We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I loved this hotel. They will take care of you and give you your own Personal Conceirge. Upon check in they offered me a really nice cold drink and they will make you feel at home right away. The food is good and the view is magnificent on the restaurant.
They will give you a lot of recommendations like if you want to go to the beach look for Mary's beach chair and etc. They also hooked me up with Barabas Surfing. Mary is actually kind enough to take care of our stuff while surfing and she called the hotel as soon as we're ready to be picked up.
They have a great spa and the Ginger and Honey Glow body scrub is very very good. My room has a jungle view but the room was nicely decorated and always clean. I met one of the owner and he is very nice and sweet . The free breakfast is good as well.
I'm glad I found this hotel and thank you to tripadvisors reviewers as I also try to review hotels and etc before booking a reservations. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUTQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We are so please that you did indeed find us.

You were very special guests indeed and you are certainly counted among our very special guest who we would love to see once again.

Thank you for reviewing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    133
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
147
972
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Pros:
rooms-- two bedroom villa extraordinary, clean, private, views, so much room
price-- yes, expensive but so many good promotions-- we were right in season but got 20% off room for booking early and $500 in spa credit for current promotion.
spa-- lovely, good availability
access-- frequent, easy to take advantage shuttle to beautiful beaches and national park
hikes-- one right on property was great, have to be reasonably fit, to reserve is also wonderful, busy but perfect for kids because so many animals so close
service-- really take care of you in every way.

cons (none significant)
check in-- late in afternoon with no real place to wait after we had lunch, had to sit in hot sun by pool
some service issues-- room service for teen girls when we were at dinner, men delivering were asking my oldest daughter's age and if she had a boyfriend (more than once); also guide for hike on site said he had to rush it because he had an unexpected booking right after and made us skip part of it; he also was pretty brusque with an older couple telling them they would not be able to do the hike without really giving them a chance (I think they could have). Other than that service over the top good.
food-- not a con at all, but not exceptional. Breakfast was the best-- fantastic-- rounds of service with fresh pastries and fresh fruit before ordering. Lunch and dinner were good to very good, just not as excellent as you might expect from the quality of the hotel. Not looking for elegant as much as fresh, authentic interesting local food. Best food we had on trip was at Il Silencio Lodge in Boca del Toro.

Room Tip: Loved my two bedroom villla-- had 2 inch deep reflection pool on roof deck just for looks, thought i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtLovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their extraordinary review of our hotel.

We appreciate very much your choosing our hotel and welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very happy with this hotel. It met our expectations in every way and more!


Thank you again BORIS and staff for caring about your guest!

We had an accident and Boris went above and beyond in taking care of things for us!

FOOD, Super yum! Some of the best ever had!

Room Tip: BOOK You will be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prinmonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
The entire staff are so happy that we exceeded your expectations.

That is a wonderful comment and we are so happy that you chose us.

We hope to see you again and count you among the numerous return guests that come to us year after year.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We LOVED this hotel!!

First of all the service is incredible! I have never met such a sweet and happy hotel staff! We even met the owner and he was so incredibly sweet!

The prices are not too bad, the free drinks and breakfast and free spa gift are awesome and the rooms are huge and open.

The reserve is absolutely beautiful and the rest of the hotel grounds are so relaxing.

We travelled all over Costa Rica and this is by far the best hotel we went to. I've been to many hotels, even in Europe and this was even better.


We LOVED it here and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are thrilled that our recent guest had such a wonderful time at our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Thank you so much for pointing our the quality and happiness of our staff....they are indeed our best kept secret.

We appreciate your sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is by far my favorite place to stay in Costa Rica! The property is absolutely gorgeous but nothing beats the staff. They are attentive and helpful and answer to your every need. The first day we arrived (there were 4 of us), we were welcomed in and given a welcome drink which was super yummy! We set up all of our activities for the entire trip - zip-lining, white water rafting, ATVing - everything! We then went up to La Luna for dinner - amazing view of the sunset and super yummy food. We did the tapas and happy hour almost everyday there. We did room service a lot as well. The free breakfast that is included is super yummy and high quality - not just some fruit on a plate. My fiancé and in-laws are big on pools - they were never crowed. The entire time we felt like we were in our own private oasis. We travel to Costa Rica every March. We stayed here March 2013, this March 2014 we stayed in the Arenal area - we will be booking Gaia Hotel and Reserve for March 2015 - simply the BEST!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stenigmaphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in Suite 332 at Gaia for 6 nights and could not be more pleased! Check-in was a breeze with cool towels and welcome drinks ready for us when we arrived. Since we had the Romantic Package, there was also a chocolate strawberry fondue set up in the dining area of our suite. The suite was large and had the best closet, drawer, hanging space and shelves of any hotel we have ever stayed in. Amazingly, this was just one of their regular suites. The view of the ocean and the jungle from our balcony was breathtaking. The access to the pool and restaurant from this room was perfect. About 40 steps around the corner to get to the pool and a similar distance in the other direction to the spa, restaurant, and main office. Our king size bed was very comfortable and multiple pillows were available. The only negative comment about the room is that, like others have mentioned, the tub is difficult to get into due to a large step up from the floor and then a huge step down over the faucet, which blocks you from getting your leg down into the tub. You have to twist around it and step down at the same time. All this is without having anything to hold onto except the glass sliding door. Keep in mind the shower is in the tub, so you have no choice but to climb in. Getting out of the tub wasn't any easier. My wife and I are both active people who go to the gym regularly and have no problems getting around. So, if you have mobility issues or short legs, this could be quite a problem. I've noticed from pictures of other rooms with the exact same bathroom, some have this situation and other rooms have the faucet off to the side.

The setting of the hotel is beyond compare! It sits on a Nature Reserve, which we toured with a wonderful guide, Saul (pronounced like Raul with an "S"). His knowledge and experience helped us to see things we would not have been able to on our own. Some highlights of the Reserve was spotting sloths, squirrel monkeys, and other flora and fauna of the property. We were also very lucky to have Saul guide us on our tour of Manuel Antonio Park, which was arranged by the hotel. On the grounds of the hotel we also saw iguanas, squirrel monkeys, and beautiful birds.

Service was fantastic! Most of our tours and reservations were booked in advance with the help of Sandy Schmidt and Geo from the Reservation Department. Our roundtrip transportation from San Jose Airport to Gaia was arranged thru the hotel. Our driver, Alex, was friendly and helpful, stopping for refreshments and crocodile viewing. All other tours and dinner reservations were arranged by our Concierge, Alex, and his office associates. There was nothing they could not help with. Even when my camera batteries died, they gave me replacements. Transport to all tours and destinations were provided by Gaia. If we needed transportation after 4:30, they arranged for a taxi to come and pick us up.

The pool was a great relaxing escape after our various excursions. There are 2 pools and 3 separate deck areas, so much of the time it seemed as if you had the pool to yourself. The waterfalls provided a serene atmosphere. The ocean and jungle view from the pools and decking is spectacular! There is a bar at the upper pool, but the bartender often came to us at the lower pool to see if we needed anything to drink or eat. Often he would surprise us with a delicious fruit skewer. We did have lunch at the pool a few times, which was great. Spicy fish wraps and casados were delicious! My wife doesn't eat raw/seared tuna, so she thought she would not be able to get the wrap. But, Joshua suggested she get the wrap and they would cook the tuna for her. It was her favorite! Breakfasts were great! Such a full menu of different choices. I loved the huevos rancheros and my wife had a different breakfast almost every day. Breakfast also included fresh fruit, baked fruit breads, fresh juices and terrific coffee. Speaking of food, La Luna Restaurant food and service is the best we experienced in the Manuel Antonio/Quepos area, but we will review it separately.

The Terra Spa at Gaia was the best Spa we have ever been to. First, we took advantage of the complimentary 20-minute foot massage all guests receive. We chose this since we were already scheduled another day for a 60-minute Couples massage. After the wonderful foot massage, given by Chris and Javier, we knew the 60 minute Couples massage would be great. We again had Chris and Javier for absolutely the best Swedish massages we've ever had. (No exaggeration)! I had neck and shoulder issues for several years, which I did not mention to Javier, but by the end of my massage Javier fixed it! My wife used to tell everyone her best massage was a hot stone massage in Las Vegas. Now, she is telling everyone the best massage she ever had is from Chris at Terra.

We will definitely come back to Gaia when we return to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Room 332 is a terrific corner suite with an awesome view. We noticed room 232 is right off the deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MojitoNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We take all our guests comments very seriously and would just like to point out that we have many rooms with walk in showers with no tub situation. Depending on the occupancy of the hotel, we would have gladly changed the room to accommodate easier access into and out of the bathtub.

We are absolutely thrilled that your overall experience was 5 star and we certainly look forward to your return visit with us....and the tub situation will not be a problem. We are happy to accommodate with a room with a walk in shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel! It is beautiful and clean. The customer service I received was top notch! The hotel was clean and the views spectacular. I purchased a great all inclusive *spa package* with Travel Zoo and had spa treatments several times a day ! The reserve is an added bonus for the adventurous. Again, the staff was great. No complaints! Trip July 2012

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missycharney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanking our guests for taking the time to write a wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled you love our world class spa with our locally renowned spa therapists.....

We are the very best year after year in the Manuel Antonio area as documented by the numerous awards we have received.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing