We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full service in the heart of the rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Full service in the heart of the rainforest”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Stunning location in middle of rainforest, but away from the centre of manuel antonio. Staff are really friendly, cheerful and helpful.

Rooms disappointing - a bit sterile and bathroom was very narrow. Little things like no free water in the rooms were annoying given the price you're paying.

Pool area is nice and quite compact but there weren't many people around when we were there so plenty of beds, etc.

View from restaurant at the top is the best bit- breakfast with that view was a delight, good range of food too. Nice spot for sunset too.

Dinner at restaurant was well overpriced for what you get. The menu sounds lovely but the execution left a lot to be desired. I ordered scallops and shrimp in a lime sauce, which only had a single scallop in it (cut into 5 or 6 tiny pieces) and the shrimp were quite chewy too!  

Would recommend doing the tour of the reserve at 7am each morning and hiking up to the lookout for a superb view of the area!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whisper_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We thank our new friends from Ireland who indeed had a spectacular time and took the time to share their experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.

Even with a full house, our 3 large pool decks are indeed large enough to accompany all who wish to partake of the lounges and tables and chairs for lunch or cocktails.

Regarding your comment on the scallops, we have brought this to the attention of our chef who has no idea what might have happened. We wish you would have made mention of this during your stay as we would have immediately rectified the situation without question. We have really no recourse now only to provide you with our sincere apology.

Thanking you again for all your kind words and we welcome you back with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    139
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
157
1,021
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

One of the best things about this hotel is the staff. They are very personable and are there to take care of your every need. The hotel itself is gorgeous. It is one of those hotels that makes you feel like you are on vacation. The complementary breakfast is excellent. You order off the regular breakfast menu so it's great! The complementary spa treatment was a nice bonus! We stayed in the studio and the room was a tad bit of an awkward shape. We stayed 4 in a room and it was cramped. This room is much better suited for two. They also offer a shuttle service which is awesome but it does stop at 430. Would be nice if they offered the shuttle longer or later hours.

Room Tip: See above review
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytravel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Yes, we do receive numerous comments on the level of service here at Gaia. Once our guests arrive on the property, any possible concern is immediately dispelled by the various department staff who go out of their way to create an atmosphere of sublime luxury and welcoming smiles.

At Gaia we have 8 different rooms categories from which to choose and each one is easily pictured on our web site. Our studio's are certainly well laid out with private bath and lavatory facilities that have won design awards. Coming equipped with a king size bed and sofa sleeper, the studio might indeed be a bit tight for 4 adults. You may want to consider for your next visit one of our luxurious 2 bedroom/2 bath villas to ensure maximum comfort for all in your party. And as a return guest we will ensure you receive a nice discount for you and all your company.

Thanking you again for your very kind comments on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

All the raving reviews are correct. Gaia will probably remain ranked #1 on TA for a very long time. What you see is what you get, all the web pictures of Gaia are accurate. It’s very small, very charming, modern design and the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. We had a one bedroom suite and we loved it. I have to mention the closet space was impressive! Never have we had so much closet space at a hotel/resort. We had room 232 and loved the fact that we walked out right into the pool area.

A tip; bring bug repellent and a good attitude about bugs. You are in a natural reserve and as impressively spotless these rooms and grounds are there will be bugs and some will fly into the room as you are getting in and out. For us this wasn’t an issue because we were aware of our surroundings and it’s part of the experience in Costa Rica.

Some key points that made this hotel stand out and we also believe enhanced our vacation and overall experience at Gaia:

The staff - Everyone was delightful, when we left it felt as if we were saying goodbye to friends not hotel staff. The pool bar was our favorite bar out of every place we tried out in Quepos and MA. One day we walked along the MA strip of restaurants for drinks and we couldn’t get back to Gaia fast enough to have drinks and watch the sunset at the pool bar. The pool bartender Yadir is one of the best, he took very good care of us. We can’t thank him enough for making our trip memorable. One more thing to add, excellent Sangria.

Food and Drinks - everything we ate and drank here was delicious. The cocktails were prefect, not watered down at all. I believe this area in Costa Rica is overpriced however La Luna restaurant was pretty reasonable considering the level of service and excellent food.

Tours and shuttles service: We took a tour to MA national park our tour guide was Jordon and again he was excellent and spotted lots of wonderful animals for us, took lots of pictures. Truly a great and helpful guide. There would have been no way we would have seen any animals without him.

Day time shuttle services is an excellent and smart perk the hotel offers, it makes vacation life very easy. Having access to transportation to take you where ever you'd like incuding a pick up and drop off at Quepos airport was so helpful.

The only regret is that I didn’t get to use the included spa treatment. I was hoping to add it to another treatment package but they were booked and the only available time slot interfered with a pre-planned tour.

Overall we had a very happy and memorable vacation. Thank you to everyone at Gaia.

Room Tip: We had room 232 and loved the fact that we walked out right into the pool area. It’s fabulous to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdventuresTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Wonderful indeed!!! We are thrilled you have a great experience and we are proud to have shown you the magic we have created here at Gaia. And thank you for pointing out the service our staff provided to you. This is genuine service and part of the culture of the Costa Rican people. Without our family of employees......we would fall short of providing the most excellent experience one can only imagine .....Coming to Gaia is all that you can imagine and more.
Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Awesome service from the moment we arrived. Great food, great rooms, and great service. We arrived to the hotel one day and the a/c went out so they assisted us and moved us into a suite with a working a/c. Staff was very helpful and the kitchen/bar manager does a great job.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We travel alot, and I must say, this is one of the very best hotel stays we have ever experienced. Beautiful property/rooms, outstanding customer service (we felt like royalty!), delicious food, nice pool, amazing spa, etc. They even provide transportation around town for you, which was really nice. Definitely take advantage of the Nature Reserve tour on the property. We did so, and saw lots of wildlife (sloth, anteater, squirrel monkeys).

We were very sad to leave the Gaia, but definitely hope to return someday!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
In response to your posting here on TripAdviosr, I must say thank you! Your very kind comments mean a lot to the owners and staff......we all read each and every one......And we are so pleased your visit with us was truly memorable.......we look forward to your return visit........All best wishes in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent approximately 5 days at this hotel earlier this year. We really enjoyed our stay and we can't say enough good things about this place. The grounds of the hotel are just beautiful, the room we had was clean and modern, however, we did not like the sliding door to the bathroom- unless you're travelling with someone you're very comfortable with, it could feel very invasive. The food was fantastic, and the restaurant staff were all incredibly professional and friendly.

One thing that could use improvement is the calibre of their concierge service. They have a ton of young guys who work at the front desk, some of whom showed a lack of judgement and unprofessionalism during our stay. Every time we went to speak to them, it seemed like they had their own inside joke about us, as evidenced by their smirking at each other while we were asking questions or speaking. That was incredibly disrespectful and unfortunately it diminished the overall experience, and made us feel uncomfortable at times. We have stayed at numerous 5 star restaurants in different cities around the world, and I would say that this hotel comes pretty close in terms of services offered. I would definitely have more training for the concierge staff, or replace them altogether. They need to be able to deal with young women appropriately.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariam10is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Hard to find anything wrong with this charming, very upscale resort. Outstanding rooms, spa, grounds, landscaping, pools, food and very personal service. Everything top notch. Remember, "jungle view" means the nocturnal wildlife might affect light sleepers a bit. Also, no kids were there since there are many family-friendly places in the area.

You will NOT regret this choice!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We are so glad you chose Gaia for your holiday.
We are indeed a small luxury boutique hotel with only 20 rooms. And being adults only lends to the quite ambiance of our resort.
Personal service comes naturally to our entire staff including each guests personal concierge.
All throughout you will experience 5 star luxury in the rainforest yet 7 minutes away from the beautiful beaches and park of Manuel Antonio.
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing