We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel in a secluded setting.”
Review of Cabinas Espadilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Espadilla
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel in a secluded setting.”
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Pleasant hotel tucked away in nice grounds with a pool within a few minutes walk of the beach and the main entrance to the national park. The rooms were a decent size with kitchenettes as there is no restaurant, but there is a back packers hotel opposite which serves an excellent breakfast. The location could not be better for the local bars and restaurants yet is far enough away for them not to be heard. A fabulous area to explore with wonderful wildlife and beaches

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    72
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
52
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2009

This place is located a very short walk from Manuel Antonio park and very close to the restaurants and shops on the beach. The price was quite reasonable and the rooms were clean. Staff was easily reachable by e-mail, which was nice to book the room and save the long distance phone call. Staff was extremely helpful and followed up to make sure everything was ok. The air conditioning unit worked extremely well, best of any place we stayed in Costa Rica. If I ever go back I would definitely stay of Cabinas Espadilla!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justravling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

My and my fiance stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location was a 1 minute walk to Manual Antonio beach and a 2 minute walk to the national park. The markets and restaurants were very close by and had great food and stuff to purchase. The hotel pool was always very clean, outdoors and lounge chairs were always available. The hotel was very clean, we got towels each day, had AC, coffee, and we got a key for a safe. The bathroom was very clean and came with hand soap and shampoo. I loved this place and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good place to stay for a reasonable price in a good location. We didn't spend much time in the hotel because we spend most of our time on adventure tours, but the time we did spend here in the evenings was totally worth the money!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurous_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Cabinas Espadilla is a very excellent location between the beach and the entrance to the national park (Both super close). This hotel has an advantage because it is quiet and secluded yet VERY close to the action in Manuel Antionio.

The hotel doesn't have a resturant, but many are super close. They have little kitchenettes with all the stuff you need. The fridge is nearly full size too, so stock up on some Imperial Cerveza.

The rooms are clean, but with little frills, no phones in room, yet a short hop to recpetion.

The pool is beautiful when you need an escape from the beach.

Staff is friendly, yet they don't go out of their way.

I would recommend this place to almost anyone as it is comfortable, clean, a little secluded, secure and charming.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MachitaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA-MISSISSIPPI
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2009

I just staid at Cabinas Espadillas with a group of my high school students. The place was very well kept and clean. The pool was very nice and its just a skip from the beach... There's an awesome restaurant on the corner called Marlin's that we loved. Also the rooms are very basic.. not the most comfortable bed but there WAS a T.V. and the air conditioner worked great. Overall we had a great time... We were not looking for the hilton just a nice, clean, safe hotel and Espadillas was it. We loved the courtyard and the CATS that were there... there were some tame dogs as well... all were very friendly..

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodyj39667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We just got back from a 5 night stay at Cabinas Espadilla. We loved this place! First of all, we are a couple in our mid-20's. We do not need luxury but we are definitely not budget travelers looking for the most basic accommodations.

The cabinas espadilla was great! The location is unbeatable, the rooms are clean and the service is wonderful. Our cleaning lady was the sweetest woman who went over the top every day to tidy our room. We gave her a huge tip because she was just so sweet and helpful. The cabinas are a short walk to Playa Espadilla, short walk to the entrance of the park... There are taxis to get anywhere and everywhere right down by the beach.

The other hotels on the hills seemed kind of remote (we were not looking to stay at our hotel the entire time, we wanted to be able to move around!) and not easy to get to. The hotels down by the beach seem like the best option because you don't have to hike up a mountain to get back to your room and you don't have to rely on taxis if you don't want.

The public bus ran right by the beach every 20 minutes so we caught that to go out to dinner up on the road... took taxis back down to the Cabinas and it was very affordable.

This place is adorable, small and friendly. The guys at the desk are funny and very personable. Everyone speaks great English (although we seldom spoke english- we speak enough spanish) and is very kind. The hotel playa espadilla is right down the road and you are able to use their amenities if you want- their restaurant is good and pool is nice as well.

There is a security guard there all night and a nice parking lot in the back. There is cheap internet at the hotel and cheap breakfast at the hostel across the street. Everyone we met was very happy with the Cabinas! Even our guide at the national park said his favorite spot was the cabinas.

This is an excellent place for anyone wanting a simple but clean and spacious room/bathroom, adorable grounds and a location you just can't beat! The price was around 88.00 plus tax so for 5 nights we paid around 500.00 - not so bad!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2008

hotel is inexpensive, great location. Room itself is very basic, i didn't find it clean, bathroom was quite dirty and definetely needs refurbishment. Bedding was OK, quite clean. Kitchen is quite useless and dirty appliances so we never used it except the fridge.

We difenitely liked reception guy Yafet who arranged couple tours for us and he was very helpful and funny. We were most of the time out of room, pool is the crucial amenity at this hotel. it was really nice to swim late evenings to cool off. We had breakfast across the hotel for $3 and it was very good.

If you care more about location than a room quality than hotel is perfect for that. But if you want better quality than there are lots of other hotels a bit further away from manuel antonio park and you could take taxis.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCgrapefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn On The Park
Inn On The Park
#41 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Hotel Playa Espadilla
#21 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#31 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Espadilla

Property: Cabinas Espadilla
Address: 300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Espadilla Cabins is a beautiful little beach hotel located just one minute from the beach in Manuel Antonio. It has 16 units surrounded by beautiful gardens, a swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cabinas Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Espadilla Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Cabinas Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing