however walk up and down every day) Overall our stay was incredible and we are going to recommend Issimo Suites to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpsb808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Property: Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Address: | Waterfront, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing