We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa is incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spa is incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I visited the spa for a swedish massage and chocolate wrap, and it was absolutely the best spa experience I've ever had. The ambience of the spa is almost like a temple; there are carved stone designs set into the walls, statues, and carved wooden doorways. There were several wonderful extra touches, such as a bowl of water with flower blossoms floating on the surface placed under the face rest to give you something to look at. I visited another spa in the area the same week; prices were roughly the same, but the Gaia spa was on a completely different level. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asaxtron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thanking our recent guest from Virginia.
We do have the very best spa in the Manuel Antonio area and have been awarded that distinction as recently as last month by the governing board of the local tourist advisory group.
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    136
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
155
1,003
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I keep asking ourselves this question :) We spent 5 amazing days at the Gaia hotel to celebrate our 1st anniversary and could not have asked for a better stay in Manuel Antonio. The service went well and beyond our expectations (special thanks to Marlon, Christian and Maxi!) Everyone was so helpful and nice. We felt so well taken care of - the staff goes out of their way to get to know you, helps you schedule and plan the best activities and shares their best recommendations to make the most of your trip. The rooms were comfy, clean and spacious. The grounds and the views were breathtaking (the view from the pool and the restaurant is amazing) and we loved that the Gaia is situated on a beautiful reserve. We saw so many amazing animals during our time there, especially on the nature walk of the property! We also took advantage of the spa and had the best one hour massages we have ever had. We can't stop talking about the food and the cocktails - everything was dynamite! From breakfast to snacks by the pool to dinner, everything we ate was absolutely amazing. Fresh and flavorful. We went into town one night for dinner and it just couldn't match what we had at Gaia; we ended up back at the hotel for cocktails and dessert :) Do yourself a favor and indulge in the "from the sea to our grill" dish. We are so sad to be back to the daily grind, but we are already talking about when we can make our next trip to the Gaia..pura vida!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmc2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

What an experience! The service in Gaia is outstanding, from the reception desk to the housekeeping employees, to the resturant staff. There isn't a view from the hotel that isn't absolutely gorgeous. Set back in the jungle, it has a very isiolated feel that only adds to the extraordinary experience. The aspect that most impressed of the reserve was the service in the resturant. The head chef, Michael Fernandez makes frequent visits to the tables to make sure that all of the guests are enjoying their meals. Everything that I ordered was delicious, especially the Ginger Panko Tuna that comes beautifully presented on top of a bed of rice. The drinks, made by the bar tender Christian were excellent, especially the Mojito. The host Jorge is very attentive to the guests' every need. The experiences that I had in the resturant were undoubtedly the most exquisite that I have ever had. I HIGHLY recommend this reserve to anyone who is considering vacationing in Costa Rica. Not to mention that Manuel Antonio is just a mile or two down the road, which is rated as one of the most beautiful beaches in the Country.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
I want to personally thank our recent guest from New York for sharing their memorable experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
As and adults only 5 star resort in the rainforest we are proud of what we built and are happy to share the magical experience with our guests from the four corners of the globe.
And as they point out, the location in Manuel Antonio only highlights the diverse amount of activity that this location is so famous.
We welcome you back with our arms wide open in the not too distant future.
And thank you for allowing us to share our home with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Gaia Hotel is put simply, fabulous! We went to celebrate my wife's big birthday (I call it her 30th) and it was everything I could have hoped for. The hotel delivered in style!!!

The hotel has superb views of dense vegetation and the sea, as well as mountains. They are eco-friendly, which we appreciate. Cool architecture and design. The owners have flair and taste.

We had a 1BR suite that was very well appointed. The restaurant, La Luna, is the best in the region by far. We tried a couple of others but quickly discovered that La Luna is so much better. The staff, especially Maxi (we can't say enough nice things about her) and Edgardo in the front office, and all of the waitstaff are just wonderful. They will go out of their way to take care of you.

The location is excellent. You are in Manuel Antonio, a short drive to the National Park and to various beaches, and the town of Quepos. I learned that if you want beach close, then you don't get the superb views. The hotel shuttle takes you everywhere you need to go locally.

I asked for flowers in the room for the birthday - they had a splendid arrangement in place. On our last evening, I asked for a surprise birthday dessert to be presented after dinner. Their excellent two-piece band leaves at 9 pm. I had noticed (for other guests on previous nights) that they dim the lights and the band plays HB. We weren't ready for dessert until 9:15 pm. I noticed that the band were still sticking around even though it was past 9 pm, and sure enough, it was so they could play HB for my wife. So especially considerate of them. I cannot imagine this happening here at home!

We got to meet one of the owners, Boris (and even his charming mother), who is a warm and welcoming host.

A couple of negatives, though I am reluctant to even mention these because of how positive the overall experience was. One, I had a massage, which was really quite bad. I even mentioned to my wife that that I was puzzled because this was so inconsistent with the rest of my experience with the high quality staff. We found out later that there had been a medical emergency and they had brought a substitute in. I get that.

One other comment is that one of the front office staff seems eager to sell you on a packaged tour rather than listen to what you want to do. We wanted to go to a local beach, Biesanz, which is simply beautiful - it is a great place to swim and snorkel. He kept pushing a catamaran tour - didn't seem to get that we were not interested in a 6 hour trip that ultimately brings you to the same beach. We just wanted to be by ourselves on a nice beach and relax with a good book and swim/snorkel.

Still, all in all, a world class resort, that truly focuses on you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at Gaia, I want to thank our recent guests for sharing their wonderful experience with readers of TripAdvisor.
We strive to share the magic here with our guests for whatever special occasion may bring them here to Gaia....or no occasion at all......
Truly set aside from the other local hotels, Gaia was designed and constructed in a sustainable way so as to capture the very essence of what Costa Rica is all about. It's people, topography, nature, government and education. We strive to deliver 5 star service in an eco-friendly way.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is an AMAZING resort built into the jungle. They have taken great pains to be part of the environment and still provide top notch accommodations. The property is wonderful and the restaurant is one of the best we have tried anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Gaia exists due to amazing guests like yourselves. We truly enjoyed your stay with us and await with eagerness your return.
Thank you for recognizing our sustainable practices here at Gaia. We are living in the rainforest and wish to preserve our 14 acre site for generations to come. We do not tolerate any disrespect of our environment and this has proved to be one of our best kept secrets.
Your comments on this TripAdvisor forum are certainly most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our first trip to CR and our first evening. My only regret is that we didn't book more nights with this hotel. From the moment we pulled in at the gate, after a long day of flying and driving - pure luxury and awesome service. For dinner the service, ambiance and food was perfect. Breakfast was the best we had during our 10 day stay in CR. The beds are very comfy. The morning walk through the grounds with a guide was great. The grounds are well maintained and everything is clean. Staff is very knowledgable and warm. Truly a 5 star!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seaskybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a small boutique hotel that is absolutely high end. Totally worth going up for happy hour 2 for 1 drinks. Some reviews say the drinks are half full or watered down, we certainly didn't find that and the food was amazing!

Room Tip: Go during happy hour to watch the sunset. Remarkable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlarocqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank your for your very nice comments on our La Luna Restaurant. And what a lovely picture of one of our selection plats of Tapas.
Spot on with your comments.
Thank you for commenting here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing