We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Serene service”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Beautiful hotel with young charming staff who are very helpful and use their initiative. Great decor, perched on a hill top with outstanding views. The restuarant has a lively ambiance and serves good food and great cocktails.

Good walks and more birds visible than we expected.

Room Tip: choose one with a private terrace; pricier but wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerome99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanking our recent guests for having taken their personal time to comment on our resort.

We are so pleased that we fulfilled you expectations and are certainly happy that we went beyond your expectations on the amount of wildlife on our property.

We now have Scarlet Macaws on our property and will be reintroducing them to the Manuel Antonio area over the next several years. Guests are welcome to tour this special attraction in our private reserve with a complimentary guide or by themselves.

Thank you again for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    141
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
165
1,050
33
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We loved our stay here. The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. The property is beautiful--up on a hill with a great view and it was cool, with gentle breezes. Our personal concierge booked some of our activities and arranged for transportation around the area on their free shuttle. Daily hikes with a guide are offered through Gaia's private reserve. You can see Scarlet Macaws and lots of other flora and fauna.

We ate most of our meals in their dining room and their food was delicious! Loved the views from there, too.

Breakfasts were included, as well as a free mini back rub for each of us in their lovely spa.

Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. It was a very pleasant and relaxing three-night stay, and they pampered us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERipley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of our property.

Indeed, we have a huge abundance of wildlife on our property including the now re-established Scarlet Macaws.

We loved pampering you and we look forward to doing it again soon.

Gaia is more than you expect and all that you deserve.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and I couldn't flaw our stay what so ever. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of there way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The restaurant on the property is amazing. The property itself is stunning and you pretty much don't even need to leave the hotel to see an abundance of wildlife (we watched 30+ squirrel monkeys playing by the pool for hours). The pool is great, the rooms were clean and modern, the views were amazing. Close to everything you need in the area (Manuel antonio naitional park, restaurants and quepos)
A ++++++++++++++

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyheyitssaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
We are so happy you chose Gaia Hotel & Reserve for your recent holiday and so pleased you found
everything on our property to your liking.

The abundance of wildlife on our property is something very unique to Gaia. Set on 15 acres of pristine rainforest, we have three types of monkeys who inhabit our property as well as two and three toed sloths.
In an effort to reintroduce the beautiful Scarlet Macaws to the Manuel Antonio area, we have secured in our rainforest habitation for the birds to propagate and thrive for a long time to come.

Thank you for your very kind words and we welcome you back along with our many repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We learned about the hotel from small luxury hotels (or something like that) registry, and had high expectations for the place. Fortunately, our expectations were exceeded. We took a small plane from san jose to quepos, and they had a driver there waiting to meet us at the airport. He was friendly and drove us the short distance to the hotel explaining the city and the area on the way. I speak spanish but my girlfriend doesn't, but everyone spoke good english so there were no problems. The hotel grounds were lush and beautiful. We had a suite that was just incredible. There was an upstairs terrace with an picturesque view of the jungle out to the pacific ocean, and beautifully clear view of the stars at night. The room itself was clean, well appointed, and had a private lounge area with chairs to hang out on and take in the view. The scenery is amazing and frequently punctuated by monkeys and sloths climbing in the trees. Meals in the hotel restaurant were good, but the actual space was fantastic. Fresh fruit, good coffee, strong tropical drinks, adequate hotel food, we had no complaints. The staff was incredibly friendly. aldo, diego, joshua, alex, and several others, whose names I can't remember, worked hard to make sure we had a comfortable stay. They helped arrange activities from the hotel, provided free transportation to and from the local beaches (they are a short and insignificant car trip away), and had good recommendations about local restaurants (our favorite was el arador which is frequented by a family of monkey's and had a great friendly staff and owner). The beaches were beautiful, the park tour was great (especially because of the expert and incredibly knowledgable tour guides). We spoke with the owner while there and found him to be a refreshingly nice and gracious host as well. We couldn't recommend the place more highly. We had a great time and thank all of the staff for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: the jungle suite (room 222) was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled your experience exceeded your expectations. This is our goal. Our staff
continuously make sure our guests experience is second to none and complete the little things that
will ensure our guests total sanctification.

We hope we will see you once again in our little slice of Paradise as we look forward to spoiling you
once again.

Thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We just just stayed at Gaia for five nights about 2 weeks ago and it was absolutely amazing. Not only was the hotel and grounds beautiful but the service was second to none. From the time we got to the hotel until we left the concierge and the rest of the staff were totally committed to making it an amazing vacation for us . The free shuttle to the beach and town was great bonus. We highly recommend this hotel for a luxurious stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB6187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanking our recent guests for choosing Gaia Hotel & Reserve for their recent holiday.

We are thrilled your experience was nothing short of 5 star. Yes indeed, our service is our best kept secret and our entire staff are well trained to ensure our guests receive the very best that can be experienced.

More than you expect and all that you deserve.

Please come back and visit us and thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed 7 days at Gaia and highly recommend this hotel. The staff and service here are second to none. The hotel is boutique with only 20 rooms, so it is quiet and peaceful. I have very little vacation time, so when I have a week, I want the best experience possible and Gaia is the place. The concierges, especially Fabio, answered all of our questions and made sure our stay was as relaxing and fun as possible. Their recommendations on tours ensured we had an amazing experience in Costa Rica. The concierge made all of the arrangements including transportation and even told us what to bring. We booked during rainy season (at lower rates), but we were able to have plenty of fun early in the day. There were a few sunny days, and you have to be ready to adjust to the weather. Try the pools at the hotel on sunny days, and the pool bartender will take good care of you. The chair floats are quite comfortable to relax on the infinity edge with a local beer overlooking the view.
When it rains, relax with a good book or check out the Spa! Happy hour - rain or shine. The shuttle transporation is an added bonus - these guys were very responsive and went out of their way even when we called on short notice. If the weather is nice, head down to the beach or Manuel Antonio National Park. After the shuttle service hours, there are many taxis around and we also road the local bus a few times that was convenient and only 280 colons.

Breakfast at La Luna is a special treat. The waiters were all personable and taught us about local cuisine. We highly recommend the beans/rice with plantains; a local favorite. Take your time, enjoy the meal and local coffee. Happy Hour and tapas was enjoyable, especially if you can catch the sunset. We ate dinner at a few places in the Manuel Antonio area, but we thought the food and service was the best at La Luna and ate there several nights - no reason to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: We are active travelers and we were happy with the Jungle View Studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
And may I add.....outstanding guests?

WE are simply thrilled that you enjoyed what we have created here at Gaia. A truly magical place with every thought carefully thought out to ensure your vacation is one that you will remember for a long time.

And we welcome you back to our home as do may guests return year after year. This is now your home and the welcome sign is out for you.

Thank you so very much for taking your personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Really a must visit location for sunset or having a nice dinner. Great ocean view and very good food and live music. I also had a treatment at their SPA which was fantastic. I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winmuc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thanking our guest for their very kind review of our very special place in the rainforest of Costa Rica.

Perched high on top of Gaia Mountain, we are a short 7 minute drive to the lovely beaches of Manuel Antonio and the National Park.

The Pacific Ocean can be seen from atop our lovely La Luna Restaurant as well as the breathtaking views of the rainforest and surrounding mountain ranges.

Gaia is indeed a special place with the very best of staff and ambiance.

Thank you for sharing you wonderful experience with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,432 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing