We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Ruby's La Plantacion
Nearby Hotels
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Yara(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Roca(Manuel Antonio)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vela Bar(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Mansion Inn(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$424
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$549
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$533
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
10
2
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
2
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2008

The best gay holiday we've ever had, La Plantacion is the perfect destination in Costa Rica. The property is absolutely beautiful, with immaculately manicured grounds surrounding the pool area, and the rooms themselves are superb. The staff are amazing, all of them accommodating, even though we don't speak Spanish, making our stay incredible. Leslie is so passionate and lovely, he made our stay absolutely perfect - he should definitely get a raise! I can't stop thinking about our vacation, and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NewYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2008

Terrible experience.
We didn`t find a place to stay.....we arrived very late at night......at the morning the "big surprise".............
Definetly....if you are not gay....simply don`t stay there !!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank randreothegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

I would come back and stay here again. It was absolutely a great place to stay. Staff was friendly, helpful, and went beyond the normal for me.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldguyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

When considering booking a gay hotel near Quepos and Manuel Antonio, I was torn between the ones with ocean views, vs. the ones on the other side of the street more in the "jungle". The websites made them all seem similar. Here's what we learned when we got there: None of the hotels are on the beach in this immediate area. There are several miles between the ones with an ocean view, and the actual ocean. The ocean side hotels are on much more of a slope, so you have to deal with ALOT of stairs at those properties. The view at Casa Blanca is not worth climbing the Washington Monument to get to your room, neither was the room itself.

After one night we moved over to Big Ruby's for the rest of the week. When we walked in and saw the place, we were floored. It's gorgeous, and the website doe NOT do it justice! Yes it was more expensive, but not double as previously stated. We had a deluxe room on the first floor (so, no, their not all on the second floor). We liked the first floor better because other guests stopped to meet/say hi when you're sitting on your patio. No bug or critter problems. The staff is wonderful. Bill the manager asked everyday if everything was OK and could he get us anything. Leslie at the front desk is the most accomodating you'll ever meet. Paulo at the bar is a sweetheart, and no he doesn't make his own hours. The hotel bar closes at 9PM.

I would stay at La Plantacion before Villa Roca or Casa Blanca even if the rates got higher. It's that much nicer. My only regret is not checking the bar bill long before we checked out. No idea the bar drink prices were so high.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Futurecruzan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the hotel property was. It's not much to write home about from the street, but once you step out of the office it's paradise. Although there's no ocean view from the rooms the view of the pool and gardens are amazing. The room we had was spacious and very clean. The linens were top notch and the small touches like fresh flowers and bathrobes were nice.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Paulo, the bartender was a hoot and makes a delicious mango margarita!
I definitely recommend the zip line tour with Jose. That was the best $65 I've ever spent. The tour lasted 5 hours including transporation to and from the canopy and the meal that is served at the end of the tour was delicious!
I highly recommend renting a car and driving to Quepos if flying into San Jose....but make sure you rent a GPS Navigation system if it's offered...the roads are not well marked so finding your way around can be difficult without one. National rents them along with their rentals for $8/day...well worth the money.
I'm already planning a group trip back to this hotel with friends. It's well worth the cost!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IAHMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews