We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Property, Terrific Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Property, Terrific Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in Suite 332 at Gaia for 6 nights and could not be more pleased! Check-in was a breeze with cool towels and welcome drinks ready for us when we arrived. Since we had the Romantic Package, there was also a chocolate strawberry fondue set up in the dining area of our suite. The suite was large and had the best closet, drawer, hanging space and shelves of any hotel we have ever stayed in. Amazingly, this was just one of their regular suites. The view of the ocean and the jungle from our balcony was breathtaking. The access to the pool and restaurant from this room was perfect. About 40 steps around the corner to get to the pool and a similar distance in the other direction to the spa, restaurant, and main office. Our king size bed was very comfortable and multiple pillows were available. The only negative comment about the room is that, like others have mentioned, the tub is difficult to get into due to a large step up from the floor and then a huge step down over the faucet, which blocks you from getting your leg down into the tub. You have to twist around it and step down at the same time. All this is without having anything to hold onto except the glass sliding door. Keep in mind the shower is in the tub, so you have no choice but to climb in. Getting out of the tub wasn't any easier. My wife and I are both active people who go to the gym regularly and have no problems getting around. So, if you have mobility issues or short legs, this could be quite a problem. I've noticed from pictures of other rooms with the exact same bathroom, some have this situation and other rooms have the faucet off to the side.

The setting of the hotel is beyond compare! It sits on a Nature Reserve, which we toured with a wonderful guide, Saul (pronounced like Raul with an "S"). His knowledge and experience helped us to see things we would not have been able to on our own. Some highlights of the Reserve was spotting sloths, squirrel monkeys, and other flora and fauna of the property. We were also very lucky to have Saul guide us on our tour of Manuel Antonio Park, which was arranged by the hotel. On the grounds of the hotel we also saw iguanas, squirrel monkeys, and beautiful birds.

Service was fantastic! Most of our tours and reservations were booked in advance with the help of Sandy Schmidt and Geo from the Reservation Department. Our roundtrip transportation from San Jose Airport to Gaia was arranged thru the hotel. Our driver, Alex, was friendly and helpful, stopping for refreshments and crocodile viewing. All other tours and dinner reservations were arranged by our Concierge, Alex, and his office associates. There was nothing they could not help with. Even when my camera batteries died, they gave me replacements. Transport to all tours and destinations were provided by Gaia. If we needed transportation after 4:30, they arranged for a taxi to come and pick us up.

The pool was a great relaxing escape after our various excursions. There are 2 pools and 3 separate deck areas, so much of the time it seemed as if you had the pool to yourself. The waterfalls provided a serene atmosphere. The ocean and jungle view from the pools and decking is spectacular! There is a bar at the upper pool, but the bartender often came to us at the lower pool to see if we needed anything to drink or eat. Often he would surprise us with a delicious fruit skewer. We did have lunch at the pool a few times, which was great. Spicy fish wraps and casados were delicious! My wife doesn't eat raw/seared tuna, so she thought she would not be able to get the wrap. But, Joshua suggested she get the wrap and they would cook the tuna for her. It was her favorite! Breakfasts were great! Such a full menu of different choices. I loved the huevos rancheros and my wife had a different breakfast almost every day. Breakfast also included fresh fruit, baked fruit breads, fresh juices and terrific coffee. Speaking of food, La Luna Restaurant food and service is the best we experienced in the Manuel Antonio/Quepos area, but we will review it separately.

The Terra Spa at Gaia was the best Spa we have ever been to. First, we took advantage of the complimentary 20-minute foot massage all guests receive. We chose this since we were already scheduled another day for a 60-minute Couples massage. After the wonderful foot massage, given by Chris and Javier, we knew the 60 minute Couples massage would be great. We again had Chris and Javier for absolutely the best Swedish massages we've ever had. (No exaggeration)! I had neck and shoulder issues for several years, which I did not mention to Javier, but by the end of my massage Javier fixed it! My wife used to tell everyone her best massage was a hot stone massage in Las Vegas. Now, she is telling everyone the best massage she ever had is from Chris at Terra.

We will definitely come back to Gaia when we return to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Room 332 is a terrific corner suite with an awesome view. We noticed room 232 is right off the deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MojitoNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We take all our guests comments very seriously and would just like to point out that we have many rooms with walk in showers with no tub situation. Depending on the occupancy of the hotel, we would have gladly changed the room to accommodate easier access into and out of the bathtub.

We are absolutely thrilled that your overall experience was 5 star and we certainly look forward to your return visit with us....and the tub situation will not be a problem. We are happy to accommodate with a room with a walk in shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    136
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
155
1,003
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel! It is beautiful and clean. The customer service I received was top notch! The hotel was clean and the views spectacular. I purchased a great all inclusive *spa package* with Travel Zoo and had spa treatments several times a day ! The reserve is an added bonus for the adventurous. Again, the staff was great. No complaints! Trip July 2012

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missycharney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanking our guests for taking the time to write a wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled you love our world class spa with our locally renowned spa therapists.....

We are the very best year after year in the Manuel Antonio area as documented by the numerous awards we have received.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Amazing destination for a romantic get-away. We went there to celebrate our anniversary. The property is beautifully landscaped. The staff are friendly, helpful, and very welcoming. We enjoyed the top-of-the-line Gaia Suite with a private pool, but all the rooms are lovely and well appointed. The pool area is actually 3 terraced pools with a pool bar and multiple decks for sunning, reading, or relaxing. The Terra spa was perfect for a wonderful, relaxing couples massage. The Luna Restaurant is a fine-dining experience, and is one of the best restaurants in Manuel Antonio. If you are looking for a honeymoon destination, a place to celebrate an anniversary, or just a romantic retreat, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetroBeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are so happy you choose us to celebrate your very special occasion and are grateful for sharing your wonderful experience with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.

You are certainly welcome back anytime....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had an amazing experience here for our honeymoon, from the minute you walk onto the premises to the minute you finish your trip here. Not only are they ready and willing to help with anything you could possibly need or figure out that you need along the way (aloe, natural or not), they provide a taxi service to and from Quepos and to and from Manuel Antonio. The pools are great, calm atmosphere, relaxed way of life. Free breakfast included every day with your stay, if it's not on the menu they will make it special order for you. Wildlife abounds the hotel. Sunsets are absolutely breath-taking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanking our recent guest for choosing Gaia Hotel & Reserve to celebrate their marriage with a honeymoon in our home.

We truly appreciate all the kind words and we look forward to seeing them once again in our little piece of Paradise.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum. It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just spent three nights at beautiful Gaia with a group of 17 friends to celebrate a 40th birthday! What a time we had. This place is the ONLY place you should consider staying in Manuel Antonio. The staff is absolutely incredible. Always on hand to cater to your every need!! They are so good at what they do and take great pride in their work by insuring that their guests want for nothing! Keeping a group of 17 happy is no easy task but the staff made it seem effortless! Fabulous rooms, views, wifi, food, cocktails, band, pool service. We all had an absolute blast. thank you Gaia for the memories. We will be back to make more!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Our recent guests are very welcome.

We loved having them on our property for 3 days and look forward to their return visit.

As an intimate 20 room luxury hotel, we take pride in accommodating a variety of celebrations and were so thrilled to help in this 40th birthday occasion.

Please come back and see us.......the staff is waiting to spoil you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a great experience at this hotel and spa. The elevated location provided spectacular and serene views. It felt as if we were in a modern treehouse. It's a smaller hotel (only 20 rooms) and adults only. The staff was attentive and friendly from the moment we arrived. It was clear that there was a high standard of service that was consistent throughout our stay and at the restaurant and spa. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There are complimentary shuttles to and from the beach. Good food at the restaurant and service by the pool during the day. My only minor complains are that there isn't a hot tub and that the live music at dinner is a little too loud. Otherwise it was close to perfect and I would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 241 and had a king size bed. I liked this location because it was facing the direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Gaia Hotel & Reserve and than you for your very nice review of your stay
with us.

We are thrilled that your expectations were met all around including our spa and La Luna Restaurant.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again and we appreciate your comment on the sound level of our evening music. We have asked the group to lower the level of sound.

Thank you for your feedback and please see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I didn't know what to expect when we first got there. I knew Gaia had good reviews but I didn't know it was going to be THAT good. We were greeted by name, golf carted to the reception, given a fruit juice and a cool washcloth, and escorted by our personal concierge, Carlos(who was AMAZING). They met our every need and went above and beyond. The service was outstanding, the food was fantastic. We truly felt like we were part of their little family when we were there. Every person that worked there was so friendly. Not to mention the preserve on site was AWESOME! Hike it in the morning or around 3-4pm and you will probably see monkeys. Be patient though. My husband hiked it twice and saw a ton of monkeys both times. They were even right outside our hotel room one day. One tried to get in when we left the door open. The spa was awesome too! Everything we could ever want in a hotel. Perfect! gone-living.com

Room Tip: The beds are really firm. I didn't sleep well the first night but the rest of the nights were fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We are so thrilled that your experience at Gaia was beyond your expectations.

We strive each and every day to make our guests experience magical and it appears we succeeded with you and your husband.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing